1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General ZTE AWE rebooting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by laszlomdq, Dec 8, 2013.

  1. laszlomdq

    laszlomdq Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    22
    1
    16
    Maybe a dumb question for you guys but how do I put the phone back to where it was when I took it out of the box? Is it with the update.zip?
     

    Advertisement

  2. adorkablys

    adorkablys Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013

    Dec 3, 2013
    10
    0
    15
    Female
    Missouri
  3. dragonhart6505

    dragonhart6505 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012

    Feb 4, 2012
    1,101
    346
    173
    Yup
     
  4. laszlomdq

    laszlomdq Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    22
    1
    16
    Ok, maybe I'll give that a shot although the phone is not rebooting for the past three days so I don't know if I will brake it. Of course now that I mentioned this it will reboot first thing tomorrow morning, lol. The thing that worries me the most is that I have another zte awe unopened that is a Christmas present for my son and I don't want him to have the same issues. A coworker bought the same phone on Amazon after I told him he wouldn't loose his grandfathered plan and he tells me every day that he doesn't have the rebooting problem, he is running the phone with stock apps and no root.
     
  5. tli

    tli Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    263
    93
    53
    Well, you know the saying "'if it ain't broken..." ;)

    If you do wish to return to stock and your phone has the CWM v6.0.3.7 recovery, please read:

    http://androidforums.com/awe-all-things-root/808228-how-return-awe-back-stock.html
     
  6. laszlomdq

    laszlomdq Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    22
    1
    16
    Oh wait, I need to have CWM v6.0.3.7 to be able to go back to stock? I rebooted the phone and press the low volume key and it look that has some sort of stock recovery, will this work? Thanks.
     
  7. TDOW

    TDOW Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013

    Feb 21, 2013
    226
    11
    58
    Both my husband and daughter have this model of phone. Neither one of them is having issues with constant rebooting.

    I would probably call VM and ask them for a replacement, you may have a bad unit.
     
  8. tli

    tli Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    263
    93
    53
    You're good-to-go with the stock recovery. The 'update.zip' file can only be flash with the stock recovery. Thus, if you have CWM v6.0.3.7, it won't work, and requires additional steps in order to return to stock.
     
  9. laszlomdq

    laszlomdq Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    22
    1
    16
    Thank you very much for the answer. The phone is rooted, will this put it back to stock, I mean unroot the phone? I don't know if my question makes sense. lol

    Thanks again.

    EDIT: Nevermind, I just finished flashing and I'm back to stock. I downloaded the Virgin Mobile update, turned off some of the google apps, uninstalled some bloatware. At this point I'm ready to root, install titanium backup, uninstall completely some of the google apps and bloatware, install link2sd and hopefully be up and running again. When I got the phone for first time I rooted it right away before doing all the updates so maybe that was the issue.
     
  10. laszlomdq

    laszlomdq Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    22
    1
    16
    Update: I haven't experience another reboot since I re installed the phone. I did pretty much the same mods as before, like I rooted it and uninstalled a bunch of google stuff and so far it has been great. Thanks everyone for the help and Happy Holidays!!!
     
  11. jim620

    jim620 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Did you apply the over the air system update after flashing update.zip? What apps did you disable? I just re-flash mine with the update.zip but have not applied the over the air system update. Thanks.
     
  12. laszlomdq

    laszlomdq Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    22
    1
    16
    Yes I did apply the update but I spoke too soon, after a week of happiness my phone is rebooting right now for the 6th time in a row. I guess I'm going to have to learn to live with that. What it upsets me is that it is so random.
     
  13. laszlomdq

    laszlomdq Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    22
    1
    16
    Update: My son got his brand new Awe for Christmas and while I wanted to root it with him right away I decided not to, or at least for a while. He has been using it a lot and especially playing games for the last three days and so far he didn't experience a reboot yet. Is it possible that the problem could be the rooting of the phone?
     
  14. aoeui

    aoeui Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013

    Dec 2, 2013
    18
    1
    16
    Mine just rebooted again after opening Eufloria HD app the first time. It didn't boot loop but got stuck on the green alien droid picture. I took out the battery and booted the phone up and tried Eufloria HD again and it ran fine.

    ?????????????

    Absolutely mind boggling.
     
  15. nightbreed813

    nightbreed813 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    98
    14
    18
    Male
    Florida, USA
    With my old phone the phone would reboot when the ram was full. Rebooting before playing would stop it. I don't think that is the issue everyone is having but it could be part of some peoples problem.
     
  16. krikit

    krikit Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    37
    4
    36
    Male
    I haven't rooted mine yet, but it did have the rebooting issue for awhile before doing a factory reset. I think the ram filling up is probably a good place to start.
     
  17. antipasta

    antipasta Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    15
    0
    15
    Replied to a similar topic in the root forum, but reposting here in case it's of help to anyone:

    My brother, my girlfriend, and I all bought this phone and all use it similarly and live in the same area

    Of our 3 phones, only my girlfriend's exhibits this reboot issue. It's pretty random when it happens, but at least twice happened when we were hitting device storage writes hard (downloading music via google music), and once the phone entered a boot loop when picking up a call.

    We exchanged the rebooting phone and now all 3 phones are fine.

    This is all circumstantial, but it does seem like this is a hardware issue that requires an exchange.
     
  18. laszlomdq

    laszlomdq Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    22
    1
    16
    Did you root the phones? My son's phone is not rooted yet and it doesn't have the issue.
     
  19. antipasta

    antipasta Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    15
    0
    15
    Girlfriend's phone was not rooted and had the reboot issue. She was doing basic stuff on it only. Google music, checking facebook, etc.
     
  20. laszlomdq

    laszlomdq Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    22
    1
    16
    How did you exchange it? I bought the phone at Target and I was planing on flashing it to its original state and exchange it. Can I do that and then go home and swap the phone online in the Virgin Mobile website or do I need to have both phones in hand to be able to do that? Do you guys think I will loose my grandfathered plan?
     
  21. antipasta

    antipasta Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    15
    0
    15
    We did exactly as you described and it worked fine. Did not need both phones at the same time. Didn't lose grandfathered plan either.

     
  22. laszlomdq

    laszlomdq Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    22
    1
    16
    Thanks.
     
  23. bryanw20

    bryanw20 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013

    Dec 8, 2013
    12
    0
    15
    Has anyone made any progress on this issue?

    I've been putting up with it; until today it would not quit the reboot cycle for hours! even with removing the battery!

    It was rooted; I just did the wipe to factory reset with the update.zip file; let it do it's downloads, and now I'm getting constant launcher has stopped working & google play services has stopped; and still rebooting (just not as frequent!)

    SD, no SD card, Root, no Root, unplugging from the charger, unlocking, opening an app (any app), it's getting more than frustrating now!


    Update; so after 2 days of increased randomness & boot loops I was ready to throw it against a wall!
    I even did custom rom upgrades, still having issues. I did check the battery, it seemed snug; but I put a paper shim in anyway, that was 6hrs ago, haven't had a reboot since then....

    fingers crossed!

    Update 2: 1 random reboot in that past 36hours after putting in the shim.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...