1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

xScope, a multitouch pinch zoom browser

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by xScope, Nov 23, 2009.

  1. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    No this is my incompetence, really. Please note, Dolphin = stock + extra. So it has best compatibility to stock browser. xScope is totally coded from scratch with little borrowing of stock browser's code. So leakage is everywhere :D but you do have an original piece of creation, although bad in many ways.
    This happens when the app lost track of how many times the timer is started and stopped. I will find a fix.
     

    Advertisement

    Konstigt likes this.
  2. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    Theme for xScope 6 is coming soon. Your downloaded theme only works on xScop 5

     
  3. jhford

    jhford Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009

    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    2 suggestions:
    1. Bookmark folders
    2. Remember login cookies. I want to click a link to a URL on my extranet from an automated SMS and go directly to the URL without having to login.
    Thanks
     
  4. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    Ok, I figured out what's going on and it's a definite bug.

    With xScope6 trial, if I go to facebook.com and login, I get the always/now/never popup asking me if I want to save the login info. If I go to google.com/voice and do the same I get no popup and it automatically saves the login data.

    So, why the different behaivor for login saves on different sites and should checking the boxes upon exit clear that data?

    In addition, you mentioned before that upon exit, I can check the boxes to clear the data, but that doesn't work.

    The only way for me to wipe that is to go into my system application settings, find xScope and clear data in there. That resets xScope back to default configuration.
     
  5. jhford

    jhford Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009

    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    I'm using version 6 paid.
     
  6. jhford

    jhford Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009

    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    Clearing data worked perfectly. Thanks.
     
  7. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    10/18
    A few changes:

    Clear bookmarks of stock browser
    This is not so much of a problem of xScope. However, we have received many emails asking for a function to do so. With this function in place, a user can actually import Google bookmarks or bookmarks from desktop computers to stock browser. All he needs to do is:
    1. Clear stock bookmarks
    2. Import Google bookmarks (or bookmarks from an HTML file saved from a desktop browser)
    3. Export to stock

    Default text size
    The default text size of webpages can be changed now. It has 5 choices: smallest, smaller, normal, larger, and largest.

    Changes in Settings
    Removed
     
  8. SprintFun

    SprintFun Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,543
    656
    213
    Columbus, OH
    Thanks man, will update and beat on it =)
     
  9. jhford

    jhford Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009

    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    I have to retract my reply post. My EVO had to login, again. I'm beginning to think that it only remembers cookies if the app stays in memory.
     
  10. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    Well, at least there's a clear form data now, so that's good, but you didn't fix the bug where google.com/voice login is automatically saved and there's no always/now/never popup option. I did a clear data in system->application settings->xScope, so I'm running it from a fresh xscope.

    At least I can clear it now, but it'd be nice to have an option to now have it save it in the first place.
     
  11. SprintFun

    SprintFun Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,543
    656
    213
    Columbus, OH
    The text sizing seems to be a little buggy.

    I set it to "Larger", and now no matter what setting I change it to the options box says its "larger" but it isn't.

    Edit: But when I leave the settings and go back in, the text display size is shown correctly in the options box.
     
  12. jhford

    jhford Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009

    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    How? I did settings > applications > manage applications > xscope.
     
  13. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    That's what I meant.
     
  14. calbruc

    calbruc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    50
    4
    16
    NJ, USA
    I'm having an issue with xScope that started when version 6 was released. Occasionally, when I open it, it goes straight to my bookmarks, not the page I was last on. It doesn't appear to be saving its state consistently.

    I'm rooted and running Ultimate Droid 1.0. This also occurred on UD 8. Perhaps it has some more aggressive memory management settings and xScope is getting killed before it can write its state to memory?

    Anybody else experiencing this? Any suggestions? Is it related to the ROM or xScope?
     
  15. mancterrier

    mancterrier Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Hi been using xscope for months on my dell streak. I have recently upgraded to a custom rom of android 2.2 on it and noticed a slight bug which is fairly annoying. When im typing in the url/search box with SWYPE the whole page starts jumping about/shaking. I've tried it on other browsers and its working fine. Any ideas if its an issue with xscope?
     
  16. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    mancterrier,
    Let the browser show the notification bar (a.k.a. not full screen mode).
    This is a bug of android system, not xScope.
    The stock browser doesn't suffer this because you can never put it fullscreen.
     
  17. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    I don't think it is ROM related. It is more like system related.
    On android, any non-visible app is vulnerable to be killed at anytime. Usually, before the background app is killed, the system will give the app a chance to same sates. Then when the app is brought to foreground, it will restore its last state.
    xScope failed to restore its last state might be due to two things:
    1. xScope was killed before it finished its saving of state
    2. xScope was killed by other app killer
     
  18. SprintFun

    SprintFun Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,543
    656
    213
    Columbus, OH
    xScope, has any progress been made on text reflow when resizing? Thats an issue I'd like to see fixed, even if it means using some ugly unsupported coding ;)

    Also, any ETA on the update that will allow themes? I know you said its close.
     
  19. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    Unfortunately not much progress on text reflow (we do have some but it doesn't center).

    Theme will be either this weekend or next weekend.


     
  20. SprintFun

    SprintFun Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,543
    656
    213
    Columbus, OH
    Thanks for all of the hard work :)
     
  21. DarthBane

    DarthBane Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    Can someone help me with editing/arranging the bookmarks...

    On firefox, new bookmarks are added to the bottom of the bookmark list. With this in mind, I finally took the time to add my many bookmarks to xscope.

    I added my most frequently-visited bookmarks first. I then find to my horror that xscope does the complete opposite, making new bookmarks first in the list, making all my heavily used bookmarks at the bottom of the list.

    Is there an easy way to rearrange bookmarks in xscope? I am not finding it, and it is a seriously needed feature if it doesn't have one.
     
  22. xScope

    xScope Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    426
    55
    53
    First, you don't need to add one by one.
    1. On your PC, with Firefox, choose 'Bookmarks' --> ... --> Export HTML.
    2. Transfer this HTML file from your PC to SD card
    3. In xScope, start page, from page options, choose 'Import from an HTML file'
    Your bookmarks will be imported.
    You may want to clear your existing ones if you like a clean start.


    Second,
    There are 3 ways to sort bookmarks.
    1. By date created
    2. By visits
    3. By name

    So you if you like your most visited to be on top, choose 2. But you have to know all visit number are 0 at start. So order is not as you expected.

     
    DarthBane likes this.
  23. DarthBane

    DarthBane Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    13
    0
    15

    Thank you. I didn't want to do the html file import because there are many bookmarks on the computer that I don't want on Xscope.

    I will just use option 3 (by name) and put a number in front of the name to dictate position.
     
  24. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,863
    554
    213
    Cary, NC
    +1
     
  25. DarthBane

    DarthBane Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    btw how much memory usage is typical for xscope? is 105mb normal?
     

Share This Page

Loading...