1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [XT912].::UNofficial::. Update to 6.12.173.xt912.verizon.en.us

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kelmar, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,745
    823

    Advertisement

  2. FragDroidX

    FragDroidX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    820
    314
    113
    Going to install in a few minutes. Will report back with my findings.
     
  3. FragDroidX

    FragDroidX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    820
    314
    113
    Installed this update thru stock recovery right over top without a wipe and have had no issues. Takes it to Android 2.3.6. Some of the icons have changed and the icons in settings are now colored. It did update the radios for 3G and 4G and I have noticed that 3G to 4G handoff is about twice as fast as it was prior to the update. Have not noticed a change in signal strength thus far. Hotspot bug appears to be fixed but will run some more tests to verify. Webtop is faster and smoother overall with scrolling in webpages much faster than it was an its UI has been tweeked.

    Thats all I see for now but will keep playing with it. I welcome any particular questions anyone has.
     
    jroc likes this.
  4. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #181
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73
    Running it here as well, very smooth and stable, I noticed a significant change in my weather program, I use Go weather with real video back ground (looks nice) but before when I would close it it would sort of flicker transition back to the desktop, now it just pops back instantly with no lag.

    I'm in a 4G area and my dl/ul speeds seem to have increased somewhat but that could be a fluke, what I have noticed is my wifi signal from my router is nearly twice as strong as before as perceived in the wifi analyzer app I have, again that could also be a fluke but i'm liking it so far.
     
    Trooper and jroc like this.
  5. jroc

    jroc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    363
    Posts:
    2,614
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    2,614
    358
    363
    Hmmm.... Need to get my RAZR and do some installing.
     
  6. Biotic

    Biotic Android Expert
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,391
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    1,391
    669
    223
    Male
    Construction and Android Developer
    Pennsylvania
    http://db.tt/WG8lUu8A

    Just incase some of you are curious of what their talking about (chessecake) wise

    Also downloading/installing

    Update failed
    Presuming because i ran motimizer which affected the build.prop so il probably have to do a factory reset or install custom recovery. No biggy
     
  7. orcsbane13

    orcsbane13 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    138
    29
    43
    Running great here, phone never dropped down to 3g and only had 1 data hang up. The only issue I'm having is the YouTube app isn't showing my subscriptions and f.c. on some videos. Motocast can now sync all your pics and videos to a computer over mobile data or wifi as you take them. Not sure if it was option before but can now print from the email app and browser. That's all I've noticed after 1st day aside from what has already been stated.
     
  8. Biotic

    Biotic Android Expert
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,391
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    1,391
    669
    223
    Male
    Construction and Android Developer
    Pennsylvania
    Even after playen with the updater script, couldnt get to install. Ohwell
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,745
    823
    Been running it the past 15 hours or so with no problem
     
  10. Biotic

    Biotic Android Expert
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,391
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    1,391
    669
    223
    Male
    Construction and Android Developer
    Pennsylvania
    I even installed cwm to try and install it and got errors. Maybe a crap doenload?
     
  11. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #181
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73
    Ya gotta have all bloatware installed as if ya just got the phone, if your rooted ya need ota rootkeeper to save root d/l file to sd card and apply update that way. If it fails make sure you clear the cache and try again. Reapply root when done.
     
  12. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,745
    823
    Rgocal - what happens when you install it through moto's stock recovery?

    Still errors (and if so what do they say). Also, as mentioned above, everything needs to be "stock."

    If it's helpful, when I used RSD last night all of my data remained intact.
     
  13. DonDraper

    DonDraper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    226
    30
    63
    Windows System Admin
    South
    Has the camera app changed at all?
     
  14. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,680
    886
    313
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Their instructions say that it won't install via CWM, judging by your 'tone of voice' you knew and expected that. However they do also say, somewhere along the way, that any other recovery on the phone could/will cause a problem. It may be the fact that you have CWM active on your phone that's causing the error.

    Somebody there said that the panoramic setting on the camera worked noticeably faster. To which I thought "Huh, there's a panorama setting??". I looked, sure enough there is. :)
     
  15. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #181
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73
    Settings screen is colorized and panorama shots blend better. Oh and I never noticed before but the shutter sound is out of sync with the flash.
     
  16. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,680
    886
    313
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Just updated mine. The phone didn't either explode, or melt in to a pile of slag. :)
    The update process was easy, no errors or such.
    The phone was slow to boot, and sluggish for the first few minutes. Both of which I've come to expect after flashing a new ROM.

    I didn't previously have either CWM or SafeStrap installed, so neither of those were there to get in the way.
     
  17. Biotic

    Biotic Android Expert
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,391
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    1,391
    669
    223
    Male
    Construction and Android Developer
    Pennsylvania
    The cwr was my last attempt to install it because i tried rewriting the updater script after many failers.
    It seems like it cannot find my build.prop file.

    Assert script. Build.prop ro.build.device ro.build.product assertion failed

    Something along those lines. Useing cwr, same error.
    but i disabled cwr after finding out it doesnt work. Since rebooting into that is kinda of annoying seeing that its the same technique the nook colors use to install roms.
    I did do a factory reset as well to attempt the install. If this isnt working, i fear il get to watch the ics upgrade roll by.
     
  18. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #181
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73
    1st of all FORGET about clockwork and boot strap or any of that garbage

    This update works via factory update from the sd card.


    Flash the phone back to stock with RSD. You do know we have those files now right? Takes only a few mins and your phone is just like it was the day you opened the box with the exception that all your presets and account(s) info will still be there, (unless you did a hard reset) but in any event it will cure all your ills and then you can update.

    You can always flash back to stock and never miss a regular OTA update, with exception to the locked bootloader our phones are now an open playground, I would think a ROM developer would know these things but and I digress I don't know jack crap about ROMS yet I know all about how to flash these updates, so go figure huh? :D

    More info here: http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/topic/424-installing-612173xt912/page__view__findpost__p__4847
     
  19. Biotic

    Biotic Android Expert
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,391
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    1,391
    669
    223
    Male
    Construction and Android Developer
    Pennsylvania
    Ahead of yeah :)
    Just bugging me i couldnt get it o.o
    We have moments like that, believe me... we always over think
     
  20. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #181
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73
    Pay particular attention to the part about root, you cannot root the updated phone using the zerg method you gotta root first and then protect the root with OTA root keeper from the market, it lets ya temp unroot then run the flash, then bring the root back.
     
  21. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,745
    823
    Noticed that pressing the search key from the app drawer produces a FC.
     
  22. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #181
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73
    Yep same here, I also noticed certain uTube vids cause a FC. Gotta love open Beta's ehh ? :D
     
  23. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,745
    823
    Lol, yeap! :D
     
  24. Raw Dodge

    Raw Dodge Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    192
    12
    38
    Installation took less than 10 minutes! It works flawless for me,search key never force closes,you tube is excellent...Im very happy so far,tomorrow will be the test when going from 3 to 4g areas and back,well see how the data connection holds up....
     
  25. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,680
    886
    313
    Jacksonville, Fl
    No force close on search when in the app drawer, for me.
    I'm not a YouTuber, so I may not ever test that. :)

    Personally, I think the instructions found here are easier to follow.
    Installing 6.12.173.xt912 - DroidRzr.com
     

Share This Page

Loading...