1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root ZTE Zmax Pro Official Root Discussion

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by anubis2048, Jan 14, 2017.

  1. biledigger

    biledigger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    May 25, 2015

    May 25, 2015
    184
    93
    63
    Male
    How do we go about joining their discord?
     

    Advertisement

  2. fspkwon

    fspkwon Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    13
    2
    16
    -edit- post-removed
     
    #3352 fspkwon, Dec 6, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2017
    RootBeerGuy likes this.
  3. nsip4ever

    nsip4ever Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 24, 2015

    May 24, 2015
    16
    9
    26
    I haven't been on the forums in a long time so I'm honestly bummed that no progress was made, and being the realist I am there's no why I'm acknowledging rumors of any breakthroughs with legitimate consideration because who wouldn't want the recognition of cracking the uncrackable despite the toxic atmosphere, it's easier to keep your mouth shut if you ain't got nothin, plus you can't miss what you never had so there's no point in complaining. I'm only reminded of why I wanted root on this phone when YouTube ads start to bug me, unfortunately the Xposed framework is running out working modules to block them on my rooted devices so where all headed towards more forced consumption, loss of real personalization down to a software's code and locked hardware, like I said, bummed.
     
    Dinsbeard and bcrichster like this.
  4. Dinsbeard

    Dinsbeard Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013

    Oct 24, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Dude I know... Best phone I've ever owned, all things considered.
     
  5. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,054
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,054
    5,606
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Fixitjr Santos and Unforgiven like this.
  6. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,232
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,232
    47,391
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    bcrichster likes this.
  7. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,054
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,054
    5,606
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Yes. I'm trippin' too
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  8. Telyx

    Telyx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #167
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    May 25, 2015

    May 25, 2015
    109
    70
    73
    Male
    Garden City, MI, USA
    Same ZTE, different phone. Root has been available for the Axon 7 for a while now.
     
  9. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,054
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,054
    5,606
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    I know this, but for them to release all their source files like that is kind of unprecedented since they usually only reluctantly release the kernel (which usually has errors). It just seems promising for Development vs previous interactions (hence @Unforgiven 's surprise as well, I'm thinking). Heck.. maybe ZTE just needs some help to get some stuff ironed out?
    I'm welcoming the change, it's much needed for everyone's benefit.
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  10. nomanr

    nomanr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017

    Mar 14, 2017
    10
    0
    25
  11. Astr4y4L

    Astr4y4L Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #134
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017

    Dec 3, 2017
    467
    203
    88
    Male
    Contractor
    Mudville USA
    Correct me if I'm wrong but i believe your statement of facts is true but backwards

    Private key= Signing key that encrypts at factory, usually contained in the Base rom ( NOT ANDROID ROM ) in the Board and sometimes protected further by Q-fuses

    Public key= basically the same key that is attainable by unzipping an OTA.zip
    which is used to read the encrypted hash...
    you'll see some files with the .crt or .rsa extension

    unless I'm Having a brain-fart here.

    Astr4y4L
    Team_Astr4y4L
     
  12. Astr4y4L

    Astr4y4L Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #134
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017

    Dec 3, 2017
    467
    203
    88
    Male
    Contractor
    Mudville USA
    Can anyone tell me this?

    from what I see right here it looks like this device was out well before December 2016,
    so if you were to have it in stock form---> Never updated.
    What would the patch level/date be?

    I'm wondering if it's at all susceptible to Dirtycow ...
    I don't have hands on one of these devices but would like to help.


    Astr4y4L
    Team_Astr4y4L
     
  13. n0tall0wed

    n0tall0wed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #154
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013

    Mar 2, 2013
    276
    158
    78
    Nope. Didn't work at all.
     
  14. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    Pay Google $10 a month, ads go away. Plus added bonus of YT music, YT RED, background operation. Worth every penny :)
     
  15. nomanr

    nomanr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017

    Mar 14, 2017
    10
    0
    25
    Can Magisk Manager help someway root the phone?
     
  16. nsip4ever

    nsip4ever Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 24, 2015

    May 24, 2015
    16
    9
    26
    Agreed! Large screen and having fingerprint sign in for all my important apps has definitely supplemented for a lack of root, don't know how I lived without it, can only imagine the advantages with super user privileges
     
  17. Fixitjr Santos

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014

    Dec 4, 2014
    12
    4
    26
    Male
    OK...let me start off by saying hello everyone.Old galaxy prevail guy coming back for root of the z981.nowww...I'm wondering what program does zte use to install the android system to the phone.if there is a dfu mode or download mode can't use grab the stock package and incorporate the root in the zip package as it installs it as a new system it would have the root inside already.I've seen it done.done it myself .Anyone shed some light on this

    ---

    Sorry I'm late BTW I've been watching from the shadows..lulz...let me know if you need anything.. Armed with adb..lol

    ---

    And I need quick responses.. I'm more of a Dora the explorer finding answers...lol just ask @hroark13 ...good ole prevail days lol..hey its me wifredojr978 lol
     
    #3367 Fixitjr Santos, Dec 29, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 29, 2017
    Fixitjr Santos and PattyBear9210 like this.
  18. PattyBear9210

    PattyBear9210 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012

    Dec 15, 2012
    71
    12
    18
    Male
    crimper cutter boxer
    Minnesota
    I'm pretty sure it's ftu or from. But the pro does have musicfx an BusyBox installed as system apps which are apps that are used with root not sure why they would be tho
     
  19. TheOneReaperAndroid

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017

    Jul 27, 2017
    7
    1
    16
    Root let's you install custom roms, get rid of bloat ware that could cause device slow down especially if your device has a low amount of ram like the zmax pro, and it let's you use apps that need root on the play store, or apps like a modded play store.
     
    dontpanicbobby likes this.
  20. TheOneReaperAndroid

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017

    Jul 27, 2017
    7
    1
    16
    It's fake
     
  21. TheOneReaperAndroid

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017

    Jul 27, 2017
    7
    1
    16
    I moved on to the LEECO LE S3 X626 as the zmax pro has no root at all a low amount of ram, and a processor that overheats so easily. My ZMAX PRO will be collecting dust for a bit.
     
  22. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,054
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,054
    5,606
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Because ZTE needed it to do anti-Root testing. Yes, they were busted with a Root switch. Really. They also intentionally made ZTE OS's unstable with Root functions to deter ppl from trying to Root at all. Str8 up.
     
  23. CagyNightOwl

    CagyNightOwl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018

    Jan 5, 2018
    13
    5
    26
    You have to get adb to recognize the device first. ZTE Flash in download mode, adb doesn't see the device.
     
    SirMicBic likes this.
  24. nomanr

    nomanr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017

    Mar 14, 2017
    10
    0
    25
    How do you enter download mode? I tried but couldn't.
     
  25. Tigger69

    Tigger69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #235
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015

    Jun 10, 2015
    113
    10
    48
    Male
    i need a copy of the stock rom for zmax pro
     

ZTE Zmax Pro

ZTE Zmax Pro

Share This Page

Loading...