1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General WRONG location. :D

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fuzio1963, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. fuzio1963

    fuzio1963 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    248
    22
    38
    Male
    Chicago, IL
    I was just LMFAO today!! :D On my lunch break, i noticed that weather widget shows "current location" with temp 27F. So i pressed "update" and it showed that i am in Liliyan, Estonia!!! It is a part of EU, old state of well passed CCCP, or Soviet Union, if you like! Hahaha!! Then, i tried to open Navigation, and it showed me an error message, that "Nav using Google Maps is not yet available in your area". :eek:
    Now, the only question i would have is; is it my phone, or the network?? After few minutes all went back to normal, and i was back in Chgo. :cool:
     

    Advertisement

  2. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Did you at least get a T-shirt?
     
  3. fuzio1963

    fuzio1963 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    248
    22
    38
    Male
    Chicago, IL
    It was 27F there! No T-shirts! :(
     
    ska.t73 likes this.
  4. skinien

    skinien Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    634
    86
    78
    ha. That's happened to me too; except I was in Germany.

    I'm guessing that it's getting location information from a cell tower and either the phone is calculating the location incorrectly or it's receiving bad data.
     
  5. atrain311

    atrain311 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,421
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    1,421
    435
    163
    Male
    1st-grade Teacher & Adjunct Professor
    Queensbury, NY
    That is priceless!!! Lol.
     
  6. Silent Thunder

    Silent Thunder Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    201
    14
    38

    I have been teleported to different towns myself lately. Last time I went from Downers Grove to Northern California. I even imagined that I ate at Fishermans Warf and saw the Village People. My handset hasn't taken me over seas yet but im sure its coming my bags are packed. Yes its a software bug.
     
  7. ratman667

    ratman667 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Today, I was in west Africa! Mind you, I am in Jacksonville, FL...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I called tech support and no one had an answer to why it does this. The best they could offer is, "Restart the phone"...
     

Share This Page

Loading...