1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Yahoo email on Android not working?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fascinated, Jun 27, 2011.

  1. fascinated

    fascinated Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    125
    4
    36

    Advertisement

  2. valorian

    valorian Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,947
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1,947
    499
    193
    Male
    Northern Illinois
    No, my emails and my wife's are coming through fine. My wife and I use K9 for our yahoo e-mail.
     
  3. ckelly33

    ckelly33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    808
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    808
    146
    93
    CRNA
    Tennessee
    I've had this happen before. Remove the account, then reinstall using the IMAP or manual setting rather than the 'ready to go' yahoo version. You'll never know the difference and this will never happen again.
     
  4. amarryat

    amarryat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #600
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    365
    41
    43
    MA
    Same thing here - I was trying out the stock email with IMAP settings, along with the Yahoo mail client which I have been running since it became available on the INC1.

    And I rebooted the phone, deleted and readded the account, and it still won't work. I am using IMAP settings rather than the built in Yahoo config that's included in the stock email - didn't want those rogue text messages coming in.

    I would guess that it was around a week ago when it suddenly stopped working. Forcing it to sync and it does not update the inbox with what's actually in there - I was still seeing old stuff.

    Edit - during all this, Yahoo's mail client was working perfectly.
     
  5. fascinated

    fascinated Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    125
    4
    36
    This is how I had it setup and it quit working. Tried deleting the account a couple of times and manually configuring it again. No dice.

    I installed K9 mail and it worked first try. This appears to be an issue with the native HTC mail receiving yahoo email. The initial setup works, but it will not download messages. The sending part works fine. If you do a forum search the problem is all over other sub forums as well. Its not just the Incredible 2.
     
  6. fascinated

    fascinated Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    125
    4
    36
    I just confirmed this problem with Verizon data support and they said it is a wide spread issue with Yahoo and not just Incredible 2 related. Apparently this is causing issues across various Android phones as well as some authentication issues with iPhones.

    Support mentioned they are getting hammered with calls about this right now. Had no estimate of when it would be fixed.
     
  7. valorian

    valorian Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,947
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1,947
    499
    193
    Male
    Northern Illinois
    Yahoo was popping up messages on the main e-mail website about a new Yahoo E-Mail. I wonder if this has anything to do with this issue. Anyone know if this is affecting BlackBerry users?
     
  8. amarryat

    amarryat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #600
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    365
    41
    43
    MA
    That's pretty shabby. This "outage" has been going on for a week probably, maybe more.
     
  9. fascinated

    fascinated Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    125
    4
    36
    Sounds like maybe they are having issues rolling out the new Yahoo email POS. The thing that gets me is K9-mail works fine. Thats either random or there is something different about the HTC mail. They both use IMAP.
     
  10. amarryat

    amarryat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #600
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    365
    41
    43
    MA
    So this may be a Verizon problem - I wonder if ATT users have this problem.

    I wonder if it's related to that text messaging alert disaster that some peabrain dreamed up to simulate push email.
     
  11. Stealthman

    Stealthman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #586
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    491
    38
    43
    Delete the account from your phone and use the yahoo email app, it works great for me
     
    am_beagle likes this.
  12. Alexlock

    Alexlock Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    23
    0
    35
    Florida
  13. peppercat

    peppercat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Massachusetts
    I'm with Sprint and had the same problem for over a week. It started working again this morning.
     
  14. chassum

    chassum Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    215
    20
    58
    software QA automation
    TX
    my wife had the same problem on her TBolt for a few days, but Wednesday evening it started working again.
     
  15. fascinated

    fascinated Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    125
    4
    36
    Yep....got a flood of Yahoo email on the HTC mail app last night. Bye bye K9-mail.
     
  16. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,531
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,531
    22,970
    3,118
    Scotland
    It looks like a general yahoo issue affecting multiple handsets. For more info, check here.
     

Share This Page

Loading...