AF Banner & Header Menu


Last Updated:

  1. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Is the web-master for this forum/site ... working to fix the header and banner area ??

    They are driving me crazy they are taking up most of the screen .... Carriers| Manufacturers|Phones|Accessories|Forum are stacked vertically in like and HTML 4 or 5 size... and the AF and Ad banner are fightly for page space so they are not sitting adjacent to each other ???

    Sorry for the picky rant .... but each page refresh is getting obnoxious !!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    18,872
    Thanks for the report.

    What resolution are you on, and what browser/version do you use?
     
  3. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    18,872
    Is this what you are seeing?
     

    Attached Files:

    • ss.JPG
      ss.JPG
      File size:
      144.3 KB
      Views:
      12
  4. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210

    Yep ... and by res is 1152 x 864 and IE 6.0.2900.2180
     
  5. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    18,872
    Looks like that's confined to IE6. IE8 users are seeing a different, but much less annoying problem.

    Fortunately 70% of our traffic is NON IE, and most of what is, is IE7

    So for the roughly 7 or 8 percent of you affected by this... we apologize, bear with us! Rob has been shown this and we will try to get the developer back on it soon as possible.

    Edit: Thanks again for bringing this to our attention.

    EDIT: See my next reply
     
  6. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210

    There was a short period ...when all looked fine ... But will be patient ...
    I am at work so Only have this browser ... nothing else allowed ...
     
  7. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    18,872
    Dang, what I meant by that was IE7 see's the smaller less annoying bug.

    SO.. for the 26% of you that are broke... hang in there.
     
  8. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Well you are getting there ... Menu seems to be fixed ... but top Banner is still muffed !!
     
  9. Cryptic79

    Cryptic79 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    24
    Here's a FF issue.

    Browser info: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.0.7) Gecko/2009021910 Firefox/3.0.7
     

    Attached Files:

  10. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    --- Mine looks all fine now that i switch from IE 6.0 to:

    I'm am presently using:

    Opera Ver. 9.64 (Windows NT 5.1; U; en) Presto/2.1.1
    Build 10487;
    Platform Win32;
    System Windows XP;
    Java Sun Java Runtime Environment version 1.6;
     
  11. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    18,872
    Yah, I'm on it. I had it - but then it busted again :(

    I'm going to get those gaps filled in then leave it for the guy rob paid, to fix - from there. There will still be a problem but I certainly won't point it out to those who don't notice it ;)
     
  12. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Should I post or PM what i think is the issue you are not pointing out ??:confused:
     
  13. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    18,872
    The white gap on the right of the seach box?
     
  14. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Nope ... different one ... but I had not notice that :)
     
  15. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    18,872
    What other issue are you seeing?
     
  16. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210

    Click on the Main Menu Item "Forum" notice it doesn't show You or at least doesnt show me signed in ... however if I click any of the sub-menus like "todays posts" then I am shown logged in ...
     
  17. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    18,872
    Refresh the page you are on and try again.
     
  18. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Weird ... but that worked ... I quess clicking on Forum doesn't do a page refresh during rewriting ... so even when I logged in there it didnt show me as logged in ...

    Thanks .. Refresh worked
     
  19. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    18,872
    Well, I went in and fixed something.. :)
     
  20. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Phases you are the man !!! Thanks ... I was hoping i wasn't geezzzing ;)
     
  21. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    18,872
    Still workin on it though. At the moment, (i have to step away) it's fixed for all but IE6 users. (you, jjj)
     
  22. Cryptic79

    Cryptic79 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    24
    IE6 is sooo old. It's time for the upgrade. :p

    IE4, on the other hand, should never be retired.

    FF changes are good.
     
  23. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I work for a major Defense IT company and they are slow to change the Status Quo !!

    And we are stuck on IE 6.0 I had to get special exception to install Opera to get around some of the current page format issues ..
     
  24. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    18,872
    I think it's fixed for all now.

    /whew

    Let me know if you see any other problems with this. (So I can then cry and shoot myself)
     
  25. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    As for me .. the login issue is fixed for IE-6.0 and Opera 9.64...
     

Share This Page

Loading...