Anyone's 3g/4g speeds suffering within the past few days?


Last Updated:

  1. munsterrr

    munsterrr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    Im in Washington D.C.
    Rom - Supersonic_1.32.651.6_rooted(stock rooted rom)
    Radio - 1.39.00.05.31
    Root - Full root with nand unlock (Toast method)

    I dont know but Ive had smart phones with sprint since they first had 3g and i was always getting atleast just under a mb down and a few hundred up....

    As of yesterday im getting like .3mb down and literally 9kb up....this is after running both extreme labs and speedtest.nets apps from the market.

    I have full root(both steps from toast). Ive flashed a few rooms(BB, fresh, etc) but now i am back to the stock rom with root(Supersonic_1.32.651.6_rooted) and i am still getting the same speeds.

    PRL updates have been done. I even did a full data restore(##3282#->data*->data restore). Nothing is working

    Im pulling the battery for a while to see if that helps.
     

    Advertisement
  2. eieio

    eieio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    823
    Where are you located? There are lots of upgrades going on to towers
     
  3. munsterrr

    munsterrr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sorry im in Washington D.C.
     
  4. Headcase_Fargone

    Headcase_Fargone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    7
    My 3G speeds here in Houston have been pretty horrible since I picked up the phone. I'm glad to see someone was getting decent speeds before the Evo launched. Hopefully this isn't what their network is always like.
     
  5. eieio

    eieio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    823
    Tower hardware and software upgrades and the signals are being re-routed. There was also an outage about 1-2 weeks back that affect 3 towers.

    Atlanta, Chicago, DC and NC are being upgraded (more areas are I would assume)
     
    Bek likes this.
  6. Bek

    Bek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    485
    Sorry to hear that your experience has been poor. Coverage is fantastic in the Chicagoland area, but of course, each region will vary.
     
  7. munsterrr

    munsterrr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    updated first post. Thanks.
     
  8. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Yeah my best bet would be on the upgrades in your Area but call tech support in the meantime.
     
  9. eieio

    eieio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    823
    -----------
     
  10. digo21

    digo21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone hear anything on the 4G towers in philly. My 3G works great but 4G has been less than stellar I can barely pick up a signal outside my house. The first day I got the phone it worked great on 4G.
     
  11. gear.h34d.2012

    gear.h34d.2012 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    11
    I'm in Eastern NC, so that would explain my 3G drag I assume. Nice to know it's just maintenance. :D
     
  12. liquidtrance

    liquidtrance Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    The first few days I had the phone the 3g speeds were obscenely fast compared to my Pre. I was very surprised. However the past few days I seem to notice updating weather / downloads / market downloads / etc seem to be a bit slower. However I have no tests or speeds to back this up, but yes I seem to notice slower speeds as well. I'm in Cincinnati though and we are supposedly getting 4G soon so it could be they're screwing with the Towers/network to get 4G rolled out in the coming months.
     
  13. munsterrr

    munsterrr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    so its good to see that we are not crazy here.....
     
  14. whoodiestyle

    whoodiestyle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Slow speed here also first few days first had phone was awesome speed now it just blows
     
  15. jsward12

    jsward12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    26
    Yep same here in Massachusetts, I am right around 1mb/s down usually around 75k and 75k up. Last week I was running between 1.5mb/s-2.15 mb/s. I wonder what is going on??
     
  16. SoFLO

    SoFLO Guest

    I ran a test on 3G yesterday and got 1.88 down and 0.70 up. The speeds are great for me (when I'm not inside a 3G bunker).
     
  17. apocalypse_later

    apocalypse_later Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    11
    Did you guys root your phones recently? Perhaps there is a connection there.
     
  18. munsterrr

    munsterrr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    yes i have the full root. I was considering taking it to the store after using RUU to put it back into the stock state

    Used sprint chat first....the god damn guy JACOB A told me that there was an outage in my area

    Called tech support and she ran me through all of the remove battery, data restore, prl update crap again. Nothing worked. she said there were NO outtages in my area.

    Then she told me that there is no standard speed on 3g. Ive had 3g since they first got it and always got around 800-900 down and 300-500 up(HTC Diamond, 3 BBs, and the moment). now im getting 200 down and 100 up using speedtest.net app, extremelabs test, AND sprint.com/speedtest(didnt know that existed till today).

    She pretty much told me i was screwed.
     
  19. apocalypse_later

    apocalypse_later Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    11
    I played with an Overdrive today and it did the same thing my phone has been doing lately. Crappy 4G down speeds but decent up speeds, like 200k down and 800k down. Not sure whats going on, maybe Sprint can't handle the load and the down channels are being flooded by all the new EVO/Overdrive users.

    I hope this is temporary.
     
  20. outlawclogger

    outlawclogger New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Speeds in Orlando are running real bad as well
     
  21. bsims85

    bsims85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I work in Maryland and I have been getting terrible 3g/4g speeds. I called CS and they did confirm that they were performing maintenance in the area. I was initially getting excellent data speeds for the first few days so i know its not a coverage issue. Plus, I have I been with Sprint for several years and have NEVER experienced poor service in the area. Hopefully things will be back up and running very shortly.
     
  22. wayne8888

    wayne8888 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting just under 1mbps down and about 300kbps up using 3G down near the harbor east in B'more. I did not believe it, but at an underground Bally in Towson, MD, I got 2.4mbps down and later 1.8mbps down using 3G (of course a former Sprint Store used to be upstairs.....should be good coverage area). My 4G speed varies between 3 and 5 mbps down and about 800kbps up. I got this tethering.
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...