1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root X8 R00ted.Problems/Bugs/Tips/Info.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Blitzkri3g, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. Blitzkri3g

    Blitzkri3g Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    280
    23
    38
    Athens
    Just thought it d be a good idea to talk about all these in a new thread! :)

    I m starting with a weird one.

    Since I rooted my phone,I cannot change individual ringtones/notifications.
    I mean that whenever I try to edit a contact,it only lists the internal preinstalled ringtones/sounds and I have no option to use my music or mp3s.

    Any suggestions?!? :thinking:

    N.
     

    Advertisement

  2. suhel28

    suhel28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    693
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    693
    307
    133
    Siemens
    India

    If you scroll way down it'll give you option of music library
     
  3. Blitzkri3g

    Blitzkri3g Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    280
    23
    38
    Athens
    Hey! Come on now! :p
    The thing is it doesnt give me the normal option you re talking about at all. :-(
    Maybe something to do with file permissions?!
    The foldet "music" has files that are visible and playable by the stock player though.
    N.
     
  4. Blitzkri3g

    Blitzkri3g Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    280
    23
    38
    Athens
    FIXED! Downloaded RingoPro which somehow restored the regular menu!
    Totally weird if you ask me!
    N
     
  5. Blitzkri3g

    Blitzkri3g Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    280
    23
    38
    Athens
    All emoticons are now Android faces in Handcent SMS! LOL
    IS it cos of the black Subframe?
    N.
     
  6. suhel28

    suhel28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    693
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    693
    307
    133
    Siemens
    India
    yeah.. you can edit your framework and than use your own icons :)
     
  7. coman_nick

    coman_nick Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    272
    27
    43
    Bucharest, Romania
    Are your market and applanet unstable after root/jit/app2sd? For market i just uninstalled update and now it's ok. But what about applanet? Does anyone use it?
     
  8. suhel28

    suhel28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    693
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    693
    307
    133
    Siemens
    India
    working of Applanet depends upon Applanet server
    if it doesnt work than probably the server is down, sometimes it takes days to get it back working :)

    ;)
     
  9. coman_nick

    coman_nick Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    272
    27
    43
    Bucharest, Romania
    I know that. It's not that it's not working, it's unsable. As in I download, and half-way it force-closes the applanet app (android "cloase app" error message).
     
  10. Blitzkri3g

    Blitzkri3g Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    280
    23
    38
    Athens
    Applanet is buggy as hell at the moment.
    Their server checker reposrts the servers online but still no apps.
    Anyway,another solution that works for some people is deleting applanet s folder/temp files,uninstalling and installing it again.For me it still didnt do the trick!
    N.
     
  11. Blitzkri3g

    Blitzkri3g Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    280
    23
    38
    Athens
    The damn phone started rebooting by itself after a manual reboot. :mad::(:mad:
    The only way to prevent this is keeping the screen on.
    I guess it has to do with ATK killing autostart processes...
    N.
     
  12. suhel28

    suhel28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    693
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    693
    307
    133
    Siemens
    India
    you must have selected autokill frequency as "crazy" check out that
     
  13. joel999

    joel999 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010

    Dec 24, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    It is quite dumb to ask u Suhel.
    I rooted my x8 using SuperOneClick. I partioned my 8GB. Now in DOS prompt when I enter command ADB SHELL it says ADB command not recognised similar error for su...i have made all settings correctly. I want to install App2Sd.
     
  14. suhel28

    suhel28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    693
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    693
    307
    133
    Siemens
    India
    hmmm... there are three files in the superoneclick folder with their name starting with adb... copy those files in a new folder (make sure the folder name doesnt have space) now in cmd cd the path of this folder and try again
     
  15. joel999

    joel999 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010

    Dec 24, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Thnx suhel, but now when I type SH/SDCARD/APP2SD.SH , the command prompt says not found.
     
  16. suhel28

    suhel28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    693
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    693
    307
    133
    Siemens
    India
    its not like that
    its like this

    adb shell
    su
    cd /sdcard
    sh app2sd.sh
     
  17. joel999

    joel999 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010

    Dec 24, 2010
    12
    0
    15




    sh app2as.sh not found....im sorry can u come on yahoo....see ur inbox.
     
  18. suhel28

    suhel28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    693
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    693
    307
    133
    Siemens
    India
    its app2sd not app2as
     
  19. joel999

    joel999 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010

    Dec 24, 2010
    12
    0
    15



    Sorry that was typo mistake . Even then APP2SD command doesn't work ...
    :( where cud i be wrong ?.
     
  20. lokesh534

    lokesh534 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    59
    15
    18
    Still a Student
    India
    Is anyone having restart problem after rooting???

    Phone doesn't restart during normal use but when u switch off and switch on, the phone keeps restarting for 1 or 2 times and sometimes even 4-5 times.
     
  21. metatron

    metatron Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011

    Jan 15, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    after applying JIT, the phone restarts everytime i plug in to a PC usb port and choose connect your phone.
     
  22. lokesh534

    lokesh534 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    59
    15
    18
    Still a Student
    India

    When you connect your phone to PC normally you will get few options like connect pc, install pc companion and charge phone. if u click any of those options the phone will restart. instead click back and mount your sdcard from the notification bar. It worked for me before i rooted my phone. now after rooting im not having this problem.
     
    metatron likes this.
  23. coman_nick

    coman_nick Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    272
    27
    43
    Bucharest, Romania
    Strange bug. Alot of people have it.
     
  24. mhyke13ph

    mhyke13ph Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    26
    1
    16
    Mechanic
    Baguio City
    i have experiencing this problem too, and after self restarting it randomly delete some files after several restarts.

    deletes movies/pictures :(

    but this trick works :D
     
  25. kiz1983

    kiz1983 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    111
    10
    58
    Got prob whn applied app2sd for me.. Whn restart,, got several apps gone.. But whn restart again, some apps came back n some missing again.. Its like the card not load all the apps in thr..
     

Share This Page

Loading...