1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

WoW Gaming Rig - Thoughts??

Discussion in 'Computers' started by sfbloodbrother, Feb 9, 2014.

  1. sfbloodbrother

    sfbloodbrother Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    6,109
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012

    Jul 30, 2012
    6,109
    733
    233
    Male
    Full time student, Part time McDonalds crew
    Chicago IL
    Hi all! As always when I build a computer, I will have other people look over the computer parts that I have chosen to double check everything for me. I will be building this for my cousin and he will mainly use this computer for playing World of Warcraft. Like usual, I will have a link to the document with all the links to Amazon where my cousin will buy the parts from. Take a look and let me know what you think.

    This is a budget build, and he may add to this system later in the future. So like the 256 Gb SSD will be enough until he needs more.

    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1MEYNN3tXbnZn63KdpRpzduf9yJx6VYNJV3b9y5xWmSY/edit?usp=sharing
     

    Advertisement

  2. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    I would change Win 8 for Win 7 and instead of going for Bronze edition PSU - go for the HX or AX series (never wanna skimp on the PSU front).
     
  3. sfbloodbrother

    sfbloodbrother Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    6,109
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012

    Jul 30, 2012
    6,109
    733
    233
    Male
    Full time student, Part time McDonalds crew
    Chicago IL
    Thanks for the feedback. Windows 8 and 7 is something that's arguable. I'll look into that HX or AX, but it's a Corsair which is a brand I really like for PSU. Someone I trust.

    I'm a bit worried that the APU may not live up to it's expectations. Is it able to play lightly on the new games like Battlefield 4 with NO dedicated graphics card?
     
  4. davoid

    davoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    1,801
    710
    223
    London
    The HX and AX that NYCHitman is talking about are Corsair PSUs.
     
  5. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    yes never skimp on the PSU.

    My Corsair AX series is a beast.

    also is your processor going to be enough to push WoW without help from a GPU?
    I have been doing elder scrolls online and without my GPU it would be unplayable.
     
  6. sfbloodbrother

    sfbloodbrother Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    6,109
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012

    Jul 30, 2012
    6,109
    733
    233
    Male
    Full time student, Part time McDonalds crew
    Chicago IL
    Yes. I also have a tx series and its great. Im assuming that all corsairs psu are good.





    I have heard that people can pay battlefield 4 with the apu with about 45 fps. Wow is less intense than that. Right. From the review that I seen from Linus tech tips he says it can play bf4 but if your serious about gaming then dedicated GPU is better.
     
  7. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    I am guessing they are on low quality in order to get that kind of frame per second.
    even with skyrim on my 4650 it was smooth at low, choppy on ultra(or high)
     
  8. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Yeah, I don't know about the APU. I think dedicated GPU may be the way to go for sure, but I can understand if your cousin is going this route to save money. Maybe you can convince him to at least get a cheap AMD GPU.
     
  9. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    You can get a nice 760 for about $300
     
  10. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    If he's going to just play WoW - I don't think spending $300 is really worthwhile. He could get a 570/580 or 660 to satisfy that.
     
  11. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    you're right, i just highly doubt he only plays WoW on this pc.
     
  12. Muilisx

    Muilisx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,132
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    1,132
    183
    143
    Male
    Owner of Dogs On Wheels
    Long Island, NY
    I knew one day, I would catch a WoW thread. FML!

    On WoW, I used to play a Tauren Druid on Twisting Nether, and my name was Commack. I'm a Vanilla player. I was the only cow druid on my server back in vanilla who actually completed their Tier 0.5 Quest Line. I, for some reason even after BC hit, decided to keep all 8/8 pieces, and throw it in the bank, as I worked SO hard on this quest line, and cost me around 800-1000g during the whole quest line, and let me tell you, back in vanilla, 800-1000g was A LOT of gold. NOTHING COMPARED to when BC hit, and Outlands just RAINED gold. I was one of those people during BC that if you knew me, and my grind, and my gold income, even if it was by word of mouth, you would be whispering me asking me how I do it, and my answer was ALWAYS simply be.

    You wouldn't believe the number of people who didn't believe me meanwhile there I was on my 280% flying mount only 2 MAYBE 3 weeks after BC hit, and still sitting on like 2,000g. I'm honestly not typing this to brag at all, I'm typing this as it's what went down, it's the truth, and it can STILL help people. Even current WoW, questing, and vendoring yields SO MUCH gold that people just don't realize.

    Not only did I push myself to complete the 0.5 chain, but I remember the first time I saw it.

