Android 2.2 Hotspot errorSupport


Last Updated:

  1. treb9

    treb9 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Everyone,

    I can no longer broadcast wi-fi. It says 'error' under 'portable wi-fi hotspot, the checkmark does not appear, and it will not allow me to access settings.

    Admittedly, this may be my fault, as it happened when I changed my ssid to something stupid.. with punctuation.

    Anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks for your help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. treb9

    treb9 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone?

    Hotspot is gone.

    Maybe I should re-update it with android 2.2?
     
  3. jbrinkley

    jbrinkley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    what was wrong with android AP? lol, I'd change it back. If nothing else flash 2.2 again.
    I've reflashed it once to get the stock kernel back. Only takes a few minutes.
     
  4. treb9

    treb9 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    lol... you're right. I was trying to be funny, so I changed it to..

    "Treb9's internet. Please do not steal." Hilarious eh? :confused:

    Now it won't let me change it back. I can't even get into the settings.

    I also tried re-flashing, which didn't help. I'm thinking now of resetting it but I'm worried about all my stuff.

    Damn, the predicaments I get myself into...
     
  5. treb9

    treb9 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, for anyone that cares, DO NOT use punctuation in your hotspot ssid. Doing so makes your hotspot unusable and unfixable. A complete reset is necessary.

    Google is aware of the problem.
     
  6. alanvonlanthen

    alanvonlanthen New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx for your post, I was starting to believe I was the only one on the planet with that problem. I think I've also used an apostrophy in my ssid name, which was indeed quite stupid...
    Please keep me posted if ever you work out a way to rollback.
    Of course, if ever I find anything, I'll tell you straight away.
    Cheers!
    Alan
     
  7. MI75

    MI75 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have WiFi error too. Didn't have a chance to configure it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...