1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General ZV8, I guess

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmacie, May 11, 2016.

  1. jmacie

    jmacie Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #302
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014

    Sep 28, 2014
    132
    73
    53
    Dwnldng ZV8 MM 6.0.1 now on Sprint/Boost/ VM we'll let ya know what transpires!
     

    Advertisement

    Joe Morrison likes this.
  2. jmacie

    jmacie Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #302
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014

    Sep 28, 2014
    132
    73
    53
    Hell if I know, sys update, restarts, errors out,freezes at android robot, restarts itself, before I can remove battery. Says sys is up to date, NOT ZV8 ,sorry!
     
  3. jmacie

    jmacie Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #302
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014

    Sep 28, 2014
    132
    73
    53
    Factory reset and tried again, it prompted me to restart to update and bombed during the update killing my little droid robot with an error, same thing. I guess someone will get this update and report.
     
  4. jmacie

    jmacie Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #302
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014

    Sep 28, 2014
    132
    73
    53
    Failure during 4th attempt at system update from MM6.0 to MM6.0.1 on Sprint/Boost/Virgin Stylo, sending it to LG
     
  5. TegraDroid

    TegraDroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014

    Nov 10, 2014
    47
    26
    43
    getting the same thing tried 2 times already both times killed android robot with error above it and this phone is stock from lg since i got it back no attempts to root or anything so i think it is their error and its using all my data..a$$holes.
     
    jmacie likes this.
  6. jmacie

    jmacie Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #302
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014

    Sep 28, 2014
    132
    73
    53
    I really appreciate you responding. I sent mine in and wonder WTF too. I'm sure I won't get it back this week, but I'll write a response for sure. I was using kingroot, but each time I installed I'd uninstall right away after using, making sure not to restart, and hoping it wouldn't restart or crash. I hope some others w sprint variants will post their update experience.
     
  7. jmacie

    jmacie Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #302
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014

    Sep 28, 2014
    132
    73
    53
    Someone on the facebook stylo page said they wanted to know how to block the update, and I said I'd ask here. Does anyone know how to do it if you aren't rooted? Thanks
     
  8. jmacie

    jmacie Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #302
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014

    Sep 28, 2014
    132
    73
    53
    Another on facebook got the ZV8 update, so it's out there. That person had never used any kingroot and so maybe that's the reason my update failed. That person also said the version number didn't change from 6.0 and couldn't report what change there were, so the story continues...
     
  9. dip_spit

    dip_spit Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016

    Mar 10, 2016
    24
    23
    28
    Haven't used Kingroot on my replacement device. I've only done so much as to mess with the adoptable storage. It went through as expected.

    Also, as far as BM goes, the zv8 update was just security updates to 6.0. link
     
    jmacie likes this.
  10. jmacie

    jmacie Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #302
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014

    Sep 28, 2014
    132
    73
    53
    Thanks for that info. I was making a big deal out of nothing, sorry all!
     
  11. TegraDroid

    TegraDroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014

    Nov 10, 2014
    47
    26
    43
    not really man... i was having same issue..even if was just a security update still doesnt make sense why phone will not take it.
     
  12. Tigatron

    Tigatron Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,294
    443
    163
    Male
    NE
    Dead android error here too.
     
  13. BrickHouse

    BrickHouse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #310
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014

    Dec 5, 2014
    115
    28
    53
    Male
    Yep, the update is being pushed. I Just received and installed this update. My phone was lagging while browsing for past couple days and now seems to back to normal.
    Screenshot_2016-05-19-07-35-57.png
     
  14. tunaman2

    tunaman2 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Yep. Got the notification this morning, installed without a hitch. As the screenshot says, it's not 6.0.1, just a security update.

    I'm on VM, if that matters.
     
  15. BrickHouse

    BrickHouse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #310
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014

    Dec 5, 2014
    115
    28
    53
    Male
    Looks like all Sprint customers are going to get this update then. I'm using Boost.
     
  16. ChrisCarter_

    ChrisCarter_ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016

    Mar 25, 2016
    1
    0
    5
    Got the update notification, but had an error to install it successfully. Rooted before, and installed busybox on the Android M. I know i can't install because of root, but could i do it through LG Bridge?
     
  17. BrickHouse

    BrickHouse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #310
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014

    Dec 5, 2014
    115
    28
    53
    Male
    I wouldn't think so. If you used Kingroot you might get lucky by trying to "unroot" then updating. But don't get your hopes up too high.
     
  18. TegraDroid

    TegraDroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014

    Nov 10, 2014
    47
    26
    43
    Time to move on i guess i keep getting the update its using all my data and without root im unable to stop process this time. What are some canidates for upgrades from this pos boost phone?
     
  19. TegraDroid

    TegraDroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014

    Nov 10, 2014
    47
    26
    43
    Time to move on i guess i keep getting the update its using all my data and without root im unable to stop process this time. What are some canidates for upgrades from this pos boost phone?
     
  20. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,087
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,087
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
    I hear the iphone 6 rocks.
    ( i'm sorry I couldn't help myself ) roflmao
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  21. TegraDroid

    TegraDroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014

    Nov 10, 2014
    47
    26
    43
    I will never own an apple phone. Someone literally gave me 2 iphone 5s with att&t i have sitting in drawer at home might sell to get flag ship phone and stop budget b
     
    BrickHouse and viperdink like this.
  22. BrickHouse

    BrickHouse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #310
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014

    Dec 5, 2014
    115
    28
    53
    Male
    I'm with you on that one. I'm an ex Mac tech and you couldn't pay me enough to keep and/or use one, iOS is the worst Apple product yet.
     
  23. TegraDroid

    TegraDroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014

    Nov 10, 2014
    47
    26
    43
    well did they fix it OP ? if i have to send this phone back to lg just to make it stop using my data up it will not be pretty when they open the box. this thing constantly downloading the update and failing every time installing its driving me mad lol.
     
  24. jmacie

    jmacie Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #302
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014

    Sep 28, 2014
    132
    73
    53
    Yah, they fixed it, it was updated w/ZV8 when I got it. I spent hours putting my stuff straight only to try the newest kingroot. I had decided to use kingroot because I had not bricked on ZV7 as long as I uninstalled it before rebooting. But I bricked it again. The newest kingroot dated 5-30-16 successfully temp rooted, I did my business,(set DUN in apn hidden settings for tether) then un installed kingroot. I re-booted and it froze up, brick. There was a built tot on xda for ZV8 and I tried to use it, but it would error out at 4%. I asked several people that had experienced the same error ( an initialize error) but no one ever got back with any info . I decided that noone was going to offer me any info , so I called LG and am sending it to them for a 4th time. Why Sprint thinks unlocking the bootloader is bad for business is beyond me. I'm grateful for LG for flashing over my mistakes, but geez, those t-mobiles just re-KDZ their stuff. Don't know if I will chance kingroot again. But I prolly will. I may just hold off for someone to successfully point out why my LGup flash was erroring out. Beware Kingroot, the only root we got!
     
  25. TegraDroid

    TegraDroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014

    Nov 10, 2014
    47
    26
    43
    Its good lg has held their end of the deal on the phones but it is such a pain in the rear waiting for phone to get there then shipped back onlybto have it screw up again. Ive sent mine to them 4 times for other problems none dealing with brick just hardware issues. I think android rooting is getting harder. Think its bs that our version of this phone is so sh!tty. I have 2 iphone 5s on my desk with at&t but their 45 plan only has 3gb month. Im sitting at 7gb/month with boost
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...