    [​IMG]

    The Swift Zulian Tiger. I remember I was a COMPLETE NOOB back during this time I'm now discussing, I remember I was on Vent with my RL friend who got me into WoW, and I said, yo, I want that mount, and he's like which one? I read him off the name, and he laughed at me, and said, yeah....good luck, and the typical response from me was. Why? Anyway, long story short, I really got into the game, I eventually learned SO MUCH, that I did obtain the original ZG Tiger. It wasn't during Vanilla, it was during BC. The story can't be short, it must be long. A week or two before BC hit literally a week or a week and a half AFTER completing my tier 0.5 quest line, and spending all of that time, and gold, and wearing my FULL Feralheart 8/8 in Orgrimmar for a good 7-10 days until one day I logged on, and my cow was butt naked. Could it be? Was Commack hacked? It could not be, I'm on top of my computer security, I couldn't of possibly got a keylogger....unfortunately, that was indeed the case, and I somehow got keylogged, and my Tier 0.5 was stripped into meaningless gold by vendor, and my remaining 860g was GONE. This was BEFORE I obtained the ZG Tiger, this was like 7-10 days before BC hit, and my cow was NAKED. I contacted the GM's, I did the whole damn 9 yards, and I finally got a reply back from Blizzard, I can't remember word for word but something like

    I logged in, and found myself without my 860g, and no more Tier 0.5. Instead, I got hooked up with a bunch of CRAPPY GREEN ITEMS, the most BASIC GREEN DROPS YOU COULD POSSIBLY fukin' GET. I never felt SO SHITTY EVER over a game. The amount of time, and dedication you NEED to put into WoW to even be ANYTHING is a little bit idiotic.

    The outcome, and rectification I received, no no no, I wasn't having it, and I remember emailing a BOOK to them. A few days later, I got whispered by a Senior GM. I never even knew a Senior GM existed as I ever only spoken to regular GM's. I told him right off the bat, I'm so FRUSTRATED, I can't believe after all that hard work, my stuff is gone, and the GM said it can't be verified. Then I said stuff like, if I never completed the quest chain, how would I have this item? and I linked him in-game items that were used to summon the rare bosses such as the very last boss you needed to kill for the Helm, and Chest upgrade in UBRS, Lord Valthalak, and as I kept going, and proving to him, I did it, next thing I saw was my log getting flooded by You Receive Item: Feralheart Cowl, etc. Without hesitation he gave me my Tier 0.5 set back as it was easy to see I really did complete the chain. I never received the gold back by him. I ended up sending another LONG email saying something like, if anyone of you have the HEART to just check my logs before the day I got hacked, you'll see the gold was there, just please check, and then one day I logged in, and my gold was waiting for me in my mailbox by blizzard. Even though by this time, It was RAINING gold, but that 860g meant something to me, hard work, and it was rightfully mine.

    Here's what the set looked like.

    [​IMG]


    I'm currently not playing as my computer is in FL in storage with my authenticator and I don't want to remove it right now and use this current computer to play so I'll wait to log in even though my Zulian Tiger misses me dearly. I use that set as my transmog so I'm SO GLAD I kept it in the bank. Such a sexy set, and it's SO RARE to see someone with it, especially having the ZG Tiger on top of it. Very rare to see both together like that. I know my account is there, and I miss it dearly. I also have a bunch of the other rare ground mounts such as the horse from UD Strat, Raven Lord, Karazhan Horse, White Hawkstrider, ZF Bear, not the original bear but the other bear. I also have the new ZG Panther they added after removing the original ZG Tiger. I also have the Spectral Tiger.

    FFS, I want to play now. FML!!!

    Here I am, about a year or so ago.

    http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/twisting-nether/Commack/simple

    I'll log in again one day.
     
  13. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Good story, but the thread wasn't about WoW as much as it was to figure out what parts this person needed in order to enjoy playing WoW at a high level.
     
    sfbloodbrother likes this.
  14. Muilisx

    Muilisx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,132
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    1,132
    183
    143
    Male
    Owner of Dogs On Wheels
    Long Island, NY
    Yeah I know, but I felt like sharing anyway.

    To the OP,

    I would do a smaller SSD. I have the Samsung 840 EVO 128GB that I use strictly for the OS, Drivers, and most used small programs.

    I then have a WD 1TB Black that I use for EVERYTHING else. Games, Music, Pictures, and Videos. Putting games on a SSD isn't going to yield anything but faster load times. You won't see a FPS increase from an SSD.

    My rig I used to play WoW on ran me about $500 including Win7, and a Video Card. Everything was low end, and I easily pulled 40+FPS in WoW, and this rig is going back 2 years already. You don't need a BEAST of a machine to play WoW. That rig also played a lot of other games on decent settings with decent FPS. My personal rig is not with me for almost a year now so if memory serves me right, it was something low end like a SATA 2 board, some Biostar, a Athlon II x2 2.6Ghz CPU, started with 4GB of ram, but now that rig has 16GB even though I won't ever need it, and the video card is a Gigabyte Radon HD 5670 1GB DDR5. If it wasn't for the card, and the Win 7 disc, that whole rig cost me around $350, and it runs WoW completely fine wit 40+ FPS. The ONLY time I ever saw my frames drop on that rig was when I was in a 25 man and there was a ton of stuff going on but when it came to EVERYTHING else, that build ran WoW very smoothly.
     
  15. sfbloodbrother

    sfbloodbrother Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    6,109
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012

    Jul 30, 2012
    6,109
    733
    233
    Male
    Full time student, Part time McDonalds crew
    Chicago IL
    I have never even played wow haha. Ya I just need to know the best parts to get for my cousin.
     

Share This Page

Loading...