1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root YMAIL and Baseband C_01.3E.03P

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JSanford, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. JSanford

    JSanford Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    2
    1
    6
    Well heres an odd one for ya - I have been using ymail successfully with the stock email app for a long while now (at least 4 months) and have had no problem changing from one rom to another with no real issues with email (just re-entering settings as per instructions in another thread) however....

    Last night I decided to give the Baseband C_01.3E.03P update a go and after reactivation, restarting, etc -- BOOM -- now YMAIL says "Setup could not finish - Username or password incorrect"

    After several tries throughout the night and now this morning I took my wife's Droid without the Baseband C_01.3E.03P update and - voila it still works perfectly with my username and password.

    I have tried loading a couple different roms but to no avail. Thoughts?


    (Addition)

    After continuing my search I found some new settings that have worked successfully.
    I tried it just a few minutes ago with new instructions, and it worked for me. Choose IMAP as the protocol, not POP3, and then try to use these settings:

    Incoming settings
    Email address: yourname@yahoo.com
    Username: yourname@yahoo.com
    Password: ******
    IMAP server: android.imap.mail.yahoo.com
    Security type: SSL
    Server port: 993

    Click "Next" and it will bring you to the next page of settings:

    Outgoing server settings
    [X] Login required
    Username: yourname@yahoo.com
    Password: ******
    SMTP server: android.smtp.mail.yahoo.com
    Security type: SSL
    Server port: 465

    Hope this helps!
     

    Advertisement

    vry5 likes this.
  2. Decus22

    Decus22 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    164
    13
    38
    Those who can't do?
    Oklahoma
    I was just about to ask which settings you were trying to use. Glad to here its all working now.

    hopfuly and one else having troubles will find this first......:D
     
  3. gregg098

    gregg098 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    44
    2
    16
    Using the stock email app on 2.1, yahoo uses the android imap servers with no special setup, but the yahoo/android imap servers do not work with wifi. You have to be on 3G.
     

Share This Page

Loading...