1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Yahoo mail question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fastbagger, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. fastbagger

    fastbagger Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    26
    5
    16
    San Tan Valley, AZ
    Hello all great website I have been reading for months. I have a Yahoo email question. When I use the program "mail" on my Eris and input my email and password it automatically uses an imap server. I notice that on the imap server I cannot use WiFi to check my email. When I use the Yahoo mail as a pop server it works perect on WiFi. I don't understand the difference. Which is better imap or pop? Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. rasmith3530

    rasmith3530 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    203
    58
    73
    Data Technical Support Specialist
    Northern Illinois
    Actually, neither! On my previous phone, a G1, I couldn't get my Yahoo (AT&T Yahoo) Premium account to even load, and although it loaded on my new Samsung Acclaim, it crashed regularly. I stopped fighting city hall and installed the Yahoo Mail app from the Android Market. It is free, and it works just great! You can even see and access those folders you've created. And, for you, it works while on WiFi. I just tested it!
     
  3. Nabraham

    Nabraham Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    364
    27
    43
    Quality Assurance Analyst
    Just download the yahoo mail app in the marketplace, it works great. Problem solved.
     
  4. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    The AT&T Yahoo mail is very particular about it's settings in the 'mail' program but it can be done. I have two different Att/yahoo mails set up in Mail and they work fine. As I recall the default receive settings were OK, but it's send settings needed some corrections.
     
  5. fastbagger

    fastbagger Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    26
    5
    16
    San Tan Valley, AZ
    Thanks everyone for help. I have used the Yahoo! email application and 2 things I notice. It seems to run my battery down sooner because it is always running as an application, also when I receive an email that has a picture I can't save the picture to my SD card. Am I doing something wrong?
     

Share This Page

Loading...