• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

AMD Ryzen 5/Intel core i5/i7 - Which processor works correctly with Android studio and its emulator

Theappdev

Lurker
Jun 28, 2021
Hello all,

I am new to Android development but I cannot start creating apps because the emulator won't run in my old laptop.

I am looking to buy a new laptop and found AMD Ryzen 5 is a good laptop.
However, I am not sure if I can run emulator easily on Ryzen 5 5500U/ 4600H/4800H processor with Windows 10 or Linux ( Ubuntu, Zorinos ).

Please anyone tell me if I can create apps using Android studio and its emulator on AMD Ryzen laptop or I will need an Intel core i5/i7 laptop for this ?

Can I use any of this processor for Android studio and its emulator
a) AMD Ryzen 5500U
b) AMD Ryzen 4600H
c) AMD Ryzen 4800H
d) Intel core i5 10th/11th gen
e) Intel core i7 10th/11th gen

AF has had posts about this in the past.
https://developer.android.com/studio/run/emulator-acceleration
Virtualization extension requirements
In addition to the development environment requirements, your computer's processor must support one of the following virtualization extensions technologies:

• Intel Virtualization Technology (VT, VT-x, vmx) extensions
  • AMD Virtualization (AMD-V, SVM) extensions
So the CPU and computer you choose, needs to support that. For particular AMD and Intel devices, suggest you check the relevant websites.

FWIW I know Intel i5 and i7 in a Macbook and Macbook Pro does support VT, VT-x, vmx.

Last edited:
Reactions: ocnbrze
Upvote 0
Hi mikedt,

I did checked their sites but I am looking for answers from those who have used these processors with Android studio or its emulator.

I am not sure if it will work correctly on AMD. So, I need a specific answer for those model numbers given at the end of my post.