1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ZTE Zmax Pro Official Root Discussion

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by anubis2048, Jan 14, 2017.

  1. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    This thread is all about rooting the ZTE Zmax Pro and will be updated with the newest information related to rooting the device.

    As of now, there is no way to root the Zmax Pro yet.

    Right now Messi2050 is working on root and is very close to having it. He needs beta testers. If you don't care about bricking your device PM him and ask to join the hangouts.

     

    Advertisement

    #1 anubis2048, Jan 14, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2017
  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,616
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,616
    22,096
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    tunajelly, tube517, Muchwin and 4 others like this.
  3. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    Thanks for the sticky.
    Moderators have my full permission to update the original post if new information becomes available about root and I do not update it within 24 hours. The goal of this new rooting thread is to stay organized and on-topic. Hopefully things will go much better this time around.
     
    tunajelly, dj rios, enesha and 7 others like this.
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,227
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,227
    23,371
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    PD Subraa, viperdink, Gun Rue and 5 others like this.
  5. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    I should have suggested this sooner... But at least we have this now.

    Anyway, I applied for the beta program. I really hope they add me. I use my phone for internet so I have to jump through loops and bounds to get tethering un-detected since my Zmax isn't rooted. @messi2050 Do you know how to work on ROMS? Perhaps we could look into porting CM to the Zmax if these beta updates have Fastboot access.

    **EDIT**
    I really hope we can get a port of CM on 6.0 and not Nougat. No Xposed on 7 yet?!?! Disgusting!
     
    #5 anubis2048, Jan 14, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2017
  6. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,227
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,227
    23,371
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Couple other things I noticed and remember you guys trying:

    1. Settings -> Developer options -> OEM unlocking (Allow bootloader to be unlocked) has NO (apparent) effect on unlocking the bootloader or accessing it via the fastboot utility

    2. Access to the bootloader via the fastboot utility does NOT appear to work (it looks like this device has DFU or FTM mode?)

    3. @hroark13's "reboot disemmcwp" command does NOT appear to be fruitful

    That's all I have for now...
     
    Rootkid, enesha, Muchwin and 2 others like this.
  7. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    AFAIK OEM Unlocking just disables certain security measures in the event that you do flash a custom recovery. My Galaxy S4 had this issue, if you did not enable OEM Unlock then it would either brick the phone when flashing or just fail to flash. I think that is there to prevent people from flashing stolen phones that have a passcode.

    I updated the original post to reflect this information. Thanks for telling me, I forgot all about it.

    *EDIT*
    Yes, it does have FTM mode. There is no official flashing software that I know of. I wouldn't trust the same utility that is used on the Axon 7. We have no idea how different these phones are and I would not risk bricking it.
     
    #7 anubis2048, Jan 14, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2017
    Muchwin, lambo352 and scary alien like this.
  8. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,227
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,227
    23,371
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Yeah, I'm sure the reason for this is exactly that.

    On the Nexus (and Pixel) devices, you can't use fastboot oem unlock (or the other command/syntax variations) if you don't enable that toggle in the Settings -> Developer options menu despite the fact that the device itself that the devices are inherently unlockable (a lot of folks didn't / don't know about the tie-in and dependency with this).
     
    enesha and lambo352 like this.
  9. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    Yeah, Apple and many popular Android phone manufacturers are taking measures to stop theft. With Android 6.0 and up you can even lock the phone at the bootloader with a password. I don't even think you could get into FTM if you don't have the password. Android 7.0 actually encrypts a ton of files on the fly and uses a different partition scheme, which is why Xposed isn't ported to it yet.

    Let's stop here though, we need to keep this about root hahaha
     
    Muchwin, lambo352 and scary alien like this.
  10. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,227
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,227
    23,371
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Yes, indeed--my apologies.

    Back on-topic: There was also a lot of discussion about replacing signing keys in an OTA .zip or otherwise flashable .zip and trying to get the (stock) recovery to be tricked. This is highly unlikely to work unless you can actually sign the .zip with the manufacturer's keys.
     
    Muchwin and lambo352 like this.
  11. GrifterGrifts

    GrifterGrifts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #998
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016

    Dec 10, 2016
    84
    68
    33
    Male
    Master Signing keys are obtained, but will not do us ANY good. TLDR; ZTE uses a cell on the mobo to hold a 2048 bit key.

