1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support X10 2.1 Update - Issues/Problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rosered, Sep 17, 2010.

  1. MrWomble

    MrWomble Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    774
    51
    78
    Newcastle - UK
    yeah - just leave it - its not a 2.1 issue its a market issue in general

    for your perusal a few threads from the last 10 days with the same issue - some of the fixes in there may help you - but like i said, the best thing to do is to just leave it as it will cure itself within 24 hours

    http://androidforums.com/sony-ericsson-xperia-x10/208940-cant-download-any-apps.html
    http://androidforums.com/sony-erics...d-market-download-unsuccessful-error-fix.html
    http://androidforums.com/sony-ericsson-xperia-x10/208353-help-android-market.html
    http://androidforums.com/sony-ericsson-xperia-x10/207938-market-not-working-once-again.html
    http://androidforums.com/sony-ericsson-xperia-x10/204387-market-issue.html
     

    Advertisement

  2. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    Hi.

    Market works fine for me. Might just be a glitch like there has been over the last month.
     
  3. Profile7

    Profile7 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    37
    0
    15
    Is this really true about the screen brightness? For God's sake, why can't they just leave well alone? What's wrong with letting us choose for ourselves? I don't like my screen to be below 100%!

    I don't think I want this update anymore.
     
  4. huntleth

    huntleth Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    180
    25
    43
    X10i 2.1 Nordic

    I've not had a chance to check this more than once but my phone decided to switch off at 38% battery life today. It wouldn't switch back on until I connected it to the charger again. Any idea what might be causing this?

    Thanks :)
     
  5. madmurdoch

    madmurdoch Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010

    Oct 17, 2010
    86
    15
    18
    Newcastle, UK
    Thanks. Tried all of these so hopefully will sort itself soon. Off to bed now, angry.
     
  6. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    Installed any battery apps or something similar?
     
  7. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    Bright enough for me at 100%.
     
  8. huntleth

    huntleth Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    180
    25
    43
    Only advanced task killer, which has no setting for this, and never did this in the past. I also have a battery meter widget, but that's it. :( If it happens again, I will remove these apps and try again :)
     
  9. MrWomble

    MrWomble Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    774
    51
    78
    Newcastle - UK
    have you even got the update yet ?????
     
  10. powerkiter

    powerkiter Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    859
    106
    93
    UK
    I doubt it going by:

    "is this really true about the screen brightness?"

    But I kinda thought "FFS" but hey I'm still using the Samsung so no idea how bright the screen is on the X10 with 2.1...
     
  11. MrWomble

    MrWomble Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    774
    51
    78
    Newcastle - UK
    well you know what they say

    can't tell the chef his food is crap if you didn't eat it

    i'm just thinking whatever will be will be
     
  12. lavinius

    lavinius Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    41
    3
    16
    BrisVegas
    to me there is a certain brightness that you have to apply in order t make white look white! not gray or with a yellow tinge, that is impossible now as what used to be 60% on 1.6 is now 100% brightness on 2.1 so really SE are forcing us to 60% brightness in order to save battery because their "touch" on the 2.1 android screwed it that much more? why put a 4" screen then?

    the whole phone seems dark now like just feels like it's not "alive" anymore to be honest i'm glad i got the iPhone4 specially as SE ****ed up with the fonts or aliasing that to me the the text is blurry, maybe it's just Moxier apps but in the normal email app still blurry

    2.1 supports exchange but only email not calendar ... now why didn't we get that ? still have to use moxier to get email from exchange

    back to the screen brightness ... i think SE is really insulting here
     
  13. powerkiter

    powerkiter Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    859
    106
    93
    UK
    No idea but HTC can rock a 4.3" screen on their HD so...

    Why cant SE handle it?

    I know that any other phone with 2.1 has a screen just as bright as the X10 on 1.6???

    (all said without using an X10 with 2.1)
     
  14. Profile7

    Profile7 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    37
    0
    15
    If you already know it's going to taste like shit then you can.

    Does it matter that I haven't got the update yet? I'm entitled to state my opinion on the changes regardless, am I not?
     
