• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help a couple of issues with my vzw s4

I am new to Samsung I have only had Motorola products such as
droid,x,razr,razr maxx. I just received the s4 and this is what I have, It may be normal for Samsung I am not sure,

my issue

I lose 4g at least 5x a day, I will be on 1x, I go in to networks and force it to gsm then back to cdma and 4g kicks back on with full bars

Thank you

I've had mine for a while now and I'm not sure if it's a 4g problem, but I notice that no matter where I am, I get low bars. Sometimes it effects my ability to connect, but not always.

Have you called Verizon or dropped into a store to get their feedback? Now is the time to do so while the phone is relatively new and they have low stock of refurbs in the system...

Upvote 0
I know this doesn't help the OP's problem , but my S4 on Verizon has a far more solid signal than my RAZR HD or RAZR Maxx. In stores where I used to be down to 1X or have no data, I hold a 3G signal. My Rezound was also rock solid. I suggest asking Verizon also and letting them do any computer stuff to your phone # in their system. If that doesn't work , ask them for a new Sim card.

Upvote 0
I don't know if the issue I had is related, but I'll share it and really try to be fairly brief. Also on Verizon. When I bought it, the sales rep at the store didn't use the SIM card from my GNex, and set up a new one. He didn't set it up right when he said it did, and I had to wait another hour in the store for the manager to find him and then for him to fix the problem. Lesson learned here is to just wait two extra days and order online. I hate to say it for the employees' sake in general, but it seems like there is always a problem that occurs with buying in the store that wouldn't have happened buying online.