1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Zte Avid Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TheCreepyGuy, Feb 14, 2014.

  1. TheCreepyGuy

    TheCreepyGuy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012

    Mar 8, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hey everyone.

    I just recieved an update for my Avid and I'm not sure if it'll get rid of my root or not. I also don't know what the update is about. If someone can give me a little info on what the update is I'll be highly thankful.
     

    Advertisement

  2. starxpilot

    starxpilot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    536
    61
    98
    Loss Prevention Agent
    Garland
    I logged back in to see if anything was new, it appears to be a minor update for ICS.

    Unfortunately, I cannot install it due to a 'Fatal Error 7', which I am going to assume it is because either I am rooted and/or because I have a custom recovery installed. Given there is very little talk of it, I am probably going to go ahead and not install it.
     
  3. rlugo29

    rlugo29 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    250
    11
    38
    New Port Richey, Fl
    I just tried the update but got the same error. I'm rooted as well. Also I used my root checker after attempting the upgrade and I'm still rooted.
     
  4. miallali

    miallali Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    18
    2
    16
    Dallas, TX
    I just updated it and it seems to be SW ICS_N9120V1.0.0B20. It apparently has some important security updates for ICS.

    No root on my phone when I did it.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. ltmcmullen

    ltmcmullen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013

    Jan 3, 2013
    3
    0
    25
    Male
    Computer Lab Tech
    Michigan
    Hello everyone,

    I have recently reset my phone to factory (including SD formats.):thumb:

    I chose to encrypt my phone this time, no problems.:thumb:

    Re-rooted phone, no problems.:thumb:

    Installed most of my old apps and google accounts stuffs, no problem.:thumb:

    Problem::thumbdown:

    I checked for system update (currently running ICS_N9120V1.0.0B19) and the system shows there is an update (which i am guessing is the update mentioned in this thread) and begins to download with success, then restarts phone. I get to the screen for upgrade by holding the vol up button,
    The following line appear on the screen under the menu selection section:

    Finding update package....
    Opening update package...
    Verifying update package...
    Installing update...
    Verifying current system...
    assert failed: apply_patch_check("/system/build.prop", "e5e...", "3af...")
    E:Error in /cache/fota/update.zip
    (Status 7)
    Installation aborted.​

    So, I select apply update from cache. Navigate to the fota folder and select update.zip and get the same results as above. After rebooting the system I get the toaster message

    FOTA ERROR.
    Please visit the closest MetroPCS store for technical assistance.

    Now, being that my phone is rooted, I am reluctant to visit MPCS. Any help and/or suggestions would be appreciated.​

    Here is what I am thinking

    1. Being that my phone is encrypted there is a hash error issue going on
    2. The update.zip needs to be uncompressed in order to install it.
    3. I really don't know what the heck I am doing
    4. This update is totally not needed and I will just have to ignore the msgs that there is an update for my phone.

    I am guessing #3 is the most prevalent issue of the bunch.:D

    I look forward to your responses.
     
  6. telefunken

    telefunken Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013

    Feb 28, 2013
    48
    6
    26
    Does the update reset the phone and erase all installed apps?
    I wonder if this is the update that was reported to fix GPS


    I am rooted and it failed I think I have to unroot to get it installed.
     
  7. dadcup

    dadcup Android Expert
    Rank:
     #140
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    834
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012

    Jan 29, 2012
    834
    232
    103
    Did this update is in zte website?
     
  8. telefunken

    telefunken Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013

    Feb 28, 2013
    48
    6
    26
    Metro pushed it my phone
     
  9. dadcup

    dadcup Android Expert
    Rank:
     #140
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    834
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012

    Jan 29, 2012
    834
    232
    103
    ok i got it will see if i can made a backup of the new update and upload :p
     
  10. dadcup

    dadcup Android Expert
    Rank:
     #140
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    834
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012

    Jan 29, 2012
    834
    232
    103
    I made the backup with philiz recovery root and unroot go check in all thing root section
     
  11. telefunken

    telefunken Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013

    Feb 28, 2013
    48
    6
    26
    When attempting to install the update andoid bootloader gives me an error

    "assert failed: apply patch" (looking for browser.apk)
    then some "(Status 7) Installation aborted" error

    I'm sure this is because I removed bloatware after rooting.

    Can anyone confirm this update fixes the GPS?
    If so I have to wipe.
     
    rlugo29 likes this.
  12. rlugo29

    rlugo29 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    250
    11
    38
    New Port Richey, Fl
    Yeah my GPS is efffddd!!!!
     
  13. telefunken

    telefunken Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013

    Feb 28, 2013
    48
    6
    26
    So can anyone report if running the update makes the GPS work any better?
     
  14. VeeMee

    VeeMee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014

    Jun 24, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    San Francisco, California
    Same issue here with failed update. Would like to know if there's a procedure to completely reset the phone to get this update to work as a simple factory wipe failed to help. Or else can someone take the OTA update, fix it, and repackage it as a .zip that we can all apply?
     
  15. dadcup

    dadcup Android Expert
    Rank:
     #140
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    834
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012

    Jan 29, 2012
    834
    232
    103
    What you mean I made a zip file for this update root and unroot use philiz recovery here http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?t=849153
     
    VeeMee likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...