1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Yellow Triangle & Droid Symbol

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Dreamsongs, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. Dreamsongs

    Dreamsongs Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    24
    1
    16
    Greetings!

    I did perform searches before posting. I found one post that seemed to help...

    I have the original droid, 2.2.1, frg83D.

    Rooted with Soup or Root One Step.

    Running set CPU.

    Installed Rom Manager. Flashed Clockwork Mod Recovery. Performed Nandroid and MyBackUpPro.

    Out of curiosity, tried to boot into recovery & got the Triangle & Droid Symbol. Had to pull battery.

    Performed search, found a post that suggested flashing Sprecovery, and then again flash ClockworkMod Recovery and that should get CM to "stick".

    It seemed to. Downloaded Chevy rom& Kernal Via Rom Manager. Booted into recovery and Yellow Triangle.

    I must be doing something wrong. I've read hours of posts here. Could the One Step Root have screwed things up?

    Any Suggestions?

    Thanks!

    Dave
     

    Advertisement

  2. bigeric828

    bigeric828 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    19
    1
    16
    Hey, this is the same thing thats happenign to me currently. I was using UD 2.5 for quite a while so i figured i'd try UD 3.0. When i tried to install from sd card, it gives me the triangle and shit. I've RSD Lite'd my phone, tried the whole setup again and still got it. I'm confused.

    EDIT: i went bak into rom manager, flashed SPrecovery then reflashed clockwork and it seems to have fixed my problems.
     
  3. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    no youre not doing anything wrong,and the super one click app is not to blame. you are still using your stock rom,correct?

    the prollem is that the stock rom replaces clockwork with its stock recovery every time the phone is rebooted. hence,while you are using the stock rom,youll need to flash clockwork again before booting into recovery.

    once you install a rom,this will stop happening. if you want to continue using a stock rom,there are a couple of files you can delete and/or rename using root explorer. this WILL make clockwork "stick" ;)
     
  4. Dreamsongs

    Dreamsongs Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    24
    1
    16
    That makes complete sense! Thank you!

    Will Clockwork still "stick" if the phone gets stuck in a bootloop while trying a new rom? I want to be able to boot into recovery to go back to the original rom if I need to.

    Thanks again for your reply!

    Dave
     
  5. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    it should.

    the new rom does not overwrite the recovery,it simply does not have the same files that put the stock recovery back,like the stock rom. if something happened,clockwork should still be there. :)

    edit:
    if youre interested,heres what i did to allow clockwork to stick to my stock rom:
    http://androidforums.com/droid-all-...very-unless-i-flash-clockwork-sprecovery.html
     
    Vance and Dreamsongs like this.

Share This Page

Loading...