  15. MrWomble

    MrWomble Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    774
    51
    78
    Newcastle - UK
    Trouble is, YOU don't KNOW yet

    did you complain about the screen brightness in the update videos - NO
    did you voice any concern over the clarity and usability from them - NO

    so as i said - until you physically sample the quality you can't make a statement like

    If however after seeing the update videos you'd made a post along lines of - "Hmmm that brightness doesn't look good, don't think its going to meet my needs"

    then fair enough - but without having it or trying it - how can you say it doesn't suit your needs

    **EDIT**

    Sorry - as a further example, take my daughter when she was first presented with sweetcorn - never ate it before in her life - what did she say

    Not eating that cos i don't like it - Now WTF!!! how can she know ??
     
  16. Profile7

    Profile7 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    37
    0
    15
    So I didn't complain about the videos. So what? I'm complaining now. Look, I don't need to watch the videos, ok? It has already been stated that the brightness is the equivalent of 50-60% of the brightness in 1.6. I don't need any more information than that.

    Whilst it's not important to others, screen brightness is important to me and enough reason for me to complain, based on the information I've read. What I don't care about, is engaging you any further in a pointless conversation about it!
     
  17. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,655
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,655
    229
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    The H stands for HSDPA which is a lot faster than 3g but is not available everywhere. I was getting HSDPA but moved house today and barely even get a signal at all so I shall be ringing t-mobile tomorrow, you may not see me online often for this reason
     
    Gurba likes this.
  18. MrWomble

    MrWomble Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    774
    51
    78
    Newcastle - UK
    But what you have to take into account is that other users are GUESSING its about the equivalent of 50-60%

    No disrespect to anyone that has commented but as a point of principle it is just somebodys opinion and not a statement of fact so when you upgrade to 2.1 you may well indeed find that the brightness is perfect for your needs

    As for the original videos on the launch blog and personal demo's then the screen looks very vibrant - my point to you not commenting then is simple

    That is an ACTUAL X10 with the update - which is a better indication of the brightness than somebody on the Forum saying something as truth, if you looked at them and didn't doubt the clarity, then there will be nothing wrong with the brightness for you

    (i mean come on, how many people post out of date information or statements with inaccuracys)

    You have to confirm personally before you can judge

    here is an ACTUAL screenshot of X10 on 2.1 posted less than 48 hours ago - personally that looks way bright enough

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GlVBmJqwmP0&feature=player_embedded#!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=drZoWYwP560&feature=player_embedded
     
  19. Profile7

    Profile7 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    37
    0
    15
    I hear what you're saying but the fact remains: They have needlessly reduced the screen brightness. One doesn't need to sample 2.1 to forge an opinion on this.

    Yawn... I think we've done this one to death now! *logs off*
     
  20. lavinius

    lavinius Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    41
    3
    16
    BrisVegas
    those videos are done in a poorly lit environment to enhance the visibility of the screen

    I stand by my remarks about the brightness it's no more than 60% of what 100% was on the 1.6 version and YES I can see a difference! and a lot of the time i like to use full brightness if i'm outside
     
  21. sa1n1

    sa1n1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    hey guys..just updated mi phone from 1.6 to 2.1. now its showing this unknown icon in status bar...its look like a sim card with a round thing on top of it.... looks like same as sim toolkit icon in menu???

    any suggestions why its there? and how i can get rid of it.
     
  22. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    Hi.

    Without a picture it's hard to say.
     
  23. tracer2009

    tracer2009 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    29
    2
    16

    Don't rule out a notification for sd card rather than sim. Sd card notifications appear on the left. Sim notifications appear on the right. I'd be surprised if theres not a hint when starting up the phone or something in the drop down menu
     
  24. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,808
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,808
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    I've temporarily sticky this thread so that (new) members can see this and post all their issues/problems they are facing with 2.1 here instead of creating new threads. I've mearged a few 2.1 issues threads already. This will get unsticky once the 2.1 update craze dies down.

    Cheers,
    -Roze-
     
    CuBz likes this.
  25. dgiaffe

    dgiaffe Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    41
    2
    16
    Hey no one got back at me... not sure how to proceed... My audio when playing music in the headphones jack is mono since the 2.1 upgrade, not stereo...Means I don't hear all the tracks in songs when they are recorded stereo. Anyone is having that issue? Pretty annoying since I was using it in car as player... Thanks!

    EDIT: never mind... OMG it was just my song that was screwed. Played it on my computer and I have the same problem haha. I didn't even think to try another song *facepalm. Songs are working fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...