1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support X10 wont download/update and notifications keep rising.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Cooper007, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. Cooper007

    Cooper007 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Heya Folks,

    Here's my problem. I went to update about 5 programs last week and the market stalled out on me. Ever since then I havent been able to download/update or install apps and my notification icon keeps climbing. Currently sitting at 150.

    I've uninstalled ALL my apps and it's still happening. Market wont work and I still have notifications for programs which arent even on my system anymore. I'm stumped folks. Any ideas???

    Ive done everything in previous threads from uninstalling market updates to reseting download manager
     

    Advertisement

  2. beau420

    beau420 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    1,104
    173
    143
    Computer Guy
    Ottawa
    Just to confirm...if you go into Settings and into Applications is there an option for Unknown Sources and if so is it checked?

    And go into Manage Applications, click into Market. Under Market is there any Cache at all? If so when you click Clear Cache does it disappear?

    Click Force Stop when you are in there too...doesn't hurt.

    Are you trying to update via data/3G or trying to update over wifi?

    In order to download using the Market you need a google account, when you open the Market, does it show you any apps at all or is it blank or does it give you an error?

    Click Settings in the Market and under Allow Apps Rated, do you allow everything?

    Any of that help? And do you have that option to install Apps from Unknown Sources? If so, maybe there is another way we could get it going.
     
  3. Cooper007

    Cooper007 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Heya Beau,

    Here's your answers: Unknown Sources is unchecked. Market isnt even in my Manage Applications menu. I removed it and only have the base app. Ive tried to update over wifi and 3G, neither have worked. When I open Market, apps appear just fine, just cant download them. I dont have a settings option in Market, base model is a naked app. Hope this helps. Any ideas??
     
  4. beau420

    beau420 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    1,104
    173
    143
    Computer Guy
    Ottawa
    Check the Unknown Sources box...allow USB debug. Copy the market.apk or vendor.apk to the phone and run it. I think that would do it.

    http://androidforums.com/lg-optimus-gt540/238360-updated-market-2-1-a.html

    In order to install you just have to run the APK file....just try and open it with a file manager on the phone. That's what the check box does for Allow Unknown Sources. It allows the user to run apps without the phone checking if it's ok with the Market/vendor/security.

    Make sure you have an account created under Accounts and Sync. You need one as far as I know to download anything from the market.

    If you can still search but can't download try this Market alternative.

    AppBrain 6.02 apk | Free Mobile Messenger

    AppBrain...all of it's links are too the Market, but I thought Market problems usually mean you can't see anything at all in the Market.
     
  5. Cooper007

    Cooper007 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Heya Beau,

    Unfortunately I don't have any file managers on my X10. It's factory default and still wont download from the store. Any ideas how to install the .apk file?
     
  6. beau420

    beau420 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    1,104
    173
    143
    Computer Guy
    Ottawa
    I thought there was a built in file browser at some point. Not MediaScape....but something else....like a Gallery browser or something.

    I am afraid I don't have any of the normal software on my x10. All of the default software is removed on mine.

    Just click on the apk and it should execute it.

    I don't think you can use your web browser to get there.

    Best thing....or at least quickest to resolve the issue, might be to just do a backup of your contacts and stuff and just reinstall Android on the phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...