1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General X10 2.1 Update - Discoveries

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rosered, Sep 17, 2010.

  1. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,655
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,655
    229
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    LOL :D

    I think he means, an image of a phone with an image of a camera hovering above it
     

    Advertisement

  2. Gentle Jesus

    Gentle Jesus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    England, Nottingham
    I'm on Orange uk and I flashed mine with Nordic FW last night and got the 2.1 update. If you dont want the wait then do that.
     
  3. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,655
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,655
    229
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    When you are on the Phonebook, press Menu, then press update status, and when you update your status, it displays ...via Sony Ericsson X10 As shown in the image below :)

    You can also do it in timescape :)

    [​IMG]
     
  4. huntleth

    huntleth Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    180
    25
    43
    Go to 'Settings -> Applications -> Manage Applications'. This screen is SOOOO much better now! Used to be sllloooowwww and loooooong, not anymore :)
     
  5. tinkk

    tinkk Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    Does flashing it to nordic require rooting or debranding?
     
  6. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
  7. madmurdoch

    madmurdoch Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010

    Oct 17, 2010
    86
    15
    18
    Newcastle, UK
    The auto-brightness feature has been removed which is odd.
     
  8. GS9000

    GS9000 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    28
    6
    16
    AndroidForums
    Since yesterday, after rooting, the speed is very good, no lags, still had to install a task killer to automatically close unwanted apps.

    Customizing the screen icons are also faster, moving and swapping icons etc. Seems the screen is more responsive now.

    I love the new widget of Recent Calls, which places three of the contacts you recently called with their photo and phone number on it. Clicking on one of the three recent call contacts puts you calling them straight away without having to re-open the call log or searching the contact again.
     
    slymo and jackx10 like this.
  9. jackx10

    jackx10 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    83
    4
    16
    hey mates the update time has come , but well my carriier is too closed here in my country, i hope they release it by january ,, if they.... so im thinking in debrand my handset, roserer and cubz what can I dohe first problem is that my phone is x10a,,, sad
     
  10. melodie08

    melodie08 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    2
    1
    6
    When you charge the phone it wont automatically turn on now =]
     
  11. niles

    niles Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    28
    2
    16
    Just want to make sure, so after u rooted your phone had no lags, did anyone else experience this also
     
  12. FitzysX10

    FitzysX10 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    60
    2
    16
    I can confirm that the in call speaker (ear) is now much better, i.e. like a normal phone now.

    That was the only issue I had with the phone previously.

    Cheers
     
  13. goku17

    goku17 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Sep 25, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    well, i just realize that when you put your phone on silent mode and taking photo, there isnt any sound which is different to the 1.6, cant silent the camera sound love this =))
     
  14. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK

    Ahhh Goku you can now take sneaky pics then;)!!! Lol. Some people have been able to with 1.6 but I can't turn mine off.
     
  15. goku17

    goku17 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Sep 25, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    sneak pics as what... >"< lols =))
    yeah, with the 1.6, i cant do with my either,
    but hey, my original model was x10a, and now, i just hack using xda flash thing, it's x10i now, any problems with that>?
     
  16. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,655
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,655
    229
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    It's just the same as 1.6 for me
     
  17. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,808
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,808
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    I've temporarily sticky this thread so that (new) members can see this and post all their discoveries here instead of creating new threads. This will get unsticky once the 2.1 update craze dies down.

    Congrats to everyone that got 2.1 :) I hope you're enjoying all of the new things you can do with your X10.

    Cheers,
    -Roze-
     
    CuBz likes this.
  18. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    From one Rose to another Roze, nice one - thanks. (Thought it was against the Forum standards tho!)
     
  19. arfanvilla

    arfanvilla Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    97
    2
    16
    Where do i look for the 2.1 update. is it over-the-air, or do i visit sony/t-mobile website?

    i'm on t-mobile and i guess it will be end of november.
     
  20. AcidSentance

    AcidSentance Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    25
    1
    16
    IT Trainee
    Australia
    This has done this since 1.6 :thinking:
     
  21. werthers

    werthers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    262
    15
    58
    Manchester UK
    The only difference is the GSM and WCDMA bands so you might have some signal issues but that might not be for sure here's a post on it What are the differences between the X10i and X10a? - xda-developers
    Curiously they say that you can't turn one into another?
     
  22. KingDong

    KingDong Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    476
    35
    43
    London, England
    The windows option for the browser now does not show a preview, which i find more annoying and the auto brightness feature has been removed, which i too do not like.
     
  23. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,655
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,655
    229
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    O did it lol I only noticed it in 2.1 lol
     
  24. johnaachen

    johnaachen Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    86
    0
    15
    My initial impressions are pretty poor:(

    In call volume seems pretty similar to me - still have to have it on max to hear people

    The widget that allows to turn phone onto vibrate mode has been removed (well silent function has been). NOw you have to press power button to lock phone and then activate silent mode by sliding thingy across. Why do SE insist on making things more difficult than they need to be?!

    Still a pain to call someone - why doesnt the dialler 'translate' numbers to digits and allo you to filter search for someone's name e.g. like Thaidial (which doesnt seem to work on 2.1)

    Why have they added a SE sync button on widget tool bar when you can set it to auto update and sync? This replaced the silent button I mentioned earlier.

    My phone is now laggier than it was before and the home screen transitions still dont slide very nicely (small point I know).

    DOnt see any new functionality as yet...overall its 1.6 with a new name - nothing to get excited about at all:(
     
  25. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    This seems to be the same as they have put on the X8, the widget reads left to right Wifi, Bluetooth, GPS, Sync and then brightness.

    You can use your volume rocker to turn volume down/vibrate/off if that helps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...