A Collection of Problems Regarding an HTC Hero


Last Updated:

  1. hannahl3

    hannahl3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    At the advice of Lekky, I am now posting a thread in this forum to resolve an HTC Hero's shortcomings and turn it into a workable phone.

    It should be noted that any solutions offered to these problems should NOT involve downloading 3rd party applications of any kind as this might be contributing to the problem (re advice in Android Lounge, A Rant on the General Inadequacies of an Android Phone thread).

    In no particular order and probably by no means a concise list as more may come to light later -

    Phone drops occasional incoming calls straight into voicemail
    Phone occasionally will not dial out
    Phone occasionally drops incoming sms messages
    Phone occasionally does not send sms messages
    Voicemail notification not received
    (All of the above can sometimes be resolved by rebooting the phone which is not very useful if an urgent call needs to be made either way)

    Home WiFi hub not recognised
    Bluetooth will not send images
    Browser will only load up a fraction of some web pages
    Custom downloaded MESSAGE tone cannot be set
    Virtually impossible to use the trackball to select objects in the webbrowser as the cursor jumps to a different object on selection
    No option to close default apps thereby draining battery
    (therefore)
    Abysmal battery life (one day maximum with phone use only)

    I think there's enough there to be going on with for now, but more may follow later as and when encountered.

    Any help much appreciated thank you, but NO suggestion of 3rd party apps as this has been suggested as a possible source of the above
    faults.

    (Edit) We are talking a HTC Hero (T-Mobile G2 Touch) which has perfect signal reception in Nottingham, UK. This is verified by my old Nokia smartphone, also on TMobile, which never drops calls or messages, and was at one time slated for having an awful battery life, only lasting for three days on one full charge.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Hrochnick

    Hrochnick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wow, that's some list of problems you have there! I've had some issues with the Hero but I can honestly say I have not experienced any of those problems that you describe except the bluetooth one (which actually, is not so much a fault as a 'feature') and the poor battery life. Which to be honest I don't really think is that poor considering all the things I have it doing. If you turn everything off and don't touch it except for the odd call and text it will last a week, much like any dumb phone...

    By default apps do you mean things like Footprints? These can be closed with a task killer and never come back (until reboot). But then again you don't want to download any third party apps so I guess you're stuck with them. Chalk that one up as an issue/fault then.

    When trying to set your own message tone, is the problem that you can see it in the list or that you see and select it but the setting won't stick? If the former, did you create the correct folder structure on the SD card? And if yes, did you choose it through the messages app or from home/settings?

    I'm sure it's been said to you already, but maybe you just have a dodgy unit that needs replacing. It happens...
     
  3. hannahl3

    hannahl3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    If I use my HTC for the odd call and sms, which I have been doing for the last six weeks as I've given up on it in favour of my old p910i for web stuff and emails, I get maybe 36hrs battery life before it beeps for a charge.
    And its not really acceptable that the lack of bluetooth image sending is a 'feature'. Lets face it, image sending is one of the main uses on any bluetooth enabled phone.
    Likewise, delving into a mass of files to set an sms tone is not the norm for any phone, smart or not.
    But admittedly, we're not here to compare other phones with the HTC Hero as the HTC Hero is different from anything else ever encountered.
    So I'll wait for solutions to the above to get it working superbly.
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Could you explain this a bit more, what do you mean will not dial out? You type the numbers and press dial, it goes to call screen but doesn't actually dial? Any other noises?

    Using the default sms app? Do have any other sms apps installed?

    Is this an sms notification? Or the one that should appear in the notification bar on the phone?

    Does it see the wifi connection? Does it connect at all? Or is this the case where it does connect but there is no external internet access?

    This is a limitation with android 1.5 I think. There is an update to 2.1 in April and this should solve this problem.

    On WiFi or on 3G? Do you mean a fraction of a page, or only some pages you try to get to? Can you give some examples of pages, and if you have a good 3G connection at the time (or if it is WiFi)

    Yes, but you need to place it in the right place. See below:

    Use your finger, trackball should only be really used for fine text adjustment.

    You can use a 3rd party app, however it isn't required. Android is designed in a way to use little or no resources with apps open in the background, it really is very good at managing this, thus the lack of a need to close apps manually. Also please remember that this is a smartphone, and it is generally accepted that with normal usage you can expect to charge daily.

    You're misquoting me, I said that the incorrect use of third party apps can cause instability. On this topic, do you use a task killer?
     
  5. hannahl3

    hannahl3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3

    I have Advanced Task Killer installed after seeing good reviews in here, but never use it
     
  6. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Uninstall it if you never use it, it might be closing things in the background, and would explain a lot of the strange issues, especially calls and sms (assuming theres no chomp/sms popup/handcent)
     
  7. hannahl3

    hannahl3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    No, its not that at all.

