11/19/10: New Radio Baseband Update. - 2.42.02.10.29.


Last Updated:

  1. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507

    Advertisement
  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    I will wait to flash this as I am sure AOSP next version will have this update already intact
     
  3. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    I was under the impression that one had to flash radio basebands separately from ROMs. But, if the AOSP Android 2.2 ROM does include it, that would be nice.

    Let us know if it does. Thanks.
     
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    I would assume he would, but I guess I will find out soon enough, LOL, I will wait to see someone that flashed it on AOSP to make sure they have no issues, mine is working just fine right now, LOL ;)


     
  5. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I flashed the radio while on aosp 0.9.7, no troubles here
     
  6. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    K is it flashed like a Rom, and is it needed, never flashed a radio yet, I was going to wait for AOSP next update, and what is S-Off ?? as the post says I really don't want to brick my phone.


     
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Chit I think I just messed something up in my phone, I was reading a post on how to flash a radio, and it said to shut the phone off and then hit the power and home button at the same time, and that cleared the data, lol it is rebooting now, hope it didn't wipe my SD card out, LOL Seems like I reset the whole damn phone, and I didn't have a back up of that one, LOL well looks like it is back to the drawing board, live and learn


    This post here, Flash A Radio Update - Root Your HTC Hero
     
  8. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    S-OFF means that your bootloader (HBOOT) is completely unlocked. I am not sure if our Sprint HTC Hero bootloaders are unlocked by default if we root.

    If you go to the UnrEVOked website they have an option to set S-OFF. So, I am inclined to believe that our handsets are not set to S-OFF by default, but then again, andygu3 had no issues flashing the new radio baseband.
     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Well I will wait until Andy gets back, as I cleared my whole phone, thank god I had a back up from a week ago so the pain was not that bad. I set everything back up in about 10 minutes with the help of Titanium backup. If you check the link I posted above, you will see they say to hit the power and the home screen, and that had a couple of options, and by mistake I hit the damn trackball and it cleared everything out and reset the whole phone. :mad:


     
  10. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Flashed fine, was a little nervous after the first fiasco error I did by reading that post I found and hitting the trackball by mistake and wiping everything out but at least this time I have a fresh backup, LOL, but all is good, have the latest radio now ;)
     
  12. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I posted how to do it, didn't you have faith in me?:p:p

    Download radio
    Boot into recovery
    Flash radio
    Reboot phone
     
  13. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    I didn't notice your post, I always have faith in you bro, you are a great asset to this forum and I appreciate what you do, and the link posted here was not the correct one for us, but all is good now, XDA helped out Last night. I have a good back up now, LOL :D


     
  14. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Yeah, I will edit my original post. I do not know much about flashing radio basebands so I should have researched it better first. :(

    The whole S-OFF thing gave me pause before I would have flashed it anyway until someone told me that it was okay. Haha. ;)
     
  15. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
  16. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    The one you posted was for those using Firerats Mod and seems to be a different process in flashing, has to be done in Hboot, the same reason why I was getting confused, and then messed my phone up, as i booted in Hboot as the thread mentioned that I posted, and once there, I did not know what to do, didn't really have many options( I guess I could of pulled the battery out )instead I hit my scroll ball by mistake with my thumb and I assume it was on the wipe feature which is a FR so it wiped everything out, LOL but hey it is a learning curve, this was my first radio also, lol :cool: The link I posted was a breeze and as Andy posted took no more that 4 minutes from start to finish and as simple as flashing a new Rom, simply quicker


     
  17. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Well, you thanked me for my post in the CM6 thread, lol.:p:p:p

    I understand;) To brick or not to brick, that was your question. Never hurts to get more information:D
     
  18. RinsinAndroid

    RinsinAndroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    is this ROM specific? or does it work for all ROM's?

    Thanks
     
  19. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    This is not a ROM, it is a radio update for Sprint Users


     
  20. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    No, this would not be rom specific. Yes, you can flash from recovery with any rom. Updating the radio is like updating your prl;)

    Just make sure, this is for a cdma Sprint Hero;)
     
    RinsinAndroid likes this.
  21. RinsinAndroid

    RinsinAndroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0

    ok cool..... thanks!
     
  22. RinsinAndroid

    RinsinAndroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    i didn't say it was a ROM.... i asked if it was specific to one ROM!!
     
  23. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    No need to wipe anything either, just flash from recovery
     

Share This Page

Loading...