1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Xoom tethering

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wj830, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. wj830

    wj830 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    My Android phone is rooted and I have been using the Tethering app for my laptop and today I got a XOOM and it does not see my WIFI from my rooted android phone. All the computers in the house see the android rooted phone's wifi and the XOOM can see the house WIFI but not the wifi from my android rooted phone.. Why is that?
     

    Advertisement

  2. pflol

    pflol Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    347
    44
    43
    Oahu / Hawaii
    Yeah, I noticed this too, i'm using WirelessTether from the market. I haven't gotten a chance to read up on it though, hope we can figure it out.
     
  3. BiggSnarfy

    BiggSnarfy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    20
    25
    23
    For what it's worth, I have the Verizon 3(4)G version with the 1 gig/month plan, but as an experiment I tried tethering cia WiFi to my HTC Incredible hotspot. Worked just fine.

    (As a side note, I had a WiFi Xoom on pre-order, but was on the fence about getting the Verizon version for the same price with a 2-year commitment to a $20/month data plan. I decided to go ahead and get the Verizon Xoom because the $20/month is cheaper than the hotspot option for the Incredible and is plenty for my needs.)

    What kind of phone are you trying to tether to?
     
  4. wj830

    wj830 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    12
    1
    16

    It is an old eris but don't think the age would change the wifi. My computer connects to it just fine
     
  5. woodsb123

    woodsb123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    143
    36
    43
    WJ830, I think I might have an answer for you. I also have a Droid Eris phone and had the Xoom. When I tried to connect both of them to my home's wireless network, the only way they both worked on the same network is to setup my network with the WEP security option. If that doesn't work, try setting up the network on WPA/TKIS. If you are not familiar with how to setup your network this way, I won't be able to assist because it would take up too much space here. The only other way to test things is by removing the security on your network all together. Hope this helps.
     
  6. tvc3

    tvc3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I also have a rooted droid eris and a wifi only xoom. Other devices recognize the wireless hotspot given off using wireless tether but the xoom does not. why? any information would be great. I have also tried using barnacle with no luck either.
     
  7. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    This is why I love my nexus s. No app required, just open up hotspot and your good. In fact I'm sitting in the doctors office right now using my xoom via hotspot from my nexus s..
     
  8. tvc3

    tvc3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks BiGMERF, that post really helped us out??
     
  9. tdse

    tdse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    182
    17
    58
    NH, USA
    You know you can tether through bluetooth? No rooting and no cost.
     
  10. clb2196

    clb2196 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    654
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    654
    120
    93
    Bluetooth if the device you're tethering supports it. :) One of the reasons I have the mobile hotspot is so I can connect my work computer when I'm on call. Doesn't have bluetooth, and not allowed to tether via usb. The mobile hotspot is a godsend, especially since I don't have to pay extra for it on the Xoom.
     
  11. tvc3

    tvc3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    The xoom and eris can connect through blue tooth but it comes up as "paired not connected" when you click the wrench icon on the xoom to connect it to "AndroidTether" nothing is listed to connect it too...
     
  12. tdse

    tdse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    182
    17
    58
    NH, USA
    That stinks. Works perfectly with the Droid X
     
  13. wj830

    wj830 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    When I try with my rooted Eris via bluetooth when I connect my phone does a reboot
     
  14. JDuc

    JDuc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009

    Oct 11, 2009
    137
    0
    35
    Roadway Analyst III
    Little Elm, Texas
    Just picked up my Xoom today. Trying to connect via wifi to my Epic without security to keep it simple to begin with and I get nothing.

    Tried via BT and I can pair them but they don't show as connected.

    I do however get a warning from Wireless Tether that my phone is in an 'unknown' state and to try rebooting. I've done this and still nothing.

    I am rooted but I'm running the stock software on my phone.

    Does anyone know if the Xoom supports Ad-hoc networks?
     
  15. tvc3

    tvc3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    From what I have read it and tried it seems like the xoom does not support Ad Hoc networking :( . I unfortunately am going to take my xoom back today because I can not get it to tether with my phone (eris). When I buy a new phone I will get a new xoom (again) lol.
     
  16. JDuc

    JDuc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009

    Oct 11, 2009
    137
    0
    35
    Roadway Analyst III
    Little Elm, Texas
    I guess I'm a little confused why getting a new phone would change anything?
     
  17. Shotgunx1x

    Shotgunx1x Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    145
    16
    38
    Male
    Tucson, AZ
    The Motorola Xoom does not support Ad Hoc Networks which is what some of you guys may be broadcasting from your eris's. I know that my rooted Incredible using Wifi Tether works perfectly on my Xoom, but can anyone confirm that the Xoom works with a Droid X?
     
  18. tdse

    tdse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    182
    17
    58
    NH, USA
    I'm not sure if I know what an "ad-hoc network" is, but I just enabled the 3G Mobile Hotspot on my Droid X, and my Xoom (wifi version) recgonized it and connected with no issues. In the wifi status it shows as "Verizon Droid X 6243, secured with WPA / WPA2 PSK".

    My X is not rooted, so I cannot tell you if the wireless tether (root) app works. I can also tether my Xoom to my X via BT.

    Hope that helps.
     
  19. fozzyengine1

    fozzyengine1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011

    Apr 3, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Try rebooting your phone, when I have the same issue that you do, a simple reboot of my phone usually fix the problem
     
  20. NCTurner

    NCTurner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    395
    368
    88
    NC

    I have a rooted DX and wireless tethering works remarkably well.

    For those with the Eris can you use pdanet? I know its not wireless but it also works well and doesn't require rooting.

    I hope you get your tethering issues resolved!
     
  21. JDuc

    JDuc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009

    Oct 11, 2009
    137
    0
    35
    Roadway Analyst III
    Little Elm, Texas
  22. fsinvegas

    fsinvegas Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Is there a way to tether my Droid X that is not rooted to the Xoom?
     
  23. tdse

    tdse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    182
    17
    58
    NH, USA
    The X will tether via Bluetooth (for an internet connection), or via the Wifi hotspot. Both work flawlessly for me.
     
  24. robhig

    robhig Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    RN
    North Texas
    I just ordered a wifi only Xoom, How will I "tether" it to my Droid X? I would rather not pay Verizon for the mobile hotspot feature.
     
  25. mccunbra

    mccunbra Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Did you get this figured out? Were in the exact same situation
     

Share This Page

Loading...