1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General youtube

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dennychimes, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. dennychimes

    dennychimes Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Any suggestions on how to fix the YouTube app I have tried turning on my WiFi but most videos still won't play help
     

    Advertisement

  2. Charlie81

    Charlie81 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    I found That if you just keep selecting the same video after it tells you it can't play, it works more or less.
     
  3. xx DROiD ERiS xx

    xx DROiD ERiS xx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    180
    6
    36
    Toyota Service Writer
    Jerseyy
    ^ this worked for me as well
     
  4. heyjoojoo

    heyjoojoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    203
    1
    56
    that's ridiculous! Why does that happen?
     
  5. eddieg

    eddieg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    60
    2
    16
    Thats funny i just noticed this same problem on mine tonight its ridiculous.
     
  6. Gevis

    Gevis Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    314
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    314
    15
    38
    It's a known problem on almost everyone's Eris. The youtube app broke after the first update and wasn't fixed with the second.
     
  7. Haywire

    Haywire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    308
    1
    56
    hmm do we have another napster here hmm
     
  8. dragonbro

    dragonbro Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    262
    25
    43
    Bay Area, CA
    I can get mine to work most of the time when on WiFi (at home) in normal quality mode. I can get it to play when using network some of the time, but that is when I have most of the trouble. High quality just won't play at all........it just times out way too fast.
     
  9. mattjphoto

    mattjphoto Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    79
    18
    18
    I use my browser for youtube videos...m.youtube.com
    Ever since I have started using it I have yet to have the failed screen come up.
     
  10. heyjoojoo

    heyjoojoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    203
    1
    56
    That doesn't work for me.
     
  11. Romparoo

    Romparoo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    615
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    615
    74
    98
    Investment Banker
    Arizona
    I just ran into the same problems. I tried doing the tip suggested in the Eris Tips Thread and switch the video to HD. The video started playing and when I clicked switch to HD it stopped playing and now I can not get any video to play.
     
  12. BoulderAndroidFan

    BoulderAndroidFan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    296
    18
    58
    Multimedia
    West
    Yeah it's a major frustration for me too. Youtube videos were coming through ok on the stock browser, but never on the Youtube app. I've been trying Steel browser lately but videos don't play on it well through youtube or in the htc flash player. Really frustrating when you think that Google owns both youtube and androidand should be able to come up with a way to make them work.
     
  13. Romparoo

    Romparoo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    615
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    615
    74
    98
    Investment Banker
    Arizona
    I just found a thread from a google search on google forum. Someone said to use the WiFi (like DragonBro). I just played a video without a problem. It said it was in HD but it didn't appear to be...my friend has an Eris and played a video for me that looked crystal clear, so perhaps the video I was watching just can't be played in HD.


    Edit Update: The video I watched was in HD, watching another video in HD that is a lot more clear and better looking.

    I hope the app works better when the new update comes out because we can't always be connected to WiFi.
     
  14. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    +1

    This works great. Just use Browser.
     

Share This Page

Loading...