1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root XDA site down?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rhiannon224, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    157
    15
    38
    Florida, US
    I have been trying all morning to get onto the XDA site and keep getting this webpage cannot be displayed errors on my pc. Every other website is working. Anyone else having trouble? I can't get it on my phone via the XDA app either.
     

    Advertisement

  2. techmik67

    techmik67 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    Florida, USA
    I heard from someone that they said on twitter they were having dns issues....
     
  3. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    157
    15
    38
    Florida, US
    Thanks, for the quick response. I am dying to download the new version of SRE. I woke up and went to the site and cannot access. Can you post the link for Twitter? Thanks
     
  4. techmik67

    techmik67 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    Florida, USA
    I posted a link to last nights version of sre1.3. Check the thread here above where someone asks for it. Be advised, though I am using it right now, I DO NOT KNOW if it has been updated.... I can only stress that this is the link to what i got last night.....

    http://www.ponack.net/designgears/SREv1.3.zip
     
  5. FroggyStyle

    FroggyStyle Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Is that version 1.2.3 ? If so I have and can upload it real quick. I downloaded it from there yesterday but have not had time to mess with it yet.

    EDIT:

    Seems I am behind the times ;)
     
  6. mindfrost82

    mindfrost82 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    You can also go to Index of /designgears and see all the files he has hosted there. There's one with a "-BLOAT" too, I'm not sure what the difference is unless that one includes the At&t bloatware.
     
  7. techmik67

    techmik67 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    Florida, USA
    Version 1.3, NOT 1.2.3a, is from late last night, and that's the link I posted. Should work with JF6/JH2/JH3/JH7

    BACKUP!! BACKUP!! BACKUP!!!

    Remove ext-sdcard, if you have one

    Odin 1 click to stock JF6

    Odin 3.1 to JH7 (or whatever firmware you prefer)

    rename downloaded file update.zip and put in root directory (/sdcard)

    reboot to recovery and choose "reinstall packages"

    When all done, rename or delete the update.zip you just used, so you don't have a problem with Rom Manager/Clockwork

    *for lagfix, go to new SL4A and pick ext2 or 4*

    DONE!! Enjoy!!
     
  8. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    157
    15
    38
    Florida, US
    I thought he was updating it with Unhelpfuls kernal with Voodoo lagfix. That is what I was interested in, I am already running 1.2.3. I always back up everything. I am sick of flashing with Odin so this time after I flash with Odin I am going to root then install Rom Manager pro and do a Nandroid backup so that I can make the flashing to stock quicker and not need the pc connection. Then I will flash the updated SRE.
     
  9. Emrys

    Emrys Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    53
    3
    16
    Anyone know when XDA is gonna be back up?
     
  10. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    157
    15
    38
    Florida, US
    Nope and I have been bored all day without it. I don't know what to do with myself.
     
  11. darkamikaze

    darkamikaze Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    -sigh- you have no idea..
     
  12. pdxrealtor

    pdxrealtor Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    I managed to snatch up the SRE 1.3 late night/early morning while XDA was up for an hour or so.

    I'm running this with JH7 and so far:

    I'm not sure how to tell if or how much it is over clocked. I did not restore set cpu from TB when I did the restore- I read the over clock is not built in and you don't need set cpu.... anyone know if this is correct?

    The add blocking is not working

    The SD card must be in the (for me anyways) to apply the lag fix. I used EXT2.
     
  13. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    157
    15
    38
    Florida, US
    DG said a while back that ext4 has less FC issues because of how the files are written during the lagix. I have used both and I prefer ext4, no FC issues that I had with ext 2.
     
  14. Emrys

    Emrys Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    53
    3
    16
    XDA is back!
     
  15. androidftwin

    androidftwin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    is it down again!? I just ate dinner and its not working again
     
  16. ColonyDude

    ColonyDude Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    7
    1
    6
  17. androidftwin

    androidftwin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    Ahhh not again..
     
  18. ColonyDude

    ColonyDude Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    I think it is planned. ;)

    I have been waiting for SRE 1.3c for about four hours now.
     
  19. androidftwin

    androidftwin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    hahahah! same here man.

    i feel your pain
     
  20. Emrys

    Emrys Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    53
    3
    16
    Wow, back down again. What's up with this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...