1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

Support youtube stopped working?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TheFrigz, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    18

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    My YouTube app used to work fine, now I always get "error playing, touch to retry". Using youtube on the internet didnt work either. What gives?
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    18

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    hmm it seems to work when im on wifi..maybe the 3g was just bad where i was..both times..
     
  3. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member
    38

    Mine was playing 3d videos in 2d, i rebooted my phone And YouTube seems seems to work okay now
     
  4. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    18

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    It's never working when I'm on 3g only on WiFi, even when I'm in good 3g areas..any ideas?
     
  5. marctronixx

    Moderator
    623

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,721
    3,546
    623
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    other than soft reset/battery pull, you need to get sprint on it. could be a local issue to you with the 3G service. could be an outage or your data profile could be in need of a refresh.

    also , did you look at the tyranny proxy thread? if so did you make those adjustments?
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  6. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    18

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    i have not viewed that thread, nor do i seem to be able to find it :(
     
  7. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    18

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    I rebooted my phone and tried a prl and profile update with no luck. Haven't tried a battery pull yet. It's not a local issue because YouTube works fine on my moms Evo 4g. Any ideas, or shoul I just call sprint?
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  8. marctronixx

    Moderator
    623

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,721
    3,546
    623
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    sprint. it could still be an issue with your profile on sprints end.
     
  9. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    18

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    Ok. Just seems strange because it seems to be only YouTube that's having issues, other 3g functions seem to be working fine. For instance, I'm writing this post on 3g. But ill call sprint and see what happens.
     
  10. marctronixx

    Moderator
    623

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,721
    3,546
    623
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    unless you get sprint on the phone to rule out that avenue, we all will still be grasping at straws. just get them involved, have them reset your profile. they may also know of a problem that we do not know.. just a good rule of thumb.

    it that bears no fruit, it could be an issues on the phone.

    can you stream sprint tv?
    what about nsacar (if you have it loaded still)?

    does this youtube issue happen on wifi and 3G/4G?

    EDIT: http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-3d/361521-streaming-media-tyrrany-sprint-proxies.html

    thats the proxy thread i FORGOT to add earlier.. :( forgive me?? :eek:
     
  11. thorkon

    thorkon Member
    6

    Jun 17, 2010
    9
    2
    6
    Happening to me also...i can watch youtube in the browser but not in the app
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  12. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    18

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    finally got a chance to call sprint. they said they didnt have an option to reset my streaming like they did on the Evo 4G because apparently not very many people have complained about 3G streaming issues on the 3vo so HTC hasn't put it out as a troubleshooting option. she told me to take it in to the sprint store for a diagnostics test so we'll see what happens.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  13. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member
    163

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    Have you tried going into the app details for the Youtube app and clearing out the data and cache? This approach ends up helping a lot of apps in trouble.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  14. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    18

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    Yes, I did that.

    also random question, but if it turns out it's my phone and i have to get a new one, will they allow me to transfer apps that i already downloaded? i got some stuff that was only free for a few days or whatever and i'd really rather not lose it.
     
  15. atg284

    atg284 Well-Known Member
    73

    Jun 21, 2011
    201
    77
    73
    Logistics
    Ohio
    My 3VO was not streaming Youtube on 3G at all. I recently did the proxy fix above and streaming is excellent now.

    Just tonight I had to drive across town and decided to test streaming with a long youtube video and it didn't stop once! :D I then tested the XDA netflix app with a video and it didn't stop once either!:D:D
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  16. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    18

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    So should I give the proxy fix a go, or should I go for the diagnostics test? then again the answer to this question partially comes from the answer to my last question, i dont want to lose my apps if i have to get a new phone..
     
  17. marctronixx

    Moderator
    623

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,721
    3,546
    623
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    lets not lose focus on your thread here.

    there is another thread that speaks on syncing your information. in short, you wont lose any personal data and your apps will be in the app store as long as you have your info backed up to your primary gmail e-dress and you have the backup option synced. again there is a thread on this. if you do those thing you will be ok.

    do the proxy trick. if it does not work you can restore the values.
     
  18. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    18

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    I'm sorry, but I have difficulty finding these threads sometimes... I'll give the proxy fix a try. and some of my apps aren't from the android market, they're from the amazon appstore, which confuses me.. But whatever ill figure it out.
     
  19. marctronixx

    Moderator
    623

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,721
    3,546
    623
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    if you remove the amazon app you lose those apps you got from that store. if you need help locating something or if you need direct personal help, by all means hit me offline.. im happy to help.
     
  20. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    18

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    k well i called sprint for my MSL code and they wouldnt give it to me, instead he redirected me to another tech support person so i thought, alright i'll try troubleshooting again. this person had me perform a data reset (giving me my MSL in the process). unfortunately, after my data reset, it wasn't just youtube that was an issue. nearly everything on 3G suddenly was having problems loading, and performing the proxy fix at this point was too little too late. this is blowing my mind :|

    edit-called again, told this new person about how the person before had me factory reset my data and how it messed up my entire 3G. she eventually troubleshot me through to guess what? the proxy fix. back when i started.

    i'm gonna have to take it in to the sprint store now, which pisses me off because i don't know how to get my amazon apps to transfer over.
     
  21. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    18

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    Ok i took it into the sprint store, they said it was a known issue with the 3vo and that they've had multiple people call in about it. I found this hard to believe because it seems like no one here is having the same issue. Not satisfied with their answer, i once again attempted the proxy fix out of desperation, and it seems to have finally done the trick! I will report back if any other problems should arise.
     
  22. viper2510

    viper2510 New Member
    5

    Jul 30, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    The proxy fix is the solution for this problem. I had exactly the same problem and the proxy change fixed it right away. I told sprint about it over the phone and they documented my tech ticket and said they would tell customers in the future with the same problem about the proxy solution.
     
  23. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member
    38

    It's been prolly 2 weeks since it stopped working on my phone. I don't know what's going and if everyone else is having this same problem, but I noticed that when I try to play videos using 4g, YouTube won't play any videos at all. It just times out and gives me an error. It works when I use WiFi and 3g connections, but quality is kinda bad, I mean my 3g and WiFi are pretty much the same speed, like 1.something MB/s. Everything else works fine using 4g. Is there a fix for this problem? E
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  24. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    313

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Clear the cache on youtube in Menu button > Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > All and scroll to youtube (should be close to bottom) and clear cache on it. See if that helps.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  25. marctronixx

    Moderator
    623

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,721
    3,546
    623
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    TheNatural85 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...