1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Zio Updates

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bob Maxey, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. Bob Maxey

    Bob Maxey Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    4,836
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    4,836
    806
    233
    I searched the web, I asked Mr. Google, I tried and failed.

    What the HELL is the Kyocera Update Tool and how is it used? I recieved several answers about this from their support people, and I just have a burning need to know.

    I was told by a member of a particular forum devoted to Android that when an update is released it will be pushed to my phone. Another person told me I need to Root my phone and install this or that. Another person told me that Rootong is to be done only by my dealer, another told me that Criuket is not planning a release of Froydo. I was told that the Zio is not n android phone.

    Any legitimate info, anyone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. timtek

    timtek Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    I don't know what the update tool is but the zio is indeed an android phone. Cricket has implied that they will be updating the os but I don't think they ever said if it was gonna be to froyo. The zio currently runs 1.6 so they might just be upgrading to 2.0. You can root the phone yourself, it has been done by one of the members of this forum. He used the one click rooting app I believe. I highly doubt cricket or any other carrier will root your phone for you.
     
  3. jcaf77

    jcaf77 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    kyocera has stated the 2.1 update is going to come out until early 2011 :(
     
  4. kahale

    kahale Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    255
    11
    38
    would be cool if someone could rip the 2.1 rom off of sprints zio version as it has 2.1 installed.
     
  5. sors

    sors Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Nov 20, 2010
    3
    1
    6
    I heard the sprint zio will have 2.2. But either way it'd be cool if we could rip the sprint version.
     
  6. wwwilly1986

    wwwilly1986 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    7
    1
    6
  7. tjhand

    tjhand Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Sales
    KC
    So does the Cricket Sanyo Zio update to OS Ver 2.1?
     
  8. blazedd

    blazedd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    Kyocera has told me February. Also using a Sprint ROM will brick your phone OR if you do get it booted it won't be able to communicate back to Cricket.
     
  9. Z3r0t0l0rEnCe

    Z3r0t0l0rEnCe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    5
    0
    5
  10. tmarr

    tmarr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    220
    15
    38
    Tucson, AZ
    Found the email about the ZIO coming out with 2.2.

     
  11. ajwmedia

    ajwmedia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    8
    0
    5
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...