1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General ZTE ZMAX pro Game Screen Pixelated

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Phoneguru11, Aug 7, 2016.

  1. Phoneguru11

    Phoneguru11 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    45
    4
    26
    Male
    I just got a ZTE ZMAX pro yesterday and when im playing a game and one menu changes to another menu or screen there is a glitch. The screen shows a bunch or colors mixed together looking all pixelated. Its only for a split second when the screen changes in different games. Watching videos, YouTube, and all apps besides game don't do this, just games.

    Has anyone else had this happen with an android phone. If it is normal to happen sometimes, then ill just keep the phone. If not, ill go exchange it while its still under warranty.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    What specific games are you talking about. I have played Need for Speed Most Wanted, GTA San Andreas, and GTA Vice City on my zmax pro and haven't seen anything at all like what you are talking about. If you tell me what games you are having this issue with I can try them out on my phone and see if I can duplicate the issue.
     
  3. Phoneguru11

    Phoneguru11 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    45
    4
    26
    Male
    It happened on a few different games. Mainly asphalt 8. It will on happen aroind 2 or 3 times on each level.
     
  4. Phoneguru11

    Phoneguru11 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    45
    4
    26
    Male
    Tbh , I don't play that many higher end games. I just want it to work correctly. This phone is a great deal, but I'd rather have a more expensive lower spec'd phone that works 100%.
     
  5. Phoneguru11

    Phoneguru11 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    45
    4
    26
    Male
    Im play pokemon go for several hours and it doesnt do the glitch. Just on really detailed games.
     
  6. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Idk I haven't seen it at all. I've tried to duplicate the problem playing asphalt 8 but I'm not having any issues (other than the fact that I don't really care for this game).
     
  7. Phoneguru11

    Phoneguru11 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    45
    4
    26
    Male
    Its definately aggrevating, paying good money for something brand new and it has issues instantly. Metropcs will only let me return it if they see it has an issue. They might have to play a game for a few minutes before they actually see theres a problem.
     
  8. EnlightendDead

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015

    Nov 8, 2015
    12
    11
    18
    I noticed the pixelation on my pro playing GO(not the whole screen would be pixelated but the top middle), but my replacement doesn't do it, so maybe software problem?
     
  9. Phoneguru11

    Phoneguru11 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    45
    4
    26
    Male
    I heard 2 other people say they had the same problem with the zmax pro on a different website. So far, thats 4 ppl that said they saw this. I does it more on more graphics intense games like asphalt 8. Less when i play pokemon go.
     
  10. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    If it happened on one phone but not another then it is defective hardware not the software. That also explains why it hasn't happened at all on my phone. As long as the replacement has not been updated. What is the build number in settings > about phone? If it ends with B08 then that means it was defective hardware.
     
  11. Phoneguru11

    Phoneguru11 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    45
    4
    26
    Male
    My settings build # ends in b08
     
  12. Phoneguru11

    Phoneguru11 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    45
    4
    26
    Male
    Ive done benchmark tests with antutu and 3dmark and there was no pixelated screen during the entire test.
     
    #12 Phoneguru11, Aug 8, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2016
  13. ZMAX4EVER

    ZMAX4EVER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016

    Aug 2, 2016
    198
    131
    88
    Male
    Mine is B08 and I haven't seen pixelization.
     
  14. Elix9000

    Elix9000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015

    Aug 3, 2015
    135
    70
    63
    Male
    Philadelphia
    If any of you have developer options enabled try turning them off, i had the same issue but not anymore
     
  15. Phoneguru11

    Phoneguru11 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    45
    4
    26
    Male
    I wiped the system cache and it fixed in for alittle while. I called zte customer service and they just told me to wipe the cache. Then it came back
     
  16. Elix9000

    Elix9000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015

    Aug 3, 2015
    135
    70
    63
    Male
    Philadelphia
    Hmmmmmm, so many possibilities, hopefully we get a rom. Soon because stock bores me. Tbh
     
  17. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,781
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,781
    743
    233
    MA

    I've had this happen too. Oddly enough, I can run Pokémon Go (the only game app I have) and it won't happen. I caught my phone doing that split second pixelated color splash on launcher after waking the phone up. It's only happened a couple of times in the week I've used it, but still...

    Guess I'll keep an eye on this thread and see if anyone else sees it?

    Edit - I have B08 also?
     
  18. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Yeah. As of right now, every zmax pro sold comes running the B08 firmware and no updates have been released yet.
     
  19. Elix9000

    Elix9000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015

    Aug 3, 2015
    135
    70
    63
    Male
    Philadelphia
    I'm.looking into the issue doing a bit of testing, because I wanna figure out what's causing the flicker for sure
     
  20. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Actually it slipped my mind at first but I've been seeing some pixelation as well, except with me it isn't happening in games. When I've noticed is when I'm watching a full screen video in Google chrome and back out of full screen mode the video becomes pixelated for a split second before it begins playing again. I've noticed this on many different devices though so it isn't something unique to the zmax pro.
     
    5318008 likes this.
  21. Blackhammer5027

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016

    Aug 15, 2016
    6
    0
    15
    Male
    Do you think the problem with the glitching can be because of encryption, because I never encrypted my phone once it came I set it and it was encrypted by itself I didn't pay much attention to this because i didn't mind that extra security. I also notice my ZTE ZMAX PRO glitching every so often
     
  22. Elix9000

    Elix9000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015

    Aug 3, 2015
    135
    70
    63
    Male
    Philadelphia
    Are you saying that because of the extra cpu power and stress required on the hardware would cause graphical glitches.... actually that kind makes sense. But there's no way to decrypt
     
  23. Blackhammer5027

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016

    Aug 15, 2016
    6
    0
    15
    Male
    The glitching with me only happens when I play games, I play Bullet Force and the game runs smooth but once in the game for 5-10 mins the screen starts to glitch it only glitches when I touch the screen.
    I was looking into this other site and someone was having the same issues with a different phone. Someone replied it was due to the OS not able to decide between software CPU or hardware GPU.


    The guy said to do the following steps below, I wasn't to sure what it might due to my device so I didn't do it.
    1. Go to settings >> More Tab >> About device.
    2. Find "Build number" and click 6 times fast on it.
    3. You will then get the message saying: "You are now a developer"
    4. Come back to Home Screen, and then go back to Settings >> More Tab >> Now you will see the "Developer Options"
    5. Now go to Developer options >> Drawing Section or Rendering Section >> Find "Turn off hardware overlays" or "disable hardware overlays" >> This will force the phone to always use GPU for screen compositing
     
  24. Elix9000

    Elix9000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015

    Aug 3, 2015
    135
    70
    63
    Male
    Philadelphia
    Oh that option just forces the gpu to process stuff, nothing there is too harmful just dont play around in there, but ill send you. A screenshot of what options to turn on if you want to stop the glitching
     
  25. Blackhammer5027

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016

    Aug 15, 2016
    6
    0
    15
    Male
    I thought if you do a complete factory reset the encryption goes away...?
     

ZTE Zmax Pro

ZTE Zmax Pro
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...