1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Xperia play Firmware Update Build 4.0.A.0.42

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zeln0rm, Nov 9, 2011.

  1. zeln0rm

    zeln0rm Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    My Xperia Play decided it wanted to run a firmware update to build 4.0.2.A.0.42 Required hooking up to a PC to do it. No other problems and all seemed to work fine, didn't notice any major changes other than the games in playstation pocket only runs initially, shows up the first screen with the disclaimer text on and then quits out. I also noticed that in order to play even crash bandicoot which is the free game on the phone it need to update of around 500mb in size.

    Has anyone else had this issue after upgrading to this build?
     

    Advertisement

  2. XperiaTACO4G

    XperiaTACO4G Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011

    Sep 28, 2011
    121
    11
    38
    The apps need to be updated. Probably.:p
     
  3. oleb84

    oleb84 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    279
    29
    53
    Male
    London
    Nope, no problems for me.

    The biggest change i have noticed is that there is now a screenshot option. All you need to do is hold down the power button and select it from the list of options that include switch off the phone.
     
  4. Wisenos

    Wisenos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010

    Aug 13, 2010
    519
    23
    83
    you wouldn't understand lol
    running 4.0.2.A.0.42 since yesterday and i love it... debranded my phone through wotonserver.com and the phone works better and faster and re-rooted the same way as 2.3.3 has...
     
  5. clutton86

    clutton86 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    38
    5
    16
    Just a quick query does using wotonserver erase everything on the phone including sd card I want to use it but don't want to loose any data on sd card Thanks
     
  6. Digital Jester

    Digital Jester Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011

    Apr 3, 2011
    76
    12
    38
    Student/Bar Staff
    Birmingham, UK
    Finally got this come through yesterday. It's a PC Companion update only however. No over the air updating (although you can find out if it's avaliable for DL by going to the update center). Doesn't seem to have done much however. I assume it's just bug fixes/performance improvements as I got the Screen shot option with the 2.3.4 update.
     
  7. Crash27

    Crash27 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    259
    42
    53
    Male
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Will not install on mine, I updated to the latest PC Companion, the phone shows the new update, I can connect the phone to the memory card but soon as I go to do the update it wants to connect to the media Transfer mode it just sits there saying it is trying to connect to my phone then give the message unable to connect. I have tried it several times, restarted phone...I am not sure what to do next.
     
  8. Digital Jester

    Digital Jester Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011

    Apr 3, 2011
    76
    12
    38
    Student/Bar Staff
    Birmingham, UK
    I had a the same issue... Start up PC companion and plug your phone in, but when the window pops up telling you there's an update and to follow the steps just close it. Manually go through each step yourself (Disconecct, Connect in MTP) and then your phone should update.
     
  9. Wisenos

    Wisenos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010

    Aug 13, 2010
    519
    23
    83
    you wouldn't understand lol
    SD card doesn't get erased at all...
     
  10. mekster2k11

    mekster2k11 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    i accidently erased my ANDROID Folder. because my PSXperia is not working in 4.0.2 >.<
     
  11. jaykap

    jaykap Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    69
    0
    35
    Warehouse Manager
    Selden, NY
    not sure if the sony companion would work for me or not. how on earth do u put the xperia play into MTP mode? theres no option to do it when i try to connect
     
  12. xperiaplay4

    xperiaplay4 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012

    Mar 8, 2012
    1
    0
    5


    reply: I tried updating with pc companion to 4.0 but halfway it says unable to install components! can anyone help?
     
  13. Sam-SonyXperia

    Sam-SonyXperia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,042
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    1,042
    151
    153
  14. ZhuiMing

    ZhuiMing Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    updating now, i wonder why Sony PC Companion 2.1 cant update..
     
  15. Sam-SonyXperia

    Sam-SonyXperia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,042
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    1,042
    151
    153
    Generally it will but there are a lot of third party software's and drivers that can cause a conflict when using this function whereas the Update Service connects the phone in a different mode.
     
  16. eldenmisty

    eldenmisty Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Does anyone know if this will work for a cspire experia play? I am rooted with cwm installed but I need a different rom than stock Can anyone help me with this
     
  17. jaykap

    jaykap Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    69
    0
    35
    Warehouse Manager
    Selden, NY
    can someone help me get 4.0.0.42 for my verizon xperia? i keep getting the runaround from sony and verizon about updates.
     
  18. paxchristos

    paxchristos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    455
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    455
    113
    68
    Verizon doesn't have a 4.x firmware release.
     
  19. fuhrl

    fuhrl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    they were supposed to start pushing it as of yesterday. i can't get my phone to find it yet.

    if/when i update it, will i loose root on my phone and will it still be rootable afterwards?

    i had been running custom roms on my phone for a bit but there were just a few too many things that didn't work so well with the roms so i wen't back to the stock rom.
     
  20. paxchristos

    paxchristos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    455
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    455
    113
    68
    Well, we've been tracking it on XDA, and so far nobody has it. A couple of us with unlocked bootloaders are trying to get it so we can see if root remains (via Voodoo OTA Rootkeeper) but so far nobody's gotten it, so nobody knows.

    Pax
     
  21. fuhrl

    fuhrl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    the information is on verizons website on how to download it. both forced and manually. so it shouldn't be much longer hopefully.
     
  22. paxchristos

    paxchristos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    455
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    455
    113
    68
    It came out yesterday, bricked a couple of us with unlocked bootloaders, so far meh from user reviews
     
  23. fuhrl

    fuhrl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    when i try to do the manual update now it sits at the checking for newer software screen for a few minutes and then tells me there's an error and to try again in a few minutes. before it would take about five seconds to check for new software.
     
  24. paxchristos

    paxchristos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    455
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    455
    113
    68
    Wipe cache. If you use gtalk, don't update, it kills it.
     
  25. fuhrl

    fuhrl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    i finally got it to work. i lost my root though. i tried using that romkeeper program or whatever is was that was being talked about in that xda thread but it didn't work. i just used flashtool to go back to 2.3.3 for now since there didn't seem to be anything that i couldn't do without. i'll wait until there's a way to root again before i upgrade. i would have kept it at the 2.3.4 but i lose about 60mb of storage because of the extra apps that i originally removed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...