1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General ZTE Skate (AKA Monte Carlo)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mavis Cruet, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. Mavis Cruet

    Mavis Cruet Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    100
    8
    36
    Here in the UK, my friend bought the Orange Monte Carlo last week. Cost around
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,506
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,506
    22,917
    3,118
    Scotland
    Isn't the screen resistive as opposed to capacitive? That put me off big style.

    Given the blade was so easy to root and mod, hopefully this will follow suit.
     
  3. Mavis Cruet

    Mavis Cruet Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    100
    8
    36
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,506
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,506
    22,917
    3,118
    Scotland
    I was looking at one in the shop the other day and the guy seemed to think it was resistive. It also said pressure sensitive screen on the display stand where as all the other phones said capacitive. :\
     
  5. Mavis Cruet

    Mavis Cruet Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    100
    8
    36
    Can you explain the difference to me please?
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,506
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,506
    22,917
    3,118
    Scotland
    Resistive is several "plates" of conducting material, pressing down makes these plates touch, completing a circuit. Generally takes a bit of pressure to work properly and is a bit less responsive. I don't think it supports multi touch either.

    Capacitive works by picking up on the electrical current in your finger. No pressure is needed and it's a lot more responsive. The downside being it won't work with gloves on or with a stylus.

    Touchscreen lowdown -- Resistive vs Capacitive - Features - Know Your Mobile
     
  7. Mavis Cruet

    Mavis Cruet Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    100
    8
    36
    Thanks for the info ..

    Although I have a Desire which works well with a foam tipped stylus.
     
  8. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,506
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,506
    22,917
    3,118
    Scotland
  9. amg_1969

    amg_1969 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    213
    27
    43
    East Anglia
    Weird I had the same thing, in the shop it said pressure sensitive screen, but on the orange website it says capacitive, me thinks they don't know
     
  10. biep

    biep Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    notary clerk
    Belgium
    This phone has been offered this weekend in the Supermarket Aldi in Belgium for 199
     
  11. cryoglobe

    cryoglobe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011

    Nov 8, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    yes ... biep .. and I got one :)

    It's a quite good device for the price
    ( even if some people think it's too expensive , and they prefers / prentend to find something like a Galaxy S second hand or even brand new for the same price )

    I'm already root on it , with a ClockworkMod recovery ( for full backup , and alternative rom installation )
    And there is already alternative roms ..

    I'm currently back on the original rom that I found quite smooth and fast.
    ( with Launcher pro )
    My only problem , is the low size on the applications partition ( internal ) = 162MB
    ( especially coming from a Blade with resized partitions to 290 Mb for the internal apps )
     
  12. Nighthawk4

    Nighthawk4 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    55
    3
    36
    Male
    IT Network Support
    UK
    You managed to root the Skate?

    Is it running 2.3.5 please? I have not yet managed to root mine.

    Any special problems with doing so?
     
  13. LyndaKelly

    LyndaKelly Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    It's definitely a capacitive screen. I bought mine on Ebay already rooted and with Android 2.3.7 installed. Bought it earlier this month and I'm loving it.

    Cheers, Lynda~:)
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  14. bartvdv

    bartvdv Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    same here and there are a lot of rooting possibilities and custom roms etc and yes it 's a cap. screen
     
  15. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,506
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,506
    22,917
    3,118
    Scotland
    ZTE are pretty good when it comes to leaving their devices open so it would seem, one of my handsets, the ZTE Blade has one of the easiest root and install a custom ROM procedure I've seen on any Android handset.
     
  16. Mavis Cruet

    Mavis Cruet Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    100
    8
    36
    I've bought a ZTE Skate (started life as an Orange Monte Carlo) my son rooted and de-cluttered it, and it's running one of the Cyanogen nightly roms ..2.37. Also overclocked and runs smoothly at just under 1000. It's a very responsive phone, the screen is lovely, every bit as good s my HTC Desire.I'm very happy with it.
     
  17. Dc Geek

    Dc Geek Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012

    Jul 6, 2012
    1
    0
    5

    How do you easily root the Orange monte carlo, without the computer? I have been struggling...?
     
  18. whateverilove

    whateverilove Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012

    Aug 21, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I have a Monte Carlo and find it AMAZING but as for music i downloaded poweramp and it automatically saves music to your phone libarary i think it is adviseable to get one as it is a android and android have loads of things on them if you have any more Questions about this phone or androids please message me or whatever
     
  19. chukka

    chukka Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    4
    0
    25
    I've just bought a ZTE Skate for my step father, currently running Gingerbread but I would like to upgrade to ICS, does anyone know if this can be done or will the phone not take it. On the whole looks like a nice phone and was quite impressed with the price.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...