1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Yahoo Mail Setup through HTC Sense Mail

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bob Dobalina, May 1, 2010.

  1. Bob Dobalina

    Bob Dobalina Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    79
    9
    16
    Berumda Triangle
    Ok, I am trying to figure out whats going on. I have 2 DI for myself and girlfriend. I have my email (gmail and yahoo) setup through the HTC Mail Client and they work fine.....I setup my other phone the same way and it worked fine, but once the yahoo account completed the process of downloading the inbox, I got an Authentication Error stating the login was incorrect. The login is not wrong and works fine to login via the standard web page. I tried to delete the Yahoo Account on the HTC, but when I went to setup again I had the same issue.....Not sure how or why this could be happening. Any advice is appreciated. Also verified all the yahoo email settings on my working device and they are all the same on the other device with the issue.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bob Dobalina

    Bob Dobalina Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    79
    9
    16
    Berumda Triangle
    Ok, I just figured it out after a minute more of messing around.....IT would seem that Yahoo Mail through HTC Sense is not avialable over Wifi - I noticed my phone wifi was off and my other was on. I turned it off and was able to complete the yahoo setup....Does anyone know why this happens and how to get around it in case the phone is on wifi mode?
     
    twinturbo likes this.
  3. jcap

    jcap Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I could be wrong, but as far as I can tell, the issue only arises during the mail account setup. I had the same problem, but now that my yahoo account is set up, I can check my yahoo mail through HTC Sense using either 3g or Wifi...
     
  4. trpt

    trpt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    I can't access my Yahoo user-defined folders with the HTC email app. Anybody know how?
     
  5. jwm2

    jwm2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,109
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    1,109
    270
    163
    Sterling, IL
    You need yahoo plus before you can access mail with wifi on, otherwise it will only check your email with 3g access.
     
  6. Angel_Shooter

    Angel_Shooter Member
    Rank:
     #650
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    31
    10
    38
    Phoenix, AZ
    This is how I did mine...one note is when you are inputting your in and outgoing server settings in the drop down box with SSL in it, you chose the one that says none or non-secure...can't remember what it said but it's the only one that works when you go to proceed to the next step. I don't have Yahoo Plus and this is working with 3 yahoo accounts for me.

    Thanks Crimton!


     
  7. ezegm

    ezegm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    46
    0
    15
    Student
    thanks...but question...ssl or tsl? which one to use?
     
  8. Nabraham

    Nabraham Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    364
    27
    43
    Quality Assurance Analyst
    twinturbo likes this.
  9. jayefef

    jayefef Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #259
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    433
    77
    83
    Los Angeles
    yes yahoo plus lets you do all this. it also only lets you access free yahoo from one mail client only. I'm slowly weaning off my yahoo mail use and using gmail exclusively.
     
  10. danmosatl

    danmosatl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    15
    0
    15
    Worked liked a charm, thx bro!
     
  11. danmosatl

    danmosatl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    15
    0
    15
    oh yeah, any way to have html emails?
     
  12. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,959
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,959
    25,351
    3,933
    Male
    This helps me understand why I couldn't get yahoo anymore. I'll just check it on 3G
     
  13. amarryat

    amarryat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    365
    41
    43
    MA
    ... and what really stinks is that IMAP is not available on wifi for plus subscribers either. You can use the plus.pop.mail.yahoo.com for POP mail, but if you want IMAP, no wifi, regardless of if you are a plus subscriber or not :(
     
  14. JuniorNA

    JuniorNA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    288
    50
    53
    IT/Networking
    Nowhere NEAR Cupertino...North NJ
    sorry to ask this, but is there a way to only delete the emails from your handheld (5 year blackberry user) and leave the emails on the yahoo server? because i just deleted about 50 emails on my phone, thinking it would just delete on on the phone, but it went and deleted them on my yahoo mail server, and they didnt go into deleted items, don't mean to hijack, but figured i'd ask in here since this is a yahoo mail thread. Anyone know how to delete only on phone, or maybe optionally delete on both phone and mail server ?
     
  15. upsavr

    upsavr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    30
    0
    15
    I am confused with that video. When I set up my yahoo mail on the device there are different ports but it seems to work fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...