1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

xScope, a multitouch pinch zoom browser

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by xScope, Nov 23, 2009.

  1. mandroid12345

    mandroid12345 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    There seems to be a rather important issue with xScope at the moment, it doesn't seem to want to close properly - CPU usage is still ~40-90% after closing (even when clicking the exit button), and the only way to resolve it is to use a task killer to kill the process. Just had a quick look around the internet and it seems that other people are having this problem as well, many more without realising it I imagine. Even when turning off the device - it stays hot and burns battery like nothing else, meaning I basically have to go back to the stock browser until it's fixed. I'm running rooted 2.2 with sense on an HTC Desire for what it's worth.

    I've also got a feature request - an option to clear tabs on exit, it's a little annoying clicking a shortcut to a webpage and it opening up two tabs, your old page and your new one. It would be better if there was an option to clear them on exit. Otherwise, best browser on Android !
     

    Advertisement

  2. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,160
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,160
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    I posted that here earlier. I think it happens if you run a flash app.
     
  3. droiiiiid

    droiiiiid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    88
    1
    16
    I agree with that feature request, but the way I'd prefer it is if you could have a separate icon on the home screen that would always give you a fresh xScope. I often don't know when I exit whether or not I'll want those tabs back again or not.
     
  4. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    busy preparing xScope 6. It is backbone is coded from scratch (new Engine you can say that). Appearance will be similar on first release though. Sorry for not updating for a while.

    Back to CPU thing. Here is how the flash works as I understand it. Since flash is not natively implemented as an integral part of webkit (webview), it tries to 'pretend' to be part of a webpage (like a slice of webpage). So this means that flash has to have some sort of mechanism to constantly monitor if its 'parent' (NOT in native webview hierarchy)'s status. It is doable but Adobe's implementation is VERY problematic in my personal view. I am forced to work around all the bugs. Some bugs are reported to Adobe and they admitted but couldn't come up with a fix quickly.

    xScope code itself has nothing to consume CPU if:
    1. you have no background downloading
    2. no malicious javascript running
    3. no deamon flash running

    As for feature request, I will get back to those after 6 is over.
     
  5. Happs

    Happs Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    16
    2
    16
    Thirded!! Integration with LastPass would be awesome!

    (BTW AppBrain still warns me that I should not be installing it on 2.2?)
     
  6. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    Happs,

    Not sure how does that work but I will get back to this as long as it doesn't require interception of user's content. The app will never do that no matter for what purpose.

     
  7. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    9/7 on xScope 6.0

    Still long way to go. But it is relative stable and usable now.

    Again, this is totally redesigned in terms of navigations and handling of pages.

    xScope, for better or worse, has been a product of genuine and original piece from very beginning. We have been worked really hard on this new update. Thank you for your patience! We wanted this new release to really improve users's productivity!
     
  8. droiiiiid

    droiiiiid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    88
    1
    16
    Awesome!
     
  9. vincey2kr1

    vincey2kr1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    16
    2
    16
    Well I don't understand how the cpu could be accessing flash on my samsung epic when its not implemented on my phone? I've ran task manager force closed every running process under apps other then xscope and its still jumping up to 45% cpu usage? This happens under the free version and paid version. Loving this web browser hoping a solution is figured.
     
  10. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    Absolutely no looping or self-refreshing code here. The paradigm is always like
    Request from user action (click a button, a link, ...) --> xScope responds --> call webkit to render result --> Done (idle doing nothing like any other apps).

    When in background, it will be idle completely (except downloading of course if you have any pending).

     
  11. vincey2kr1

    vincey2kr1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    16
    2
    16
    What about the built in task manager? It could be using cpu cycles by monitoring?Do you have a version without it
     
  12. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    Not possible either. It takes a 'snapshot' of your running processes at open. It dones't refresh unless you click refresh button.
     
  13. b0lty

    b0lty Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Just a few quick comments after using this browser for a few hours:

    First off, I like it. I'll def be using this over stock browser but Opera has several advantages over xScope so keeping that one installed for now.

    Not tested speeds yet but it doesn't seem as fast as Opera to load pages (doesn't opera do some clever page optimizing before it's sent to your phone?). I also noted that xScope lags during general use compared to Opera. I have a Hero, so it's not the fasted cookie out there but Opera always seems slick and fast to scroll around pages. xScope seems sticky when scrolling pages (sometimes), as does the stock browser.

    Could we have an option to hide the tabs? I have the option to have full screen when only using one tab, but can't we have it so you can have fullscreen no matter how many tabs you have? ie use vertical slide once to reveal tabs and again to reveal page menu?

    I'd like an additional option when holding finger on an image to view the fullsize image in a separate tab.

    I disabled the swipe for tabs because I kept swiping between tabs accidentally when I was actually just trying to scroll around a page. Would be nice to be able to customise what swipe gestures do as with Dolphin Browser.

    That's all for now ... I really should be working.
     
  14. SprintFun

    SprintFun Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,543
    656
    213
    Columbus, OH
    Opera renders websites on their servers and sends your phone a completely optimized version of the website to your phone I believe. So no browser that does the rendering on your end will ever match Opera speeds.
     
  15. Andy123

    Andy123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Well, i hadn't heard about this browser..this definitely worth to try..thanks
     
  16. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,160
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,160
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    On a fast connection with a fast phone, I think other browsers can match/beat Opera.

    I loved opera mini on my WM Touch Pro. It was light years faster than Opera Mobile or any other browser.

    On my Droid X, the speed of other browsers is at least close enough to opera mini that it's not worth losing javascript and having pages not rendered as nicely that I no longer use it, unless somehow I have a really slow 1x connection.
     
  17. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    Bolty,

    Those are very valid observations. Opera takes your request and process it at its server, then return its processed webpages. It can be very efficient for heavy websites but drag on light weight websites.

    Wait for xScope 6. It will give users a all new level of speed. It will also have different tab handling mechanism too hopefully solving your problems.

     
  18. ArmadaTattoo

    ArmadaTattoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    I have been trying this browser out today and I have two comments.

    Double tap on stock zooms in and aligns text to an easily readable level. It its quicker than any manual zoom method. I may be doing something wrong but xScope doesn't seem to do this?

    I cannot find a back button or a forward button. Am I missing something? hardware back button is very slow and leads me to going back further than I intended.

    I really like the browser and am looking forward to version 6. Well done!
     
  19. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    390
    115
    88
    Lauderdale, FL
    Exactly, which is why its not ideal for online banking etc if you value your privacy....
     
  20. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    390
    115
    88
    Lauderdale, FL
    xScope, whats the ETA on version 6.0? Can't wait man! Keep up the good work....
     
  21. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    The engine is done. Working on UI now with a talented guy:D
    Hopefully two or three weeks.

    It is going to be only for high end phones (Droid minimum).

     
  22. Ngo93

    Ngo93 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    586
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    :(
     
  23. nothingman

    nothingman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    Thanks for the really great browser. Probably the most feature rich mobile browser I've used.

    Did have one question...

    Some pages that I've added to my favorite page don't show an icon. Is there any way to add or change an icon on the fav page instead of the generic ? Icon?

    Thanks!
     
  24. xXSecretAgentXx

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    48
    28
    23
    is there a possibility to include addons in future releases?
     
  25. ingcorra

    ingcorra Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    35
    2
    16
    Do you really belongs to the xScope team? I was just wondering if it's possible to use 3d hardware acceleration for graphics, like safari on the iPhone - or like does LauncherPro on Android. Can you do this? Please, PLEASE DO IT. I'm tired of slow scrolling :( and my htc legend has got a GPU that sleeps 95% of the time :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...