• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Anyone can see my stuff

Bargeosprey

Lurker
May 19, 2015
HI,

I have a Samsung s3 running 4.3 The phone is not rooted.

I am still a bit of a newbie and have a question about Dropbox & Drive security from within my phone.

Once “In” my phone , i.e have entered the PIN and can access all it’s functions, if I go to apps/drive or apps/dropbox and click on either I am taken to that programme without any further security. So, anyone who gets past my P.I.N has access to Dropbox and Drive and all my stored info.

Is there a way to stop this or put some security in place.

Bob

Thanks for the very quick reply
Even so Dropbox app only allows a four digit password to open the app.
On both of theses accounts I have strong passwords as per the advice of each of them it seems counterproductive to then reduce security to just a four digit code.
What if I rooted the phone , uninstalled those two apps. . . would that solve the problem??

Upvote 0
No need to root the phone to uninstall those. And rooting significantly weakens built-in security features of the phone.

There may be some apps in the Play store that will lock down these and other apps with more elaborate passwords. But a 4-digit code will frustrate someone manually punching in gusses for many, many hours. That's why 4 digits are used so often - it's long enough to be very secure against manual cracking but short enough to be easy to use and remember.

To uninstall Dropbox just do this:

Settings > Apps > Tap Dropbox > Clear cache > Clear data > Force stop > Uninstall

Do the same for Google Drive. There may not be an option to uninstall, only to disable. That's OK, gives effectively the same result. Do:

Settings > Apps > Tap Google Drive > Clear cache >Clear data > Force stop > Disable

Of course, you will no longer have the capabilities and convenience of Dropbox or Google Drive.

Reactions: Bargeosprey
Upvote 0