1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support You Need to Register Your SGS2 as a 4G Device w/ AT&T To Get HSPA+ Speeds

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jw nyc, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. jw nyc

    jw nyc Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    94
    6
    16
    I just confirmed with multiple AT&T customer service reps as well as another SGS2 owner that you have to be on a 4G plan in order to get HSPA+ speeds with a device on their network. That means if you switched from a 3G device to the SGS2 without switching your plan, you are still only using your device on the 3G network.

    To make things more complicated, the SGS2 does not have a recognized IMEI in AT&T's system so the reps don't have the ability to move you to a 4G plan. One workaround is to use a friend's IMEI from a 4G device to put in AT&T's billing system (it won't affect your friend's service) but this is more than a pain in the a$$.

    I don't know of another workaround and wanted to know if anyone else has one before I get my device tomorrow. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

    jeffkoe likes this.
  2. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,491
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,491
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    yeah, all of what you're saying is very true. i used my wits to fool them. i'd heard previously that they had specific sims for 4G devices versus 3G (not true) and that's what caused me to tell a little fib when i went.

    all you have to do is tell them that you bought an Infuse 4G from someone (i said this phone simply because they have the exact same radios regarding category HSDPA/HSUPA). the guy didn't actually end up using an IMEI from an Infuse but instead used one from a Inspire because that was his personal device.

    i have no issues and get H+ up in the status bar :)
    so no worries mate. just tell them that and you'll be good to go. you don't even need to take your phone up there with you (i didn't).
     
  3. jw nyc

    jw nyc Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    94
    6
    16
    Two things...just b/c you see the H+ doesn't mean you're actually connecting at the full AT&T HSPA+ speed so make sure you have the 4G data plan. The other thing is that I'm not sure why AT&T's system would have recognized an IMEI from a Thunderbolt (or why it even had one to begin with) being that the device is a CDMA Verizon device. You sure that's the right device?
     
  4. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,491
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,491
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    my apologies. i didn't mean Thunderbolt :p i meant Inspire. all HTC devices look the same haha.

    is there a way to tell if it's a 4G data plan specifically?
    on the sheet i have, it says DATAPRO :thinking:

    edit: nevermind. i just went ahead and set up my account online. needed to do it anyway.
    i found it by doing the following:
    logged in. then, up top:
    myAT&T>wireless>rate plan>scroll to bottom and click on Add/Manage features

    under Web, Text & More
    you should see smartphone bundles and it says "DataPro 2GB for 4G Smartphones" :)

    so, again, when you go into AT$T, just tell them you bought one of their 4G phones (Inspire, Atrix, Infuse) from someone else. that's all that's required.
     
  5. carlislegeorge

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I am on an grandfathered unlimited worldwide data plan for $60/month. If I register my S2 as a 4G device, then I assume I am substantively reducing my data plan? By the way, I can still manage to regularly get 2+MB download and 1+MB upload on AT&T as is.
     
  6. jw nyc

    jw nyc Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    94
    6
    16
    Yea but those are regular 3G (HSPA) speeds.
     
  7. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,491
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,491
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    yeah i think by switching to 4G that AT$T would make you change to one of the current data plans. i'm assuming, of course. you may be able to persuade them not to if your contract is almost up or something. big maybe on that.
     
  8. mattism78

    mattism78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    133
    21
    38
    Vero Beach, Florida
    What type of speeds are you seeing? I'm on a regular 3G card and have seen almost 5mb/s down. Everything I've read (and experienced) shows there is no difference. This is the first I've heard of this and I'm on several development forums.
     
  9. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,491
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,491
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    i keep meaning to test this while out and about haha. i'll download speedtest right now (it's done already heh) and check when i go out tonight and have a full signal. will report back tomorrow!
     
  10. edward90

    edward90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    106
    26
    43
    I've been using the Samsung galaxy s2 in the states for about 3 week..I am on AT&T and my previous phone was a Motorola matrix ..I am on 4 g ..I never reg this phone..just popped the sim in and go..so I don't know what you guys are talking about..speed have been about 7 m down and about 1 m up..
     
  11. Jeremy81

    Jeremy81 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    87
    17
    18
    Oklahoma
    On standard smartphone plan here and getting up to 4.5mbps down. My AT&T rep on the phone insisted it wasn't necessary to have a 4G plan.
     
  12. edward90

    edward90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    106
    26
    43

    Totally agree with Rep. These other guys are nuts..
     
  13. mattism78

    mattism78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    133
    21
    38
    Vero Beach, Florida
    Hit almost 6mb/s down last night. Standard 3G card. From what I've read 4G cards are only necessary for LTE. Might want to recheck your source.

    Also I've asked on other forums about this topic. There are people using the dumbphone data plans ($15 a month) and they're getting the same high speeds.
     
