1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Z4root on Optimus M Work?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AaronEmoBoi, May 29, 2011.

  1. AaronEmoBoi

    AaronEmoBoi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    88
    18
    18
    none yet still in school
    Riverview Florida
    Will Z4root root the lg optimus m? i tried it twice and it will not root idk if its a bad Z4root i have or what idk
     

    Advertisement

  2. ChazzMatt

    ChazzMatt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #143
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    623
    125
    93
    metro Atlanta area
    Depends on if you have Android 2.2 or 2.2.1 (or newer).

    Straight 2.2 will root with Z4. Newer versions you have to use a different rooter -- like 1-click Gingerbreak -- as the updates in the newer version of Android block that Z4 rooting hole.

    Your printed specs will say "2.2" but ignore those. To check which version of Android you REALLY have installed, you have to go to the settings/about phone/Android version.


    [​IMG]

    or you might have this:

    [​IMG]

    Gingerbreak reportedly works well on 2.2.1. See link above.
     
    hikarushirou likes this.
  3. pureds

    pureds Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    bingo! you rock!

    I bought my optimus M last night with 2.2.1 and was hitting issue after issue (unlike with my ascend) and this worked fast the first time. JUST REMEMBER TO RESTART AS DIRECTED IF YOU HAVE TRIED OTHER METHODS AS I DID.

    THANKS!!
     
  4. pureds

    pureds Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    bingo! you rock!

    I bought my optimus M last night with 2.2.1 and was hitting issue after issue (unlike with my ascend) and this worked fast the first time. JUST REMEMBER TO RESTART AS DIRECTED IF YOU HAVE TRIED OTHER METHODS AS I DID.

    THANKS!!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...