1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root ZTE ZMAX Pro (Z981) root discussion

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Masterchief87, Jul 30, 2016.

  1. Piplup702

    Piplup702 Member

    It's a miracle!
     

    Advertisement

    che_edgar likes this.
  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator

    @Androidfreakster6621, that doesn't actually unlock the bootloader, I'm afraid.

    It simply sets the stage for one to actually unlock the bootloader from fastboot/bootloader mode and IF that is even allowed / supported by the device--all of which is currently unknown / up-in-the-air at this point in time.
     
  3. Odin89

    Odin89 Android Enthusiast

    So I'm not at a pc to check, but was playing around earlier. Holding vol up and down and power all 3 at once while booting takes me to a black screen with only the notification home key lit up. Strange. Anybody wanna check to see if it's a mode?
     
  4. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator

    DFU mode
     
    AndroidCowboy513, lambo352 and Odin89 like this.
  5. Elgindelta

    Elgindelta Newbie

    The thread says answered?!? Is it rooted?
     
  6. Im very curious about this also. Lets hope we are about to hear some great news. This device deserves it.
     
  7. MigDaMusicMan

    MigDaMusicMan Member

    Not yet
     
  8. Elgindelta

    Elgindelta Newbie

    If I, say...ran up and straight pimp slapped an "in the know" person with the knowledge of what we are missing, what questions would i have to ask them as they begged me to stop making themselves hit...themselves? I only ask, for science
     
    lambo352 and bcrichster like this.
  9. Most likely a buffer overflow exploit to be a means to an end to gain privelige escalation to become root user. So that write permissions and administrator-type access would be allowed to proceed in accessing functions and filesystem access needed to get what we are looking for. Basically we need an exploit that will give us temp-root or root to achieve our means. Thats where im at but you may want to wait and see what the actual reverse engineers have to say.
     
  10. lambo352

    lambo352 Well-Known Member

    Got the app.. gonna try to upload it to my Google drive. I'll also see if I can find time to test it. I just got near a pc
     
    Zte z987 cricket and bcrichster like this.
  11. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator

    That'd be the $h¡t. [emoji41] Ty- in advance.
     
    lambo352 likes this.
  12. enesha

    enesha Member

    That really does nothing. I mean I know you are trying to help, but with all the other people on here who have been rooting various phones for years, do you really think it's as easy as unlocking from the developer menu? I suppose this is partly why they split the boards so that developers can work in one area, and people who don't really know the process can discuss it at length in the other one. Everyone wanting to help is great, but not everyone has the skill set to help and actually be helpful. I myself fall mostly in the second category. I am familiar with unix, have rooted many a phone and love twrp. I also know that I don't know enough to tell the guys what they should try and do..
     
    str8upx likes this.
  13. nino44

    nino44 Member

  14. LightningArc

    LightningArc Lurker

    Hi, everybody I am new to the community. I've rooted several devices in the past but seemed to have trouble with the ZTE phone . I recently downloaded the apk for "kingroot" and it wouldn't even give me an option to even attempt root. So, to my surprise today there was an option ; briefly appearing to work . But unfortunately it had stopped at 34%. Is the reason for the ability to at least attempt root do to work being done on the app? Should root be expected through KingRoot? Just curious. I had never used KingRoot so am not 100% sure. Thx
     
  15. joshua molina

    joshua molina Newbie

    Doesn't work messi is supposed to be getting a development device soon
     
  16. nino44

    nino44 Member

    New update is now available for Metro PCS. It is supposed to fix the screen glitches, but maybe the Dirty Cow has been patched, so we have to decide between fixing the screen glitches or wait for root.
     

    Attached Files:

    #1066 nino44, Nov 28, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2016
  17. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator

    The dirty cow exploit was not patched on my Nexus 6P in the November security update...so, crossing fingers for you guys ;).
     
    Odin89, lambo352 and viperdink like this.
  18. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator

    The real hurdle is getting the SELinux context that will allow you to actually do anything useful...there may be options for specific devices (like the LG V20), but nothing universal yet...
     
    cyanidekid likes this.
  19. Sirmilkbox

    Sirmilkbox Newbie

    Just got the metro variant update. Has anyone been able to find patch notes for it? I'm curious what was actually fixed. I hope we'll be able to find root now. I feel like some devs were waiting for this update.
     
    AndroidCowboy513 likes this.
  20. xlegitimate

    xlegitimate Well-Known Member

    So far I've only noticed three things, tweaks added to the default launcher, messenger and lastly, I see the video call option in my contacts. Sure there is more. I'd also like to see the release notes.
     
    lambo352 likes this.
  21. Yeah I got the same update at 4:08am today.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. che_edgar

    che_edgar Well-Known Member

    I can't seem to be able to install it.
     
  23. Nthall

    Nthall Well-Known Member

    It looks like we have a real recovery mode after the update. Has anyone tried adb on it yet? I'm at work for the next couple of hours.
     
    SimplyIonian and bcrichster like this.
  24. Wait what we have a real recovery mode? That is interesting.
     
  25. I'm at 91% using KingRoot after applying metrpcs's update. Fingers crossed.

    Edit: looks like I may be stuck at 91% then fail 3 times now.

    Look, other than the zte zmax pro I also have a zte zmax, the first one and I remember that for that phone you had to turn off the task manager, and then basically make the phone create a buffer overflow when the phone runs out of memory because of the task manager being force stopped and the user overloading the phone wirh high memory apps like a PSP emulator or benchmark app. That would give temp root with king root, next you would type some commands and install twrp and then replace King user with SuperSU to get permanent root. Does anyone think this may be a common theme with these zte phones?
     
    #1075 EliiphasLevi7414, Nov 28, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2016
    Odin89 and lambo352 like this.

ZTE Zmax Pro

ZTE Zmax Pro
Loading...
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...