1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

You can turn off HTC Sense!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nMIK-3, May 13, 2010.

  1. nMIK-3

    nMIK-3 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    53
    18
    18
    I never liked HTC Sense and while for many people this is a plus addition in HTC Evo for others it was just a pure pain and nonfunctional.

    I am glad that I found this today, a proof that you can turn HTC Sense off and experience HTC Evo in an original Android theme.

    Now HTC just give me a GSM/WCDMA version of it with Amoled display and I am sold :)


    Enjoy

    YouTube - HTC EVO allows you to turn off Sense UI
     

    Advertisement

    KARbabee, jgangsta, VGPOP and 9 others like this.
  2. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Awesome! Thanks for posting this. This was one of the questions I had placed in the main EVO Speculation thread. Since I'm not familiar with Android and as much as I hate TouchFlo 3D, I was hoping you'd be able to do this in the event that I didn't like the Sense UI.
     
  3. TuNeCedeMalis

    TuNeCedeMalis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    35
    6
    16
    This is great news. Though I'm very eager to see what the SenseUI experience will be like, I'm happy to know that I will have the option to disable it.
     
  4. Android 17

    Android 17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    575
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    575
    176
    113
    Does this mean it should theoretically be easier to get a custom rom of Froyo when it comes out sans Sense?
     
  5. ogrenator

    ogrenator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    294
    48
    43
    highly doubt it its still through htc and they seem to take a little longer.....if by custom you mean flash a whole new rom that someone cooked up? then it makes no difference what so ever...you just gotta root the bad boy
     
  6. reallynotnick

    reallynotnick Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    300
    67
    53
    While I am most likely going to use Sense, the option is great as it appeals to everyone.
     
  7. Eguy

    Eguy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    485
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010

    Mar 28, 2010
    485
    64
    53
    Inside your monitor.
    I love Sense, but I know people buy the Nexus One over the Desire because of the lack of Sense. Good to know the EVO has both!
     
  8. Berner

    Berner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    316
    112
    68
    Chicago, IL
    Interesting find. Surprised this is possible since the Incredible lacks the option. I was under the impression that the two phones ran basically the same OS and Sense overlay. Obviously not.
     
  9. rockman1117

    rockman1117 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    58
    9
    16
    That's probably because Verizon is still stuck trying to lock people into certain experiences...they'll probably be a update or something in the future that will let you turn off Sense on the Incredible.
     
  10. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Nexus one launcher as well. Nice.
     
  11. zombdroid

    zombdroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    628
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    628
    97
    78
    Search for Brains
    Raccoon City
    To those wanting to turn off Sense? Why? Have you ever used it? It is a positive, not a negative. The animation are kickass and the widgets are 2nd to none.

    When you get your EVO, use Sense for 1 week, then shut it down. You will quickly turn it back on.
     
  12. legacy

    legacy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    564
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    564
    99
    78
    Systems Administrator
    Aurora, CO
    Sense is one of the reasons I'm interested in an HTC Android phone. Not very likely that I'm going to turn it off, but nice that I could.
     
  13. clickclack

    clickclack Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    119
    19
    38
    All about options, I'm excited to give Sense a try and will most likely stick with it but it's GREAT to have the option to turn it off.
     
  14. apollooff320

    apollooff320 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    105
    28
    43
    you can turn off Sense on all the HTC Android phones now. I did by mistake with my HTC Hero and had to find a way to get it back. Phone is ugly with default.
     
  15. hitekalex

    hitekalex Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    108
    18
    38
    Chicago, USA
    Sense just adds bloat and their widgets are a battery hog.. I have used both and prefer clean stock 2.1 to Sense. So it's great that this option is being offered!
     
  16. GeneralPatton

    GeneralPatton Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    213
    38
    63
    Male
    NYS Clerk
    New York
    While I applaud the option, I personally like the Sense UI so when I get my EVO, in that regard, I'm leaving it as-is.
     
  17. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Sense's background is from TouchFlo 3D, which I can't stand. People have told me that Sense UI is WAY different, but I don't know yet because this'll be my first android phone.

    I just like having the option in the event that Sense UI annoys me similarly to how TouchFlo3D started to annoy me. If it doesn't, I'll keep it on.
     
  18. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,584
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,584
    220
    143
    That's what I was thinking since it's thought that this phone will get the Froyo update some time within 6 weeks of release (mid-July). Can't see that even being a possibility unless 1) they've already been working on Froyo but just couldn't get it done by release or 2) they set it up so that Froyo and other updates could be done without conflict with Sense.

    Wonder if it means turn off Sense, download Froyo, and then get Sense update from Sprint or HTC?
     
  19. custangro

    custangro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    54
    3
    16
    Yes I have and I love it.

    But it's about choice not about what's better...

    I want the CHOICE :)

    -C
     
  20. ZombieRace

    ZombieRace Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    14
    3
    36
    Though, this video begs the question:

    How do you turn it off to begin with?
     
    VGPOP likes this.
  21. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Judging from my past experience with TouchFlo3D, there was a radial button in the menu settings area of WinMo 6.5 that you could uncheck and TouchFlo3D would turn off. From the video, it seems like turning Sense UI off would be even easier (I'm assuming from a settings menu somewhere).
     
  22. wndrshwzn

    wndrshwzn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    67
    12
    38
    Military Communications
    florida
    go to youtube and look at the MANY reviews of sense ui, then look at vanilla android-its boring-lol
    ...i'll try the evo both ways, but i know for a fact that i will like sense better because the wifey has a samsung moment and i tried the hero -much more intuitive.
     
  23. acp

    acp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    996
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    996
    71
    78
    I used Sense and Vanilla Android on my Hero and each time I went back to Sense..but, having the option makes me feel like I'm in control ;)
     
  24. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,091
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    2,091
    665
    213
    Male
    ELP Engineer @ National Instruments
    Austin, TX
    same way he enabled sense... hit home or whatever and then select default and choose android home
     
  25. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Yup. Now that most of the information has been announced, I will be looking at a lot of videos to see the difference between the two.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...