1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

"YouTube has stopped unexpectedly" while using Pandora

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by TJFeeniX, Jan 12, 2014.

  1. TJFeeniX

    TJFeeniX Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013

    Nov 21, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    Male
    I rooted my phone last month and used Autostarts to disable some seemingly unnecessary services. Ever since then, whenever I'm using the Pandora app, I repeatedly get the message, "The application YouTube (process com.google.android.youtube) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again."

    To troubleshoot, I went through my Autostarts list and re-enabled the YouTube services and Pandora services I had disabled, to no avail. Today I uninstalled Pandora and did the "clear all data" first, then rebooted and reinstalled Pandora. Now, after doing that, when I start Pandora, I get the same error message, but I keep getting it after closing Pandora (which is a new behavior). If I manually end the Pandora service after closing Pandora, this error message stops showing up.

    What can I do to fix this and still keep using Pandora?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Re-enable ALL the services you disabled. Reboot. That should fix it. Then disable the services one at a time, rebooting each time, and running Pandora. When you get the message, that's one of the services you shouldn't disable. Keep going, there may be more.
     
    TJFeeniX likes this.
  3. TJFeeniX

    TJFeeniX Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013

    Nov 21, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    Male
    Wow, that's going to be slow going, but I'll try. Do you think a hot reboot will be good enough, or does it have to be a hard reboot?
     
  4. TJFeeniX

    TJFeeniX Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013

    Nov 21, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    Male
    Ok, I've gone through the Autostarts list and set all services back to their default state and rebooted, and I'm still getting the error with Pandora. At least it isn't appearing after I close Pandora, so something changed.
     
  5. TJFeeniX

    TJFeeniX Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013

    Nov 21, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    Male
    ...and now I'm getting the error as soon as boot-up was finished. What is going on??? I have AdAway installed and I disabled it, and that still hasn't fixed it.
     
  6. dibblebill

    dibblebill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,105
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    2,105
    360
    183
    Male
    Educator
    Raleigh, NC
    Phone and Android version?

    EDIT: Does the Youtube App itself work?
     
  7. TJFeeniX

    TJFeeniX Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013

    Nov 21, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    Male
    ***Correction: I realized that I had only set the system services back to their default states. However, some of the "default" states (as listed in Autostarts) are *disabled*. I went through and enabled everything, even those that are supposed to be disabled (according to Autostarts). Even after that, I'm still getting the error BEFORE starting Pandora! :( I don't know what else I can do, and now I think I must have messed something up.
     
  8. TJFeeniX

    TJFeeniX Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013

    Nov 21, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    Male
    Yes, YouTube works. This is a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim with 2.3.
     
  9. TJFeeniX

    TJFeeniX Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013

    Nov 21, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    Male
    So problem solved. I uninstalled the more intrusive apps (including Autostarts) I had installed, plus all the updates to the system apps, then reinstalled those updates. After that it worked fine, and I was able to reinstall the other apps I wanted. Weird...
     
  10. dibblebill

    dibblebill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,105
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    2,105
    360
    183
    Male
    Educator
    Raleigh, NC
    Strange. Can't say I know what caused it at all, sadly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...