1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Z4 root problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by The Prodigy, May 1, 2011.

  1. The Prodigy

    The Prodigy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    64
    11
    18
    I tried rooting my friends ascend but every time I clicked permanent root it would load forever then restart without being rooted, any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. -Lulu

    -Lulu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    284
    26
    43
    Gamestop Employee
    California
    Once it restarts it means its rooted .-.
     
  3. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    how have you checked the root?

    if you are 100% sure it hasn't rooted then you need to redownload the apk. i have a copy on the ultimate ascend guide/
     
  4. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    when u open z4root after reboot what options does it have? If rooted they will be re-root and un-root.
     
  5. jaynwk

    jaynwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    i rooted my ascend (metro) i had the CM7 mod but it was glitchy camera would not work with apps line scanlife and google goggles, i could not a sign ringtones so i re-did all and still the same issue so i decided to co back to the metro settings and just remove the metro apps but now z4root will not work for me i keep getting errors, any other way to get tis done without z4root? or how can i get z4root working on my phone again?
     
  6. jaynwk

    jaynwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    16
    0
    15



    i rooted my ascend (metro) i had the CM7 mod but it was glitchy camera would not work with apps line scanlife and google goggles, i could not a sign ringtones so i re-did all and still the same issue so i decided to co back to the metro settings and just remove the metro apps but now z4root will not work for me i keep getting errors, any other way to get tis done without z4root? or how can i get z4root working on my phone again? :thinking:
     
  7. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    All those problems are known. And the most commonly asked.

    But anyways Z4Root will only root 2.1. You need Gingerbreak to root 2.2

    Here: GingerBreak-v1.20.apk
     
  8. jaynwk

    jaynwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    thank you for the info i was able to root the phone but now titanium will not let me uninstall the metro apps or freeze them unless i pay for it, any other ideas?
     
  9. jaynwk

    jaynwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    16
    0
    15


    thank you for the info i was able to root the phone but now titanium will not let me uninstall the metro apps or freeze them unless i pay for it, any other ideas?
     
  10. jaynwk

    jaynwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    16
    0
    15

    is there a way to flash the phone without the glitch, where every thing works fine?
     
  11. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    The inability for the camera to work with apps and being able to assign individual ringtones for contacts still hasn't been fixed in CM7. There's not a lot anyone can do about them, and I haven't heard about anyone finding workarounds for them.
     
  12. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ
    I believe there are a couple free apps that can accomplish the same thing. I think Antek or something like that was one of them. Search the Market, or wait for someone else with a link.
     
  13. jaynwk

    jaynwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    can i flash my phone with gingerbreak using all the same steps that i did with z4root?
     
  14. jaynwk

    jaynwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    16
    0
    15


    i'm stuck i cant flash my phone again, when trying to fix permissions i get "An error occurred while attempting to run privileged commands" what now?

    this phone is to slow i need to flash it
     
  15. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    What are you running fix permissions for? If you are rooted now, flash the recovery and then reboot into recovery and flash a rom.
     
  16. jaynwk

    jaynwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    16
    0
    15

    i did that after, then i flashed and then the splash screen kept looping
     
  17. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Did you wipe and format everything before flashing?
     
  18. jaynwk

    jaynwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    yes i did
     
  19. jaynwk

    jaynwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    i'm using gingerbreak could that be the reason, z4 would not root my phone the 2nd time
     
  20. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Are you flashing in rom manager or are you doing it all yourself in CWR? It could be a broken download of the build. What build are you trying to flash? One of the new ones? 0912 or 0913? or an older one?
     
  21. jaynwk

    jaynwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    can you give me a step by step of what you did?
     
  22. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    I do it all in manually in Clockwork Recovery. Go here CM7-Ascend - Prepaid Android and download a rom of your choice. (I would go with the 0913 build since its 710mhz and you dont know if your phone can handle more yet) and download this gapps-gb-20110828-signed 7.2.zip Once they are downloaded reboot into recovery (Turn the phone off and while holding the send key and the volume up key tap the power and continue to hold the volume and send key until youre in clockwork recovery) wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache partition, go to advanced and wipe dalvik, then go to "mounts and storage" and format everything except the sd card. SD ext is okay but not the sd card. It will erase everything off your sd. Then go to "install zip from sd" then to "choose zip from sd" then select the rom and flash it. Then in the same place flash the gapps (the 2nd link I gave you) then hit your back key a couple times so you are on the main menu and go back to "advanced" and select "fix permissions" then hit your back key and select "Reboot system now" and youre done.... For now. After a couple reboots youll need to download and flash this. You dont have to do anything but flash it. MetrOFF-v1.3-MMS-GB-Edify-CM_ASOP-No_Roaming_indicator_Off_signed.zip


    For some odd reason I have a feeling you wiped the sd card.....
     
  23. jaynwk

    jaynwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    no i didnt do tat i have my files i just noticed i didnt do the fomat thing you just said i'll redo in a sec and let you know how it turned out
     
  24. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois

    No. z4root roots 2.1, Gingerbreak roots 2.2+. Rooting is just getting permission, there's nothing to "go bad." More than likely you got a bad download for your ROM. Download it again and flash again. Try a lazy version if it still doesn't work.
     
  25. jaynwk

    jaynwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    thats wussup, it works now. hope some new stuff comes out to fix the glitches
     

Share This Page

Loading...