1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

ZTE Write Protection for ZMAX and other ZTE phones

Discussion in 'Official Unloved Devices Hit Squad (OUDHS)' started by hroark13, Jun 13, 2016.

  1. Heathurrlovelynn86

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    5
    1
    16
    Female
    How exactly did you manage this what were the steps?
     

    Advertisement

    NickelBanger likes this.
  2. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    The answer to your question can be found in the first post, which you have quoted.
     
    auburn2eugene and bcrichster like this.
  3. ZTE_Kroger1738

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016

    Sep 27, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Does It work on the ZTE Warp 7?
     
  4. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    It doesn't say so you'll just have to try it yourself and find out.
     
  5. honeybearsphone

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016

    Aug 11, 2016
    1
    2
    6
    you sir are a MOTHER FARKING GENIUS, I'm certainly no noob when it comes to android but i have a friend with the whirl 1 that sold it cause they were unable to change from pre to pst paid on at&t i wad unanable to help them, after getting the grand x 3 i figured thus would be my first non rooted phone, first search was this and BAM! 10 minutes and i have root, thank you, thus is the community that makes android strong!
     
    NickelBanger and hroark13 like this.
  6. NickelBanger

    NickelBanger Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016

    Oct 12, 2016
    9
    0
    15
    Male
    It's not a permanent root you will lose root free it reboots or powers
     
  7. Elaine Scroggins

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016

    Aug 3, 2016
    1
    1
    16
    Female
    ZTE Grand X 3. Worked perfectly, I was rooted within 5 minutes on the first try . You are a genius . Thank you
     
    hroark13 likes this.
  8. Kizzmiazz

    Kizzmiazz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013

    Jun 30, 2013
    6
    4
    6
    Male
    Hey can someone please send me a link or send me the 2 files in system zdm.apk and the other one zdmDaemon.apk ? And if ya can the name of the two folders. I was dumb and deleted them lol I need if we have some more otas . Please help me :) Oh yeah and this is for the ZTE Grand X3
     
  9. Edd0007

    Edd0007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016

    Oct 29, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    1.Downloaded kingroot.
    2.Ran the kingroot app.
    3.ran the disemmcwp command on android terminal.
    4.restarted my phone
    5.kingroot stook around!
    DEVICE:
    ZTE Grand X Max +
    .................................................................
    Question though for MASTER CHIEF and the guys out there using my device. has anyone been able to switch kingroot for superuser? I tried switching them through android terminal but ended up loosing root after running the mrw/root command. Am I supposed to install twrp? And then do it from there? Having a bit of trouble a little help would be aprecciated guys.
     
  10. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    If you have twrp available for your device you should have
    1) temp root with kingroot
    2) install twrp
    3) uninstall kingroot
    4) boot into twrp manually with button combo
    5) flash SuperSU zip through twrp
    6) reboot back to android
    7) run 'reboot disemmcwp' command in adb shell or run as root in terminal emulator.


    But it is too late for that now so what you need to do now is go to the play store and get super-sume pro
    That will allow you to replace kingroot with supersu
     
    #135 Masterchief87, Oct 29, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2016
  11. Edd0007

    Edd0007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016

    Oct 29, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    OK will try and will return with results!
    Oh I forgot to mention I did the above steps while on ofw 5.1 on my zte grand x max +, just thought I'd clear that up
     
  12. Edd0007

    Edd0007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016

    Oct 29, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    It worked thanks master chief .
    So there you go! Zte grand x max + rooted fully with superuser by chainfire as SU woohooo! I've been trying for months
     
  13. Edd0007

    Edd0007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016

    Oct 29, 2016
    20
    5
    26
    Male
    If anybody has the same device with 5.1 lollipop official update try the above steps I took and add SUPER SUME to the last step and VIOLA! You got root
     
  14. mcasdorph

    mcasdorph Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012

    Jul 21, 2012
    33
    7
    16
    Are there any better rooting apps than Kingo?
     
  15. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    Kingroot
     
  16. mcasdorph

    mcasdorph Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012

    Jul 21, 2012
    33
    7
    16
    Hey hroark13, I've got a huge update for you with the ZMAX 2 (Z958) (LOL) AT&T Go I was able to root my phone hroark13, that write protection enable/disable command apparently does work on this phone.
     
    #141 mcasdorph, Oct 30, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2016
  17. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483

    yeah, I already mentioned that in the OP
     
    Masterchief87 likes this.
  18. mcasdorph

    mcasdorph Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012

    Jul 21, 2012
    33
    7
    16
    You didn't mention that in the OP, it's the 3rd one listed under Does Not Work, I'm able to root it but I guess its only a temporary root because when I reboot it says not rooted, I'm not sure if that is considered a partial root or temp (I'm not to familiar with the android terminology..lol) root because it still lists Superuser after the reboot but root checker says its not rooted after reboot.. I'm trying to get tethering working on this phone like before on the Radiant, I found a way by editing a SQL database someone figured out on another phone, hopefully I can get tethering working while I wait for further development on these phones.

    Edit: I see you did mention running that command in shell, but what I mean is that you have the ZMax 2 (LOL) Go phone as not working with it.. It does.. That was the part I was referring to.

    Matt
     
  19. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    If the command worked you wouldn't lose root every time you reboot.
     
  20. mcasdorph

    mcasdorph Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012

    Jul 21, 2012
    33
    7
    16
    It has to work to some extent, because it wont root with Kingo without using that command first and rebooting, I've tried multiple times and I have to run that command first for Kingo to root successfully.. Do I have to re-enable it with that second command after rooting? Would that keep it from reverting back after reboot?
     
  21. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,081
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,081
    5,663
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    One time should be all it needs..
     
  22. mcasdorph

    mcasdorph Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012

    Jul 21, 2012
    33
    7
    16
    So on the lists in the OP, the ones that Works the root sticks for good?
     
  23. DaisFlaque

    DaisFlaque Android Expert
    Rank:
     #105
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,129
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,129
    354
    163
    Male
    QualIT Computers LLC. Head Tech. <old new> owner a
    Sector 7 Slums
    Hey man. I gotta Zte N9132. (Prestige)
    Which I tried to compile my own TWRP.. Apparently I failed miserably. I flashed it using terminal command, a dd command.
    Now my recovery will not boot at all. I still have the original recovery.img
    (...found here... https://www.mediafire.com/download/hugu1j0hauof2fu ...)
    Im afraid its gonna be toast.. Please help.. I notice you did some work on similar zte devices.. and found the unlock command for this devices read only /system... Hoping you can save this underloved device..
    Originally from Boost prevail,
    Dais Flaque
     
  24. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    If you have root and you backed up the stock recovery.img before flashing the twrp you tried to compile, then all you need to do is reinstall the stock recovery until you have a new build of twrp to test.
     
  25. DaisFlaque

    DaisFlaque Android Expert
    Rank:
     #105
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,129
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,129
    354
    163
    Male
    QualIT Computers LLC. Head Tech. <old new> owner a
    Sector 7 Slums
    Already tried that.. now phones acting worse then ever.
     

Share This Page

Loading...