Apparently my SD card is fried?


Last Updated:

  1. odock

    odock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    7
    So i decided to plunge into rooting the other day after studying it for about a month and well everything went perfect and ive been VERY happy with the performance of my phone... but today while i was preparing to flash the new frg22d rom i decided i better back up what i had been doing and adjusting on my phone over the past couple of days and when it rebooted all of a sudden my SD card is apparently "damaged" and it says i have to remormat it which i have absolutely NO interest in doing there is way too much stuff on there. anybody have any ideas? currently im restoring my original system to see if it will work by manually going into clockwork by holding X on boot we shall see if it works then ill post on here if it does.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    have you tried to mount the phone to your computer and see if the card will mount via the built in USB mounting option?
     
  3. odock

    odock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes sir i have and it wouldnt do it if what im doing now dont work im gonna put the SD card into an adapter and try to plug it directly into my cpu and try to back it up real quick...
     
  4. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    this was my next step.

    IF you cannot do this, then I would say you have a toasted SD card :( which I hope is not the case

    I, weekly, backup my SD card to my computer and then just make incremental additions when I make significant changes. Plus I have ROM backups and Titanium backups, blah blah
     
    The_Chief likes this.
  5. odock

    odock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    7
    I currently have it plugged into the computer and it is copying as much as possible i believe it is fried though... Thanks for your help im sure im gonna have to reformat/buy a new one which kinda blows...
     
  6. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    how can it be "fried" if your getting data off it?

    anyway, it can take a while as it is only USB 2.0 and not the fastest class card so depending on how much data you have, it can take some serious time.
     
  7. odock

    odock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ugh update while trying to copy paste it was trying to find the files that i can see there with my own eyes and apparently it cant find them to copy them..
     
  8. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    do you have a clone app to try to clone the card to your computer rather than a more manual carry over card contents to the computer?
     
  9. odock

    odock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    7
    no i dont... recomendations?
     
  10. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    I only use a mac so CCC - carbon copy cloner
     
  11. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,700
    I had to thank you, Lock, because I religiously back up my phone but had YET to copy my SD card to the PC. Doing that 2+ hour task right now :)
     
  12. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    yep, 2 hours for me the first time. so slooooow

    BUT, once you do it, just set a reminder or something so that weekly you mount your SD card and copy any key stuff off the SD card you added or updated since the last backup and put it on your local computer right into the same directories.

    this does several things:

    1. gives you endless backup of your SD card AND all ROMs and backups files you have on it in various stages to go back and grab something from IF needed

    2. allows you to free up SD card space. So in my case, I have like 12 clockwordmod and nandroid backups. I copy the newest over from my SD card to my computer and then delete the last few older ones off my SD card. So, I still have them IF needed, but not taking space on the card and I leave like 2 or 3 on the card at most to go back to. I do this for kernels and Titanium backup files, etc.

    piece of mind along with the ROM backups and such
     
  13. odock

    odock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    7
    so reformatted SD card and it is now working poperly... lost a lot of shicrap but ill make do thanks for the help from now on backing up SD card everychance i get.
     

Share This Page

Loading...