1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

ZTE Zmax Pro not sending picture messages

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Susanita DLC, May 19, 2017.

  1. Susanita DLC

    Susanita DLC Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 19, 2017

    May 19, 2017
    16
    2
    26
    Hey everyone,

    My friend purchased a ZTE zmax Pro for me a few months ago from Metro PCS. I couldn't buy the phone myself because I am with AT&T. So when I purchased the phone, it was locked. Unfortunately, I had to wait the 3 month limit so I could automatically unlock it and start using it with my AT&T network. Well, a few days ago, I could finally unlock the phone. I was thrilled!! However, I noticed when I started text messaging, my messages would go through with the exception of picture of media messages. I read this has something to do with an APN.. I don't know.. Since I am with AT&T and not Metro PCS, I don't know if there is a specific APN I should be using or if there is something completely different I should do to fix this. I would appreciate any help anyone can give! This has been a struggle!
     

    Advertisement

  2. armandop_

    armandop_ Member
    Rank:
     #818
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017

    Feb 12, 2017
    63
    36
    33
  3. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,805
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,805
    1,841
    693
    Male
    USA
    In addition to adjusting your APN settings, use Textra or Android Messages apps instead of the stock app. The stock app is very erratic (especially w/MMS) on this phone. I've had zero issues w/Textra or Android Messages.
     
    Susanita DLC likes this.
  4. Susanita DLC

    Susanita DLC Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 19, 2017

    May 19, 2017
    16
    2
    26
    Thank you very much for your reply! Does this app sync with your phone number? I will try it out shortly!
     
  5. Susanita DLC

    Susanita DLC Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 19, 2017

    May 19, 2017
    16
    2
    26
  6. Susanita DLC

    Susanita DLC Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 19, 2017

    May 19, 2017
    16
    2
    26
  7. Susanita DLC

    Susanita DLC Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 19, 2017

    May 19, 2017
    16
    2
    26
  8. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,805
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,805
    1,841
    693
    Male
    USA
    Was there a default APN after you put the ATT sim card created?

    If so, you will need to do some trial and error with that one.


    Try it with this setting:

    APN type: default,supl,mms
    APN Protocol: IPv4


    You may need to save it under a new APN name and keep the rest of the settings.

    I am not on ATT but I've had to do this many times on T-Mobile/Metro so someone else w/ATT may offer better advice.
     
  9. armandop_

    armandop_ Member
    Rank:
     #818
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017

    Feb 12, 2017
    63
    36
    33
    Yeah that definitely sounds like an apn issue. Try contacting At&t they could send you the correct apn


     
  10. Susanita DLC

    Susanita DLC Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 19, 2017

    May 19, 2017
    16
    2
    26
    I went to At&t, and the girl there told me it looks like the phone is not compatible with the data from their network.. she tried typing in the apn they usually use to connect people and the phone didnt respond. I refuse to think this unfixable because I have read that other people with at&t have been able to use this same phone with their data plans.. I just am at a loss for what to do..
     
  11. Susanita DLC

    Susanita DLC Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 19, 2017

    May 19, 2017
    16
    2
    26
    I reset it to the default apn option, but it wont let me edit the default settings.. would I create a new apn with all of those same default fields with the exception of the ones you listed above to be edited?
     
  12. armandop_

    armandop_ Member
    Rank:
     #818
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017

    Feb 12, 2017
    63
    36
    33
    Can you send me a picture of your APN settings?


     
  13. Susanita DLC

    Susanita DLC Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 19, 2017

    May 19, 2017
    16
    2
    26
     

    Attached Files:

  14. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,805
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,805
    1,841
    693
    Male
    USA
    Yes, you have to create a new APN. Use a different name, Save it. Make sure the new APN is checked. Then reboot.
     
  15. Susanita DLC

    Susanita DLC Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 19, 2017

    May 19, 2017
    16
    2
    26
    I typed in several new APNs and unfortunately and I am having no luck.. even the girl at AT&T said my phone is not compatible, but I know that is nit true because there are people online eho are using this phone with AT&T..
     
  16. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,805
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,805
    1,841
    693
    Male
    USA
  17. Susanita DLC

    Susanita DLC Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 19, 2017

    May 19, 2017
    16
    2
    26
  18. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,805
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,805
    1,841
    693
    Male
    USA
    Take out FOTA and use the settings in post #8.

    Also, what texting app are you using?
     

ZTE Zmax Pro

ZTE Zmax Pro

Share This Page

Loading...