• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help A Newbie's Travails

Ali Shibaz

Jul 3, 2015
This thread's about music players. The next two paragraphs contain some background info. You can skip them if you like.

Hello. I'm a newbie to t world of smartphones. About 6 weeks ago, I bought a Samsung Galaxy S4 on a two-year contract with a Canadian corporation called FIDO. They are a subsiduary of Rogers which is one of the three big corporations that make up the Canadian Oligopoly. The three big Canadian corporations are: Bell, Telus and Rogers. FIDO is owned by Rogers.

Anyway, I thought I'd start a new thread because I seem to have nothing but problems and questions and I decided that maybe it would be best to isolate them all here in this one thread. I'd like to begin with playing music. I've seen a few sites that seemed like they might help. But one big problem I have with my phone is that things change incredibly quickly. It seems like every time I try to get some help on t web, they describe a version of an app that is different from the app installed on my phone. I bought some books with "Samsung Galaxy S4" in t title. But most of t time I try to consult those books for help, t text is out of date as compared to my phone. Those books have been pretty much a big disappointment and a waste of money.

When I first started to use my phone, there were two music apps already installed. One was Samsung's "Music Player" and t other was Google's "Play Music". I tried "Music Player" first and have used it for most of t time since I purchased this phone. Occasionally, I tried t 2nd app when I ran into difficulty with t first one. So, I have a lot more experience with "Music Player" than I do with "Play Music". But I have t same basic problem with both of them.