1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Youtube app and HQ

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lexluthor, May 29, 2010.

  1. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    I was following the now closed thread on the youtube player pulled from the EVO.

    People posted that the advantage was you could default to HQ.

    But, I'm confused. I got my dinc yesterday and when I play a youtube video in my stock player, I start out in HQ automatically.

    Do I have an updated stock player or am I missing something?

    I have v 1.5.20.
     

    Advertisement

  2. clxa38

    clxa38 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Hmmm i don't have that version. Anyway you can extract it and post it as an apk?
     
  3. ramcharger1979

    ramcharger1979 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    250
    13
    58
    Managment
    Boise, ID
    I have this version on my phone also and it does default to HQ on wifi but not on the 3G.
     
  4. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    Same thing for me. I didn't notice that before.

    Is this not the version that came with the first batch of incredible's?

    I have no idea how to make an .apk out of something installed on the phone, but if someone wants to walk me through it, I can.

    HQ over Wifi, but not 3G as the default works for me.
     
  5. ramcharger1979

    ramcharger1979 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    250
    13
    58
    Managment
    Boise, ID
    I got my Incredible from the first batch. This version of You tube works great.
     
  6. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    So then why were the people in that Youtube/EVO thread raving about that version. The only change is that you have the option to default to HQ over 3G? I thought people were also excited about it defaulting to HQ over Wifi, but that was already there, I guess.

    Seems like some people reported other problems with that file, so I'm fine with the way this one works.
     
  7. ramcharger1979

    ramcharger1979 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    250
    13
    58
    Managment
    Boise, ID
    Yeah it messes the Widget up and in my case it was eating battery so I uninstalled. I like the stock version just fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...