    My first replacement was given due to the lack of WiFi (mentioned above) and due to missed calls and sms messages, all of which happened before I'd even heard of ATK.

    And theres surely a better way of setting a simple message notification than connecting to a pc?
     
  8. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,390
    Likes Received:
    16,500
    Hannah, have you installed the most recent software update from T-Mobile? Menu-Settings-About phone-Build number should display 2.73.110.26 if it's current.

    Also uninstall Advanced Task Killer for now. The closer the handset is to the default, the better it is for troubleshooting.
     
  9. hannahl3

    hannahl3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3

    Yes, my third replacement is the above build number.

    ATK now uninstalled

    (Edit) Right - now how do I find out what apps are still running, and how do I turn them off?
     
  10. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,390
    Likes Received:
    16,500
    Great, one less variable to worry about.

    Can you list any other third-party apps you still have installed? This will help with the troubleshooting process too, as someone else may have come across an obscure interaction between apps that could be causing problems.
    Don't worry, once we know what we're dealing with we'll do our best to sort it out. :)
     
  11. hannahl3

    hannahl3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Right, the only other 3rd party apps are -

    GrooveShark, a vip account (music player/streamer)

    Beeb Player

    TV Guide

    Screeble

    All the others are the standard Android and HTC apps and widgets
     
  12. Mama Luigi

    Mama Luigi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    8
    I had difficulty with my home WiFi until I went into my router settings and disabled b/g mixed mode (it's a simple b/g router, no fancy 802.11n stuff). For whatever reason, the moment I did that, it connected without a problem. I'm using WPA2 and the phone is a Samsung Moment, which isn't even from the same manufacturer, but it can't hurt to try.
     
  13. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    (Continued fron original thread)

    How exactly am I "devoted" to HTC when I don't own an HTC device? :rolleyes:

    Yep, definately making it up as he goes along
     
  14. hannahl3

    hannahl3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    When you say 'no fancy 802.11n stuff', my router actually has that setting - 802.11 Mixed (n/g/b), but theres also the option to drop down to Mixed (g/b) or to 802.11n only. So I'm presuming it wouldnt work?
     
  15. Mama Luigi

    Mama Luigi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    8
    I don't think the Hero has 802.11n, so n-only mode probably wouldn't work. g-only works for me but as I said, I'm on a different phone. I guess try b/g mixed, and also try using a different encryption from what you're using now, or try turning off encryption entirely.
     
  16. hannahl3

    hannahl3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Tried all of that, apart from removing encryption, but the phone still cant see the wifi network. Must have a Stevie Wonder phone.

    Thanks anyway
     
  17. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    I would send the phone back and ask for a replacement, sounds duff to me!
     
  18. hannahl3

    hannahl3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    I would, but this is my third replacement for the same call/texts and wifi faults.
    Everyone concerned (including me) has given it up as a bad job, and of course no-one will admit to responsibility.
    Am just waiting for this new OS version coming out before I bin it for good.
     
  19. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Oh dear, hope you have better luck, I have occasional problems with mine dropping calls mainly in bad service area's and the occasional text delayed by 24 hours, and lack of Voice mail logo, but I had thAt on my old Samsung WinMo unit, I put it down to network (Orange) as opposed to a phone issue.
     
  20. hannahl3

    hannahl3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    I can see where youre coming from as re Orange - I left them two years ago for their bad reception and bollox excuse issues. Their most common excuse for bad reception was (really!!!) - sunspots affecting the Birmingham node
     
  21. Hrochnick

    Hrochnick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    5
    Probably true, everyone knows the sun doesn't like Birmingham!
     
  22. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    I had endless problems trying to get a stable connection to my 802.11 b/g/n router. In the end i restricted the router's behaviour to b/g only and that fixed all of the wifi issues i was having.

    Very annoying since the whole point of the standard is backwards compatibility, but the official excuse is that the 'n' standard has only just be ratified and so any router older than, say, 6 months isnt actually running the official 'n' standard. Which, of course, is utter bullshit, since every other b/g mode device i own manages to connect to the router when its in b/g/n mode perfectly happily.

    So, yeah, turn your router down to b/g only and see if that helps. If it does you only have to live with the knowledge that your expensive state of the art router is limited to running at the same speed as the old router you replaced with it. :rolleyes:
     
  23. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,390
    Likes Received:
    16,500
    What is the make & model of your router? Does the handset recognise any wireless APs e.g. neighbours, the local Starbucks etc?
     
  24. hannahl3

    hannahl3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3

    Looking at it logically, I'd say that a (b/g/n) setting would work for devices running at the 'b' standard, and at the 'g' standard, and at the 'n' standard.
    We're obviously not looking at logic here......
     
  25. hannahl3

    hannahl3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Its a virginmedia broadband using a DIR-617 router.

    The phone can see someones TalkTalk connection but thats all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...