  14. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,491
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,491
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    yeah i got 2.2mb/s down and 1mb/s up. that's no where near "4G". only tried a few different servers. had a full signal but i was inside.
     
  15. colonels

    colonels Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    44
    4
    16
    here in atlanta i was using my expansys ordered unlocked samsung gs2 with my iphone4 mini sim card wedged in there and i can confirm that my speeds were avg 3mbps down and 1mbps up

    i just went into store and gave them my IME serial number off my gs2 and their system recognized it as a 4g type device and they were able to switch me to the new 4g data plans that the infuse are on

    they also gave me a new full sized sim card that is 4g specific for the infuse

    my avg download speeds are now 5mbps but upload still around 1mbps

    either the new sim or the new data plan or both did make a difference, i suggest you all do the same and see

    oh and my ping is 69ms not bad!
     
  16. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,491
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,491
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    i specifically asked if there were different sim cards for 4G vs 3G devices and the guy said no.
     
  17. colonels

    colonels Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    44
    4
    16
    It may not be a special sim but the guy at the store told me it was the sim they were putting in all the Infuse 4g phones

    you have to give them your IME number off the phone for them to be able to add 4g data plans rather than generic smartphone data plans, this may be just a labeling detail but at least it get the right label

    i tested my speeds and now i am avg the 2.5-3k downloands again :(

    maybe i just had a speedy burst right after i installed new sim
     
  18. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,491
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,491
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    no, you don't have to give them your IME number off the phone...
    i've already previously said how i went about doing it at the AT$T store and i confirmed that i had a 4G data plan. that's all you can do really. i'm sure you can give them your IME number off of the SGS2, but i wouldn't risk it because most employees at carrier stores don't know anything about our phone and may argue with you or think you're wrong about what you're talking about. just safer to say you have a 4G device, specifically the Infuse since it has the exact same bands.

    and yes, i figured you prob did get fast bursts at first. could be the server you used, could be cellular traffic was low when you did it before. AT$T's network sucks when it comes to HSPA+ down/up speeds but i knew this before making my purchase so it doesn't bother me.

    as long as your data plan says 4G, then you are good to go.
     
  19. greggebhardt

    greggebhardt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    671
    56
    78
    Owner
    Jacksonville, FL
    I pull my 3G sim card out of my Blackberry all the time and put it in my SG2 and it works great. Downloads and uploads seem to be much faster on the SG2 than my 9780 Blackberry.
     
  20. jw nyc

    jw nyc Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    94
    6
    16
    That's most likely b/c the GS2 is much more powerful than the Blackberry. You definitely need a 4G plan if you want the HSPA+ speeds and it has nothing to do with AT&T's SIM cards (all 3G & 4G cards are the same). Your phone will still work with a 3G plan but it won't be AS FAST as it could be.
     
  21. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,491
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,491
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    hey guys, so i'm finally seeing more activity over at xda regarding our device. this means less posting here for myself and a root for my phone is certainly on the horizon. seeing some really cool things, like a new Camera.apk where someone upped the bit rate and audio. but something else i stumbled upon... new APN settings for better down speeds! here's the link if you're interested FIX for AT&T SGS2 Data Speed Issue's (Correct APN Settings) - xda-developers
    please note this is for AT&T***
     
  22. colonels

    colonels Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    44
    4
    16
    ok i can confirm that ATT does throttle their speeds if you are not on one of these plans:

    HSPA+ 4G 2GB data plan
    or
    Smartphone Personal Data plan with 4G SOC code : HSDPPB (you can only have this option if you were grandfathered in with their unlimited data plans AND did not change it)

    otherwise you will be redirected to cingular APN that throttle speeds under 7.5mbps

    only problem now is getting the system to offer you these data plans... need an IME number off an Infuse or Inspire otherwise the system will not offer you these data plans and will refer you to generic smartphone data plan

    there is no 4GB data plan that operates on 4G speeds yet
     
  23. legaltender

    legaltender Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    17
    0
    15
    new here, just got the phone last week.....these are my speeds - Download=3137kbps Upload=1654kbps ping=134ms.

    So my question is, I am still using my 3G simcard from AT&T that I swapped from my blackberry. I have a $50 unlimited web/text plan and if I switch plans I believe I will lose it. Do you guys think I would benefit from switching plans to the infuse 4G plan.
     
  24. greggebhardt

    greggebhardt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    671
    56
    78
    Owner
    Jacksonville, FL
    I went back to talk to AT&T and they replaced my SIM card with a 4G SIM card. We do not have AT&T 4G in Jacksonville, but she insisted that when they do I would be ready to go now. I have happy with the speed now, any more would just be gravy!
     
  25. shark974

    shark974 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    209
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    209
    23
    38
    Any of these download speeds are much better than Veri$ons 3G speeds anyway.

    This thread just confused me a lot though. LOL. Typical internet, half say one thing half say another.
     

Share This Page

Loading...