1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ZTE Force T-mobile Free Sim???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Otisthick, Dec 31, 2013.

  1. Otisthick

    Otisthick Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    15
    3
    16
    Male
    Broadcast Engineer
    Indianapolis IN
    Here is my story. Up until mid Dec. I was on Revol Wireless (Unlimited Everything 3g less than $50./mo) They even included "Smart Phone Hot Spot" up to 5 deccies, in that package. Unlimited Roaming included Data again for $47.55/mo As luck would have it, they went out of business Dec 16th and directed me to Boost Mobile. So I got the Force 4g but they did NOT allow 'Smart Phone Hot Spot" and 2.5g 4g limit then throttled to 3g

    I am using Pdanet to tether to my laptop. (I do a lot of remote computing)

    I just saw that T-Mobile is offering BYOP and get Free Sim change and they offer a Full unlimited 24/7 4g plan for $70/mo.

    The person I spoke with at T-mobile said the ZTE-Force has to be "Unlocked" for them to change the SIM (ZTE Force has single 25x15 Sim slot) They said because this phone was contracted to Sprint it was not yet on their list of compatible phones and they did not know if they could do it.

    Does anyone in here know if the Boost Force can be unlocked??
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    943
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,897
    943
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    It's not a matter of unlocking, it's a matter of different technologies. Boost is CDMA, TMobile is GSM. A CDMA phone won't work on a GSM network, no matter what you do (except remove everything inside the case and replace it wih a GSM phone's insides).

    (It's also a matter of TMobile hiring untrained sales people and not training them.)

    It's like "how do I modify my boat to drive on concrete roads?" Unless you can turn concrete into water - you can't.
     
    donjuro likes this.
  3. Otisthick

    Otisthick Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    15
    3
    16
    Male
    Broadcast Engineer
    Indianapolis IN
  4. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    I turned concrete into water once. Send your phone to me. Lol!
     
  5. bangeko

    bangeko Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012

    Apr 12, 2012
    16
    0
    15
    Male
    Indonesia
    How about Bionic and Rezound? It is not about CDMA to GSM, but the LTE side.
    ESN/MEID for CDMA.
    IMEI for GSM/LTE.
     
  6. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    ok... let me reword it to avoid confusion
    would an lte card from a gsm carrier work on a cdma carriers phone, its possible, would an lte card from another carrier work on a phone where you cant replace the sim card because its soldered to the board? no
    this phone has no removable card, you can try the warp 4g, it has a removable card, but this phone cant have its card replaced unless you wanna tear it apart remove the hard wired one, and resolder one in
     
  7. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    put simply, yes, as soon as you find a place to stick it lol
     
  8. sawbones999

    sawbones999 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    218
    23
    68
    There are a few cdma phones that have gsm sim card compatibility for "world" roaming (like going to another country and using a prepaid gsm sim) but AFAIK ZTE force doesn't have that capability.

    Cheers,
    -SB
     
  9. Otisthick

    Otisthick Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    15
    3
    16
    Male
    Broadcast Engineer
    Indianapolis IN
    I ran across the ZTE R750 dual Gsm-CDMA. "world Phone" from 2011???
     

Share This Page

Loading...