1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root XDA gangnam style prerequisites

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by optimusv45, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. optimusv45

    optimusv45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    223
    26
    43
    Male
    West Virginia
    Gangnam style has just added support for Evo V. I dont think dastin has changed Installation section of his post just for the Evo V. it says on his post "Have latest Sprint firmware installed", do you guys think i have to do "turn ur phone into a 3D" for this rom ? Also is TWRP 1.1.1 ok with this rom ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. zaius42

    zaius42 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    69
    13
    18
    well you certainly want to be s-off and running a hboot under 1.50, so it would benefit you to do most of what that thread tells you to do.

    Pretty much fixes a lot of things that's wrong with the phone that a rom can't fix anyhow.
     
  3. optimusv45

    optimusv45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    223
    26
    43
    Male
    West Virginia
    I'm s-off, jbear 1.57.5757 hboot and twrp 1.1.1 . If I flash ENG hboot , will it play nice with my current harmonia rom?
     
  4. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    I THINK I used 1.04 on Harmonia without a problem...I S-Offed and did the boot flashing on Harmonia...it booted up...so I'm gonna say it worked
     
  5. marco562

    marco562 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    I got this message when I tried flashing gagnamstyle VM [​IMG]..running s-off , h boot 1.04
    I'm actually using regular sprint gagnamstyle and flashed with no problems is running really smooth by the way.
     
  6. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    Wait so according to that image it didn't flash,, but you say it flashed? I'm just trying to clarify that.
     
  7. davidmargolin

    davidmargolin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    957
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    957
    229
    93
    Male
    Brooklyn, NY
    dastin updated the vm version to fix the error... download the latest one
     
  8. karlyy7x

    karlyy7x Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    56
    6
    16
    Female
    Student/Employed
    NYC
  9. marco562

    marco562 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Over at xda the developer had two links one for VM version and second was sprint version.
    I downloaded both versions. First one I tried flashing was VM version ( I did a clean full wipe before flashing to make sure) then I got that error message. Then a minute later I did another full wipe To flash sprint version and It flashed with no problems, I'm currently using sprint version and it hasent given me any problems is running smoothly I like this one compared to all the cm10 ROMs I have flashed to my phone.
     
  10. phw8558

    phw8558 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    750
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    750
    86
    78
    Kalamazoo
    Can any one who flashed the virgin version verify if he incorporated the voicemail fix?
     
  11. optimusv45

    optimusv45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    223
    26
    43
    Male
    West Virginia
    Have u turn ur V into a 3D? Since he made two versions , one VM, one sprint, maybe I don't have to turn my phone into 3D and just need to take the VM version ?
     
  12. marco562

    marco562 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    I did turn my V into a 3D.
     
  13. zaius42

    zaius42 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    69
    13
    18
    I stopped when i noticed mms didn't work..


    ps i'm drunk as hell.. wow.
     
  14. Subzer0

    Subzer0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    300
    49
    63
    Male
    McCormick, SC
    Looking at your screenshot, I see the problem. It looks like that rom for Virgin Mobile is for the EVO V, not the Evo V 4g 3d. There is a difference. The error is popping up because it's looking for product type "shootervm". Our phone is just "shooter". Therefore this will never install until that is fixed.
     
  15. BoomBoom53

    BoomBoom53 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    78
    20
    18
    Male
    Keystone Heights, FL
    Dastin was supposed to fix the VM version. To get old VM one to work I got it to flash but had to go into the updater script in the first line in assert get.prop and changed "shootervm" to "shooter" and also in build. prop I did same thing in the line ro.build.product. Actually I believe I changed everything in build.prop to "shooter"

    However, I could not get MMS to work. Even following all the most recent fixes out by davidmargolin, krowley3, ramjet73, wolfu . even tried changing APNs.. Anyway I just mentioned it for info, maybe it will help some one. I'm NO DEV

    Edit: Just downloaded and looked at the VM version. Dastin DID make changes to updater script and build.prop. Looks like it should flash. I will try it later today.

    Edit #2: I was finally able to get GANGNAM-STYLE-01032013-shootervm MMS to work.

    In "build.prop" change lines 146, 147, 148 that look like below:
    146 ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=311490
    147 ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Virgin
    148 Mobile

    To look like this:
    146 ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=310120
    147 ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Virgin Mobile

    Then Follow Instructions found here:
    http://androidforums.com/evo-v-4g-all-things-root/648971-zip-mms-fix-cm-aosp-aokp-thanks-wolfu.html
     
    karlyy7x likes this.
  16. optimusv45

    optimusv45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    223
    26
    43
    Male
    West Virginia
    i see replications of some issues being reported from different users.. I'll probably wait a release or two until he properly address those problems..
     
  17. optimusv45

    optimusv45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    223
    26
    43
    Male
    West Virginia
    i have been paying attention to the rom. dashtin has released a few updates already, in attempts to fix the issues . has anyone tried the more recent releases?
     
  18. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Yes.

    It seems that everything works that should (no 3D) for VM users now.

    ramjet73
     
    optimusv45 likes this.
  19. optimusv45

    optimusv45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    223
    26
    43
    Male
    West Virginia
    thanks for the super fast feedback. have u tried ?
     
  20. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    I just flashed it (1/11 V2) and haven't run into any issues yet, but I'm using the Sprint version. However, feedback has been good so far from the VM users as well.

    ramjet73
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...