    Source: original root thread page 69 top post
     
  12. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,227
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,227
    23,371
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Hmm, well if the manufacturers keys were available and you could sign a .zip file, it should flash / install from an adb sideload and you'd have total access to the device.

    I see the post you referenced but I'm a bit skeptical that the keys mentioned were the true master ones.

    Has anyone actually tried to sign a .zip file with said keys and flash through an adb sideload?
     
  13. GrifterGrifts

    GrifterGrifts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #998
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016

    Dec 10, 2016
    84
    68
    33
    Male
    Are you familiar with pgp keys there is a public and private key the public key encrypts it and the private key reads it unless we could get that private key we have nothing IF I've read into that correctly
     
    Muchwin, lambo352 and scary alien like this.
  14. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,227
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,227
    23,371
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Yes, to both :).
     
    lambo352 likes this.
  15. jdoggthemaster4089

    Rank:
     #1,016
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015

    Dec 13, 2015
    47
    33
    33
    Does anyone have an update on the build 15 testing? I believe its nougat but I think you would need mode than bootloader access to root it due to Android N encryption.
     
    lambo352 likes this.
  16. GrifterGrifts

    GrifterGrifts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #998
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016

    Dec 10, 2016
    84
    68
    33
    Male
    Yea so unless Jon is making shit up and I trust him I've talked to him he knows his stuff very well beleive that so to pull myself back on topic here we need to look at other areas outside of using signing keys to gain root access
     
    lambo352 and scary alien like this.
  17. messi2050

    messi2050 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #168
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    458
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016

    Oct 22, 2016
    458
    828
    148
    Male
    i worked before on cm for j700h/f/m & j320p & huawei g6 but i wasn't able to deliver stable builds , there were always some bugs left...
     
    cyanidekid and lambo352 like this.
  18. GrifterGrifts

    GrifterGrifts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #998
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016

    Dec 10, 2016
    84
    68
    33
    Male
    I can help build and debug
     
    cyanidekid and lambo352 like this.
  19. JIMMYHENDRIX

    JIMMYHENDRIX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #411
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016

    Nov 7, 2016
    106
    89
    63
    Male
  20. Vyrus69

    Vyrus69 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    299
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    299
    96
    53
    Male
    Miami, FL
    That doesn't surprise me...he has no interest in wasting his time with non mainstream phones
     
    cyanidekid likes this.
  21. reeka

    reeka Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016

    Dec 1, 2016
    2
    3
    16
    Nice work too everyone here , been reading nd checking since day one ,
    I'm no techie , jus a little Linux experience, but delt with Samsung,HTC,apple, windows , etc etc ,
    Probably way behind just some basics about ZTE there setup is backwards , as. Too other manufacturers to get to the recovery options it's power down,but ZTE max pro takes you to FTM , OK I'm boring but bare witness , OK power ,up gets you into recovery, backwards, OK now here's where I help my gentleman and ladies , power plus up and down nothing a black screen? Yes? OK this download mode on some phones same as fastboot? In this mode connect to adb , I'll make a video , this gonna take seeing than telling .....
     
    ExLegionAir likes this.
  22. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    ADB shell runs in usermode and not kernel mode. We can't flash anything using it.
     
    enesha likes this.
  23. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    You're getting into DFU mode which still requires signed zips + we need the software made to flash for the Zmax Pro.
     
    enesha likes this.
  24. reeka

    reeka Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016

    Dec 1, 2016
    2
    3
    16
    True indeed Linux is your friend my friend , all my setup in the video is based on Linux give me a few please ,will post the video , no games no gimicks


    Will have links to the tools that will allow flashing , it's a Linux Odin but it's universal
     
    cyanidekid and lambo352 like this.
  25. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    Odin is for Samsung devices only. I just hope you're using that as a generic term for flashing utility. The only tool I could think of that might work on the ZTE Zmax Pro would be the same one used for the Axon 7. Do you have the encryption keys used to sign the zips? If so please share them and I can put it in the original post for everyone to see.
     
    enesha, cyanidekid and lambo352 like this.
  26. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,227
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,227
    23,371
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Can we please get back on-topic? :)

    This thread should be about ways / methods / strategies / ideas for (actually) rooting this device.

    Everything else is basically off-topic...

    Just saying--otherwise, it'll (continue to) turn into the original thread this was spawned from...

    Thanks!
     

ZTE Zmax Pro

ZTE Zmax Pro

Share This Page

Loading...