1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

WTH..the Tegra2 version of Asphalt runs better on Galaxy S than the Galaxy S version!

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by shaolin95, May 30, 2011.

  1. shaolin95

    shaolin95 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    Ok so here is the story.
    At some point during the Asphalt 5 upgrades Gameloft messed up the Galaxy S version.
    From what I have read the went from hardware support to CPU based thus performance took a it.
    Asphalt 6 is the same story....so guess what., I found a version Asphalt 6 compatible with Tegra 2. Uninstalled my Asphalt 6 (the one I paid for) and installed this Tegra one. Amazing...runs as smooth as a Tegra 2 version I saw in you tube!
    So what in the world did Gameloft did to their Galaxy S racing game engine? :mad:
     

    Advertisement

    BrianFX likes this.
  2. daveloft

    daveloft Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    388
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    388
    62
    53
    Toronto, Canada
    Ever since I started using ChainFire3D I wondered about doing this. I'm running the LG Optimus 2X version of Asphalt 6 on my Galaxy S utilizing the Nvidia plugin. I'm just downloading it now and will see how it runs.

    I had found that running 2.3 offered better performance and then with ChainFire3D it was even better with ChainFire3D driver installed. But hopefully this is even better.
     
  3. daveloft

    daveloft Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    388
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    388
    62
    53
    Toronto, Canada
    It just crashes back to the desktop. I tried a few settings in ChainFire3D and even disabled it, but it always crashed back to the desktop after displaying the Asphalt 6 splash screen.
     
  4. BrianFX

    BrianFX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    98
    8
    56
    I'm completely not surprised by this. I tried at least 8 different versions of Asphalt 5 on my SGS (Epic 4G). It turns out the oldest version available to test (3.0.8), is by far the smoothest, by a very noticeable margin.

    I tried Asphalt 6 as soon as it came out, and was unsurprised by the choppy laggy mess that it is on the SGS. Really wish Gameloft would get their act together, the SGS family has only sold how many million phones?

    Have yet to get my feet wet with ChainFire3D, but thanks for the heads up, I'll be sure to give the Tegra2 edition of Asphalt 6 a try.
     
  5. shaolin95

    shaolin95 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    I actually contacted Gameloft...one guy that does videos on youtube and he is interested to see this but the last time I got with their tech support I got some nonsense BS reply. This time I am going to not only tell but I am trying to get some video footage that shows both. If only I were better at doing side by side stuff lol
    I mean is just ridiculous that you for example download Asphalt 5 demo and is perfectly smooth yet get the full version as is all crappy.
    When I saw Asphalt 6 running , the tegra version on my phone I was floored! So smooth like we all know the PowerVr can do.

    I fully agree with this making no sense. The Galaxy S has sold millions so you would expect devs to pay more attention to maximize it instead of new phones barely making it to the market.
     
  6. Quboid

    Quboid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009

    Jun 30, 2009
    561
    120
    93
    Male
    Londonderry, UK
    Do you mean the Galaxy S or the Galaxy S II?
     
  7. shaolin95

    shaolin95 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    Galaxy S (Captivate)
     
  8. tvbppc

    tvbppc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    6
    1
    6
    Hi Shaolin,

    If you dont mind me asking, did you have to use ChainFire3D for Asphalt to run on your galaxy s? Or does it run natively (just install and go?)

    What version of the app are you running?

    Thank you in advance.
     
  9. shaolin95

    shaolin95 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    I am just running it Natively. Not sure how it works as Asphalt 5 and Fast 5 are both needing the plug in.
     
  10. tvbppc

    tvbppc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    6
    1
    6
    Hmm... just tried the tegra version, forced close on me : /

    My copy from the android market runs fine by lags so badly...
     
  11. BrianFX

    BrianFX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    98
    8
    56
    I'm now running the version Shaoilin95 is running, and can confirm it's night & day smoother than the market version, and fully playable.

    What I can't confirm is whether it's truly Tegra2-based, as it doesn't require ChainFire3D at all..

    I earlier tried what was purportedly also the Tegra2 version, and got the same crash after splash screen that everyone else here reported (with and without ChainFire3D running).

    Can't believe Gameloft can't get their act together on Hummingbird, how many million SGS & SGS II have been sold?
     
    shaolin95 likes this.
  12. shaolin95

    shaolin95 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    Thanks for the confirmation mate...I cannot stop playing it now! When I bought it and sow the bad frame rate I never bothered again...lame Gameloft really :(
     
  13. BrianFX

    BrianFX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    98
    8
    56
    edit - misspoke
     
  14. shaolin95

    shaolin95 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    Awesome if that is true...I wonder why my game never updated to it...did you get an upgrade after it installed? I did not notice it myself.
    If that is correct then I am in heaven and time to ask for a new version of Asphalt 5!
     
  15. BrianFX

    BrianFX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    98
    8
    56
    edit - misspoke
     
  16. shaolin95

    shaolin95 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    nice...wonder why wasnt smooth before.
     
  17. tvbppc

    tvbppc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    6
    1
    6
    I also tried the version shaolin mentioned and it is definitely A LOT smoother than the version I have on the market previously.

    I am going to try installing from the market again and see what happened.
    Could it be some market arent updated with the latest ver?
    I am using the Canada's android market.
     
  18. BrianFX

    BrianFX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    98
    8
    56
    Ooops, hold the phone. My old eyes didn't see that there are actually 2 versions of Asphalt 6 installed on my phone now, different icons. The reinstall didn't overwrite as I thought it would.

    The latest market version is requesting 516MB of re-downloaded files. Reports say it's smooth on Galaxy too, I'll find out soon and report back.
     
  19. tvbppc

    tvbppc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    6
    1
    6
    Oh god, if Fast Five runs as smooth, I would purchase it right away!
    Can anyone confirm how Fast Five runs on galaxy s?
     
  20. BrianFX

    BrianFX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    98
    8
    56
    Ok, cleared that confusion up.

    The latest market version (1.0.4) appears to run a tiny bit smoother than when the game was first released (barely noticeable, perhaps the same, I haven't played Asphalt 6 since launch b/c of how slow it was on our phones).

    The version that Shaolin95 brought to our attention (3.1.2) runs dramatically smoother and is by far the fastest I've yet tried of all Asphalt 6 versions.

    I'm not sure why the version numbers differ so dramatically, nor why the 3.1.2 version isn't the one shown in the SGS Android market.

    Continue prepping that comparison video to send to Gameloft. ;)
     
    shaolin95 likes this.
  21. shaolin95

    shaolin95 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    Thanks both for the report...Will try to get a decent camera to do the video.
    Fast 5 is better than Asphalt 6 galaxy s but nowhere near as this Asphalt 6 we are using now unfortunately :(
     
    tvbppc likes this.
  22. tvbppc

    tvbppc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    6
    1
    6
    Thank you again Shaolin sharing for your findings.
     
    shaolin95 likes this.
  23. shaolin95

    shaolin95 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    And neither of you have noticed any different in Image Quality right, like that version being for slower phones or anything? I havent but just making sure we got a good case. :)
     
  24. shaolin95

    shaolin95 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    Found a guy making similar comments about it:
    Asphalt 6 HD and Samsung Galaxy S i9000
    He claims that 3.1.2 is for Motorola...and that it has better IQ, antialiasing and better performance...
     
  25. BrianFX

    BrianFX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    98
    8
    56
    Oh that's right, 3.1.2 is indeed the Motorola version.

    I didn't notice any image changes, then again, I didn't even notice two of the same icons installed! :eek: The game looks fantastic (and finally plays fantastic!).
     

Share This Page

Loading...