1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General You need to format the disk in drive F: before you can use it?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ahmeddar, Jan 26, 2014.

  1. ahmeddar

    ahmeddar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014

    Jan 26, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    Hi Everyone. I Am Using Samsung Galaxy S5830. Yesterday, I Was Using It And Suddenly An Alert Popped Up. That Said, Format Your SD Card. I Attached It With My Laptop Using Card Reader Device. The Same Problem Was There. A Box Popped Up And It Says, "You need to format the disk in drive F: before you can use it". I Even Tried To Format It But Was Unable To Format It. I Really Don't Want To Lose My Data. Need Your Help Guys. Thanks In Advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,920
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,920
    4,919
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Welcome to Android Forums. This thread was moved to the forum dedicated to this phone.

    ... Thom
     
  3. balachis

    balachis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    31
    1
    36
    Male
    Freeware :P
    Malaysia
    Hi there, search and download minitool partition wizard.
    Just want you to check your SD's partition there.
    Is it using Fat32 or ext2 / 3 / 4 ?
    1 more i need some info of your sd card. size and class of it
     
  4. ahmeddar

    ahmeddar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014

    Jan 26, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks Balachis.
    In Minitool Partition Wizard, Under Partition Menu, Its Showing This :* (Symbol)...
    And Under File System, Its Showing Unallocated. As I Know, It Was Fat32 Before.
    Its Capacity Is 4gb. Which Is Now Showed As 45.81MB In Minitool Partition Wizard.
    Its From Class 6.
     
  5. PaulS

    PaulS Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013

    Sep 24, 2013
    263
    71
    53
    Male
    Gingerbread 2.3.6 rooted.

    I've sometimes had this happen with my GT5830i and my 32 gig SD(Class 10) card which I have partitioned into a large 1st primary and a second smaller 500 meg second primary partition.The data on the 1st partition never loses it's data but the 2nd partition can lose it's format and then I have to re-format the second partition using EaseUS partition manager or Minitool Partition manager.

    I've noticed it does this sometimes after using the USB cable to transfer data so only use that for big data back-up.

    As I keep a copy of the SD card on my PC/Laptop I never lose any data doing this.

    If it keeps doing it it may be prudent to make a small 2nd partition that we know may get lost but does not contain any data in the hope it prevents main data loss.


    read this as well,

    How to Increase Internal Memory Samsung Galaxy Ace & Install A2SD - Android Advices

    HTH :)
     
  6. ahmeddar

    ahmeddar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014

    Jan 26, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    @Paul, Thanks. But This All I'll Do After My SD Card Will Work Properly. Because, At This Time Its Not Working(The Problem I've Explained Above). Even Unable To Format(In Both Laptop & Mobile) It.
    So, The Problem Still Prevails..
     
  7. balachis

    balachis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    31
    1
    36
    Male
    Freeware :P
    Malaysia
    Hi, sorry for the delays. I've been busy with work + business here.
    For the minitool software, sometimes it delayed and didn't detect the sd.
    Try to open the minitool 1st before plug in your sd card. If it still can't detect your sd, I think it's time to change to a new one then.
    Try to search online for recovery programs i.e. EASUS recovery & etc. to recover your lost data.
    Good luck there ahmed :D ;)
     
  8. ahmeddar

    ahmeddar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014

    Jan 26, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks Balachis For Your Time. Same Problem Again In Minitool Software.
    Do I've To Remove SD Card Before Using Easus Recovery Software? Because, It Is Unable To Detect SD Card... Need Help Again....
     
  9. balachis

    balachis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    31
    1
    36
    Male
    Freeware :P
    Malaysia
    Erm.. Sorry for the late replies.. been busy here..
    Well as I look into your problem, I think your SD might be damaged..
    If I were you, I'll try to reformat it to fat32 and then use EASUS to try recover but that is if it can still be recovered..
    I'm a beginner myself so you might consider to search more on the net before doing what i do..
    Good luck
     
  10. ahmeddar

    ahmeddar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014

    Jan 26, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    Yes. That's Why I Am Still Searching. I Think Same That It Might Be Damaged. Well, Thanks For Your Time. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...